We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magic Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$282
$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$333
$226
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Westin Los Angeles Airport(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$542
$413
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$360
$339
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,226)
Filter reviews
3,226 results
Traveler rating
2,402
612
129
56
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,402
612
129
56
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree snackspopsicle hotlinefree laundry servicehollywood boulevardice cream machinemelrose placeone bedroom suitefull kitchenheated pooldvd playerchinese theatreapartment complexuniversal studioscontinental breakfastdining tablesofa bedhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
2,576 - 2,581 of 3,226 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We just returned from a wonderful 5-night stay at the Magic Castle Hotel. Although the hotel was fine, the heated pool was great, the location very convenient, and the price reasonable, what would bring us back again is the amazing staff. We have never before experienced a staff which was so genuinely friendly and helpful, while still being very professional. In addition, they always made sure we were well supplied from the free (and plentiful) mini-bar, whether going out for the day or returning.

Our suite was very large, more like an apartment, and very clean. We enjoyed having a full refrigerator, and separate living room area. It is an older property, not perfect, but the quirks add to the charm.

When we checked out, it was as if leaving new friends.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

Summary:
The Magic Castle – great location and superior customer service as an alternative to the chain gang.

When and why we stayed:
We stayed here for 5 nights in December 2007 during a holiday in LA and Las Vegas.

Cost:
We paid £90 per night for the room plus breakfast. We booked the room via Expedia.

Room:
We stayed in Room 219 which was actually an apartment with separate bedroom, bathroom, kitchen & lounge/dining room. The bedroom contained a king-sized bed, television, drawers and vast wardrobe space with no shortage of hangers (a pet hotel peeve of mine is that most provide a dearth of hangers!) The lounge/dining room was family sized and contained a sofa; desk and chair; television; DVD player; CD player, as well as dining table and chairs. The kitchen contained a fridge, microwave, oven, hob and a life-saver - a coffee maker! The bathroom was clean, and included a smallish tub and shower. Complimentary toiletries were supplied each day.

The Hotel:
The Magic Castle may not be the most modern or grandest hotel that we have stayed in but more importantly for us the customer service provided was superb and the staff were very helpful, something you can’t always state after a stay in a chain hotel. It was the nothing-is-too-much trouble approach that we appreciated, for example, the hotel posted our cards for us for no charge – and they all arrived!

The Magic Castle provides some wonderful extras like a complimentary Mini Bar (from Reception). The Menu includes Coke, Doritos, Kit Kat and Popcorn. The in-room replenished daily Wolfgang Puck coffee was super!

Breakfast cereals, juices, scones and croissants are left in reception from 7AM each morning. Breakfast can be eaten at tables besides the pool or in your room (trays are supplied).

There is parking outside the hotel or in an underground parking area (access obtained via your room key). A $10 per day charge is levied.

If you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift to the Upper Floor.

Location:
The Magic Castle is in a great location – it really is only 5 minutes (safe including at night) walk from Hollywood Boulevard and the Hollywood & Highland Mall (where the Oscars are held in the Kodak Theatre); Grauman's Chinese Theatre and the Walk of Fame.


The city:
LA is a fantastic, cosmopolitan, real, living city. This was my second visit and my wife’s first, so I could guide her to the highlights. We visited: Hollywood Forever cemetery; the Capitol Tower; Hollywood Farmers Market (excellent); The Grove Mall (A Mall!); Santa Monica (The Pier isn’t as good as Brighton’s) and Venice Beach; Pasadena; The Getty Art Gallery; The Getty Villa in Malibu (it was cool to drive on the Pacific Highway to get there); and Beverley Hills which is such a cliché but I strangely enjoyed none the less.

Driving in LA was nowhere near as bad as I had expected. Although in the words of the Dionne Warwick song: “LA is a great big freeway”. Having GPS in the car really helped and I would suggest essential equipment for any visitor to LA.

Feel free to E mail me if you require further information.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank BrotherSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

We stayed for four nights over Christmas. There were some really great things about the hotel - staff seemed very jolly, the free "mini bar"; basically you can select soft drinks, chips, candies from a huge selection - for free, 24 hours a day. The continental breakfast wasn't really gourmet, but certainly there were some nice pastries and hey - it's free! On the downside our room was barely big enough for cat swinging and the recent renovations themselves look like they need some renovating.

Our main complaint was that our room was really noisy. The walls are paper thin and, apparently unlike the other guests, we are in the minority as we like to sleep until 9.30am or so when we are on vacation. Sadly we were woken daily at 7am by stomping up and down stairs outside, doors slamming and whoever happened to be in the room next door - thanks to an adjoining door they literally sounded as though they were in the same room as us. Also slightly off-putting - the ashtray for our floor was right outside our window and by our air conditioning unit so a few times we had the A/C on only to find moments later our room smelling of smoke. Also pretty annoying was the lack of regulation of hot water in the shower - every day there was leaping in and out of the stream of water from either being scalded or frozen.

It's a sad indictment of LA hotels that this is ranked the best hotel - it is not the worst I have ever stayed in, but it's no star. All in all the location is pretty good, and rates reasonable, if you are a smoker that doesn't need much sleep/privacy and is OK with an invigorating game of hot/cold in the shower every morning this is the perfect place for you!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WorldTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2007

We had so much fun at Magic Castle! We stayed 3 nights. The best part was the friendly and accomadating staff, who packed us a "snack bag" for our beach day, cleaned our room and organized it wonderfully even though we pretty much left it a sty every time we left, and accomadated our very large daily request for bottled water and snacks! The pool was fun and really suprisingly not very busy. We loved the breakfast and would go back to the Magic Castle in a heartbeat! The rooms are fun becuase they are not your typical hotel room, they are like mini apartments. The room could use a repaint and new furniture, but they are comfortable and fun, and unique! The place is smaller than what it looks on online pics, which I think is nice. Overall, Loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SunlovingSnowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

We stayed at the Magic Castle for 1 night and we only have praise for the property. We were welcomed with an ice cool glass of retro lemonade and were told by the lovely receptionist we had been upgraded for free as they had the room avaliable. We couldnt have been happier we were told were to park our car and how to get to our room and what time breakfast was which we didnt even know was included so that was also an added bonus!
We made our way to our room and were amazed by the size we had been given a suite and it was lovely, it had a kitchen a living area a fab bathroom that had lots of mirrors to do your hair and makeup and really good lighting! They had even left some chocolates on our pillow with the next days weather forcast! Only complaint would be how dark the rest of the room was but thats all!
The Location is also fantastic it is simply 5 mins walk to the chinese theatre and the area isnt scary at all, so we were very pleased. Having that location made the Magic Castle worth every penny.
The next morning breakfast was served around the gorgeous pool area and we had coffee cerals and muffins in the sun it was a great way to start our days sightseeing!
Overall i would say The Magic Castle is excellent value for money as u dont actually pay that much for the service you receive, in my opinion i would always pay that little bit extra to stay here for all the added extras and the location.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jewelgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews