We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't Be Nicer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Couldn't Be Nicer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

We stayed at The Magic Castle for 4 nights in September with our 2 kids aged 8 & 10. They fell in love with the staff there, especially Daphne who along with everyone else was fantastic.I can't speak highly enough of them.

We found the hotel well located, the room clean and quiet but the staff really make the difference. They couldn't do more for you which makes this place a winner. Its not the flashest hotel around but the added things like free snacks, adequate breakfast and superb service make The Magic castle a must if visiting Hollywood.

Highly Recommended!!

  • Liked — Staff, Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank KiwisAbr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,197
    558
    120
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,367
770
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

We recently stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel. The hotel is located in Hollywood, a couple of blocks from the Highland Mall and Grauman's Chinese Theater. It isn't fancy, but that is part of it's charm. It gives you the feel as if you are living in L.A.

The staff is very friendly. Where most hotels charge you an outrageous price for water, sodas and snacks, they give them to you. Whenever you want something to drink or a snack, all you have to do is ask at the front desk.

The pool is heated. A swim at night is a great way to relax.

The breakfast was good. They have cereal, yogurt and fresh pastries. The scones were really good.

If you get a chance, make a dinner reservation at the Magic Castle. You normally have to be a member or be invited to visit it. Hotel guests are allowed to visit it as long as you eat dinner there. It was a lot of fun.

When we are in the L.A. area, we will be sure to stay at the Magic Castle Hotel.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank SnoopyTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England & France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

This is a great little hotel. The room was quiet and a decent size, there is a heated swimming pool, lots of freebies (free newspaper, bottles of water and sweets, lemonade when you check in, etc), great location for Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre and Universal Studios, next to the Magic Club and with secure parking.

The staff was simply the most helpful we've seen in any of the hotels we've ever been at. They were very friendly and calmed us down when we arrived stressed after driving through busy LA for the first time! Helped us to find the best places for dinner or take-aways, etc. Would definitely recommend!

  • Liked — The very helpful staff, the location and the breakfast
  • Disliked — No hotel restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelArchangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

Stayed here for three nights in Sept as part of our tour of southern Califonia. I have to say that the location of the hotel really was excellent, only 3/4 minutes walk from Manns Chinese Theatre and 4/5 mins to the Metro (very handy for getting to /from Universal Studios). Hotel parking was an underground secure park for only $9 a day. Thats a bargain in this part of town, believe me.
Found the hotel really easily from the Freeway, just ensure you have printed off a map from Expedia or bought a street map beforehand.
Arrival and checkin was quick and made more pleasurable with the refreshments made available by the reception staff.
Staff--let me tell you about the staff.
You will find it very hard to find a hotel in which all the staff are so helpful, cheerful and welcoming. Sean and Megan deserve a special mention here, in particular Sean who really went the extra mile. (on checkout, Sean made up a bag of goodies for us for our drive to Vegas)
Every evening one of the staff would come to your room to check everything was OK and distribute chocolates!!
Every question posed to the staff (you know , those boring ones about where to go, how to get there etc, the ones they had heard a thousand times before) were met with a cheerful smile and enthusistic reply. I was so impressed with the service I had to tell Gretchen, the desk manager ,how godd her people were.
Complimentary breakfast was good and set you up nicely for the day.
Pool was small but cool, just what you need in LA.
Only downside to this place is that it does need some refurbishment BUT rooms are clean and comfortable. (this is the reason I have given 4 stars rather than 5) The bed was great .
Great views from the restaurant at the top of the hill. Shuttle bus will take you up there.
We went as a family of four, kids both over 20 but we all enjoyed the stay.
I would happily stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Liked — location, great staff
  • Disliked — needed refurbishment
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank klingoneddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

Great Hotel, Personal Service, Good Location

Hotel is relitavely small so great personal service staff friendly and helpful, pool looked nice especially at night, didn't use it though. So unsure what temperature like but I heard it was heated.

Breakfast continental style. Cereals, croissants, muffins, toast, Juices etc. I liked the muffins

You can get free soft drinks and snacks from reception if you ask

There is a self service laundry room which is handy and its not too expensive for washing or drying.

Close to Chinese Theatre, which is just down the slight hill, turn the corner.

I have to say I felt a bit unsure about walking back to hotel at night as its up a side street, don't know if I should have been worried or not but we were ok. On the positive side it really is not too far from the centre of things.

Only drawbacks;

The price - paid approximately £125 altogether, per night which I consider quite expensive

Kitchen did not have all the equipment that I would have wanted, a bit short on cutlery, pans, cooking equipment. And a little bottle of washing up liquid would have been handy, self catering hotels sometimes provide shampoo etc, why not washing up liquid - just a thought.

But I expect if I had asked more things would have been provided, as it happened we ate out anyway. Only thing used was the fridge for drinks

Would I recommend?
If you are willing to spend £100+ a night then yes. If I went back to Los Angeles I'd stay again.

(Disclaimer - This information is my personal opinion only, not fact!)

  • Liked — Staff very helpful, Room nice
  • Disliked — kitchen lacked equipment
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betsywanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights and were upgraded immediatley when we checked into the room because of a problem in the bathroom.
The hotel is well situated within easy walking distance of Sunset Boulevard and other attractions. It is clean, needs some updating in bathrooms but the biggest bonus was the helpful staff. All staff without question from reception to the cleaners couldn't do enough for you. There were free soft drinks, snacks, maps and useful info on places to go and where to eat. Of particular mention was Sean "The Guru" who was a credit to the hotel.
I definately recommend the Magic Castle situated next door to the hotel it was brilliant. Although you do need to wear jacket and tie (Jackets can be supplied bu the hotel or Castle at reception) and ladies are expected to wear cocktail dresses - still worth it.
A good class hotel with outstanding staff that makes it the right choice.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank UK_holiday_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

My partner and I stayed in a King room for one night in September predominately so we could go to the Magic Castle, and the hotel didn't disappoint. After staying in 4 other hotels during our holiday in the US, it was the only place that felt like home and we both slept like logs.The service is impeccable - from the drink offered at checkin, to the special touches like a free mini bar service, 24 hour access to the pool and the extra efforts the staff go to ie. allowing us to return to the hotel to have a shower before our late night flight home to Australia and even driving us up the small hill to the Magic Castle due to me wearing heels! It's not the cheapest hotel in Hollywood - but definitely the best value for money, and you can't beat the location. I'd thoroughly recommend and will definitely be back

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank msmegmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing