We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, good service, average dining, a few quirks.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Ranked #26 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, good service, average dining, a few quirks.”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

As a Platinum SPG member, a luxury weekend away is a rare and wonderful experience. We stayed at the SLS for a fun night away and hoped for an equally indulgent dinner experience. The hotel was nice, but the Premier Rooms were a bit small. Service was very good, but had a quirky problem with the wrong name associated with our room...called front desk 3 x's to have it changed, but they never fixed it.
Had drinks & Tapas in the renowned Bazaar restaurant/bar. Service was terrible - watched our drinks sit on the bar ready for pickup, for 10 minutes. Staff was gossiping about clientele and tapas were salty and over priced for the quality.
We went to Morton's next door to eat - which was wonderful and recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venicerenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSLS, General Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you for your comments and 4 Stars!

I will follow up on your feedback and share with our hotel staff so that we can continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    458
    211
    99
    99
See reviews for
342
510
130
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 days. Reminded me of a Hotel W with a unique twist.

Pros
1) Big, clean room
2) Nice staff
3) Hotel car service was available to take us to Rodeo drive

Cons
1) Very expensive drinks and food (Mojito costs $16.00). My wife and I ate had 2 appetizers and a few drinks and spent almost $150.00
2) Pool area is very crowded
3) Lots of smoking going on in the front door entry area, which moves into the main reception area
4) location - hard to walk to anything worthwhile
5) shower did not get hot (luke warm every shower)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ustehkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSLS, General Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you for your feedback, nice review and your "Pros" for the SLS Hotel.

I would like to comment on your "Cons":
1. Our pricing is competitive to similar restaurants and hotels in the area and we are constantly reviewing.
2. Our Pool is indeed popular and therefore can be crowded but it is still for the use of hotel guests only.
3. Smoking continues to be popular in Los Angeles and our front veranda is the only place for smokers to smoke. I do not think we will ever win with this and be able to satisfy both smokers and non smokers but I will keep looking for solutions.
4. Hence, the car service which you mentioned as a Pro.
5. Apologies for lack of hot water but this is very unusual as I have not received this comment before. I'll investigate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2010

At last, a hotel that cares how it looks beyond the public areas. Carpets you sink into, rooms that make you feel you are on holiday and attention to detail that most hotels would wish for. Alex at concierge was excellent. Our first time in LA, he made sure we made the most of our visit. Lionel and Dan in the house car gave us all the information we needed as they took us around in luxury. The rooftop pool, Altitude was chic and relaxed, with excellent service from the staff. If you like contemporary luxury, cool design and being well looked after, visit the SLS.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisquigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSLS, General Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Great! Thank you for the 5 Stars and a fantastic review. I'll be sure to share your comments with Alex, Lionel and Dan.

On behalf of all of us here, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Our stay at the SLS got mixed reviews. The teenagers thought it was cool; my husband found it stylish and innovative. I thought it was too weird to really feel comfortable. The whole Phillippe Stark style made me feel like I was at MoMA (or maybe a less celebrated Modern art museum)--the pool, especially, surrounded by frames and mirrors was just too weird for me. It was basically like Tim Burton's vision of Alice in Wonderland--if you liked that, you'll love this hotel.

The furniture was all meant to be impressive but not particularly functional, For example, there were not outlets near the bed, and the side tables, while chic, didn't have full shelves so things kept slipping down onto the floor. The shower doors did not close well so things kept dropping to the floor when the door was "slammed." One had to walk behind the bed to get places, and trip on wires (ah--there were the outlets!!)

Service was good--the valet staff was very friendly and prompt and the registration desk was staffed by energetic people. They raved about the fitness center which turned out to be just okay. I didn't need the concierge at all, which is probably just as well--I'm sure they could have directed me to clubs, etc., which I am way too old for.

Bottom line: not the right scene for a suburban mom.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommythek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSLS, General Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you for your comments on the design of the hotel. Once again design is a matter of personal tatse and I am sorry that the SLS Hotel was not to your liking.

However, I am pleased that your daughters found the SLS Hotel "cool" and your husband found it "stylish and innovative."

We hope to welcome your family back soon!

Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed a the SLS for 5 nights. It is a great location in Beverly Hills and easily accessible. The Hotel is similar in style to a Schrager hotel - oversized pieces in the reception area, digital art, mood lighting and sound. So from the get go I would say that unless you place some value on innovative design and modern interpretations it is not going to be for you and that you would be better off with a more traditional luxury hotel.
I am Platinum with Starwood, booked a standard room and got a Terrace Room which has a decent outside space - a nice option.
So check in desk was exceptionally helpful, in fact the experience with all the staff has been positive from the lobby to the two restaurants to the valets.
The rooms value design over function - expensive custom furniture and lighting, an oversized shower (no bath) - but very little space for clothing and storage. There are opulent touches such as the hand blown glass lighting, smoked mirror that hides a TV and custom Stark furniture. Beds are very comfortable.
Couple of comments: the oversized toiletry bottles are not for take away and I personally like the large bottles as opposed to fiddling with tiny things to squeeze out little globs. However, although the texture of the products are very nice the SLS have missed a trick by not having a signature scent for any of the products - they are simply bland. The towels too are not bath sheets and feel rather cheap to me for a hotel of this standard. The bath robes though are large and luxurious - the kind you want to lounge in all day.
Food for breakfast is expensive other then the buffet which again is innovative and a nice follow through from the superlative Bazaaar which is a must try - incredible food.
The pool area can be a little intimidating - clearly pitched to the beautiful people of LA but again I found no problem with the attitude of the staff there.
Valet was efficient - you pay the one charge for the entire day, in and out as many times as you want.
Overall I was very pleased with my stay and would recommend the experience to couples or singles looking for an innovative, sophisticated stay with lots to admire.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSLS, General Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
This is a great review and very accurate. Everyone should read your comments.

Thank you for the feedback and I am pleased that the SLS Hotel experience for you was "sophisticated glamour, outstanding service."

Sincerely Love SPG!

Warm regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

From the starstruck people at reception oozing, "It's Emmy Week!" as an excuse for everything to the attitude laden rooftop pool, (it says Altitude on the door, but that is clearly a misspelling), this place lacks the coordination and grace of truly great local hotels in the area such as the Chateau Marmont and the Sunset Marquis. This place plays at being a Hollywood in spot but fails at every turn, which is a pity, because the Bazaar Restaurant is a great place to dine. It was on the strength of the restaurant that I recommended the hotel to my sister to stay in - a recommendation I now very much regret. Guests are charged each time there car goes in and out of the hotel, so I attempted to get a taxi to get home instead of having my sister incur charges. The parking staff was so unorganized that they gave taxi to someone just leaving the adjacent lobby dining area. Then they asked if I was going to Rodeo Drive. No, thanks. I am not a tourist, but a local who has no need to go there. Someone ordered the hotel car but it was never entirely clear if it was meant for me or not because the parking staff were not communicating with each other. After waiting interminably I just walked home, as itw as less than two miles. When friends from out of town ask where to stay I will NEVER EVER recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSLS, General Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you for your comments and I will follow up with our Valet Parking Company in regard to your experience but did you actually stay at the SLS Hotel?

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

For the price, this hotel is NOT WORTH IT. We were ready to stay at the Four Seasons, but saw this hotel and thought it might be fun. Boy, were we wrong. My dad is disabled, which I told the staff when I booked. No walk in shower, and the room was a LONG walk from the elevator. You CANNOT get a seat by the pool unless you get there very early in the morning ala Cancun, or pay exorbitantly for a "cabana". The staff at the pool is rude. The rooms are very dark, and it is not easy to tell where the light switches are. I had to ask twice at 1 and 3 pm for our room to be cleaned. I was extremely disappointed. Go with the four seasons if you are going to spend the money.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elinor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSLS, General Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that SLS Hotel was not for you.

If you would like to give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves, please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
721 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Mr. C Beverly Hills
Mr. C Beverly Hills
#46 of 351 in Los Angeles
787 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills

Property: SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Address: 465 South La Cienega Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Formerly SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#65 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SLS Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills offers guests a luxurious and elegant hospitality experience in the heart of Los Angeles' vibrant landscape, located just a block from The Beverly Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sls Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing