We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding - would definitely recommend highly. Must visit the bazaar.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Ranked #30 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Outstanding - would definitely recommend highly. Must visit the bazaar.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Aside from a mildly disorganized check-in experience which would have led to us having the wrong rooms, wrong beds, no breakfast, no use of star points, wrong dates and no Internet access had I not been assertive and also printed out the confirmation, this hotel is outstanding. Other staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and modern, the gym was great, location excellent and particularly the hotel restaurant, the bazaar, was absolutely wonderful. Would definitely stay again.

Negatives: bad check-in
Positives: everything else

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryandHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I'm so pleased to hear of your wonderful overall hotel experience; however, I'm so sorry to learn of the inconveniences you endured during the arrival process. I can assure you I am properly looking into these issues so that we can ensure guests do not experience this in the future. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Until we speak again...Savor Life Slowly!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    433
    203
    96
    100
See reviews for
321
477
118
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is confusing. The hotel rooms have mirrors on every wall, including in the bathroom, which is not the best when sitting on the toilet and have 3 mirrors staring back at you. Our room had mold in the shower, and after telling the management, it kept coming back. Our outside area had dead plants and a sliding door you need to be Hercules to open, but I guess they should get some points for a decent thought.

Beware 'yall prices in the hotel room for room service and laundry are outdated and inconsistent, so check your bill.

If you want breakfast, be prepared to wait at least 25 minutes to be seated on a highchair to only help yourself to a couple danishes and warm yogurt... At these price points one should not have to wait, let alone deal with MOLD IN THEIR ROOM.

They try really hard to be "cool", "hip" and "different". We live in NYC and we're pretty used to hip hotels, they missed the bar here in a big way.

I suggest you spend your money on a nicer, better hotel. The Sofitel has better amenities and seems like better located.

Room Tip: CROSS YOUR FINGERS... Our room had mold and dead trees on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jbolton212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

As soon as I walked into the lobby to check in, I was captivated by the beautiful, lush decor of the hotel - a more current and fresh feel of Old Hollywood. The red carpet is very inviting, as you walk up to the outdoor fireplace and lounge. The concierge was extremely polite. Check in process was breezy.

The hotel room was incredibly beautiful. I had a king bed suite. The configuration of the room really maximizes the space and makes you feel like your travel was worth the trouble. I loved the dimmed mirrors all over the room . The bathroom is just as lovely and the bath products were surprisingly very pleasant. There's a constant fresh scent in the hotel air. If there is a downside, it would be that the room lighting is incredibly subdued so if you need good light for make up or to do your hair, it may be a little tricky.

Hotel dining is just as magnificent - the very trendy Bazaar and the more understated Tres. Great menus. I had tea and cookies at Tres.

Valet is precious! Meter maids around the neighborhood are extremely overzealous.

There's so much to do in the neighborhood as well. Tons of restaurants, quaint walkable neighborhoods with rows of boutiques to visit. Check out Joan's on Third, Basix, Fig & Olive, Nic's Martini Lounge.

I can't wait to return to my new favorite hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keesa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We can't wait to welcome you back! Until next time...Sparkle Like Sunshine!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
263 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel on a Saturday night, the place was hopping with people because of the Bazaar next door. There was no traffic in and around the area, but the place was packed. But don't worry, if this isn't your scene, or even if it is, the hotel is set back from the Bazaar that it's very quiet.

The location of the SLS is very central to most things in the Los Angeles area. We met a friend that lived in the valley, and he made it to our hotel in about 30 minutes. All the shopping and restaurants in the Beverly Hills area is within 10 minutes.

Once we figured out where to check in, the front desk staff was very efficient and helpful. The process was quick and simple.

We had a standard room, which was decorated very nicely. The room is a little dark, but that give the place it's atmosphere. The bed is in the middle of the room, which is interesting (and we actually tried to emulate this at home but it didn't work), and the desk is located behind the bed. There is a television hidden in a glass panel that is really cool, and a long bench was by the window with reading material and snacks for purchase.

The bathroom was very cool. The doors and walls were on sliding panels, which could open in to the main part of the bedroom. The best part of the bathroom was the bath products. The soap is the best hotel soap we have every used! It was fragrant and had grit to it. We liked it so much we took an extra bar of soap home.

That night, we drank at the bar and the bartender was very friendly and made really great drinks. It was a nice place to chill with friends and hang out. It didn't seem pretentious at all.

The pool area looked really nice. It was a cold, wet day when we were there, so the pool was close. But we could tell this hotel has a very nice pool scene.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to the property! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Until next time...Savor Life Slowly!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and decided to extend for a 3rd night. I love the location (very convenient to all the great restaurants on La Cienaga Blvd). The rooms are spacious and modern. The bed was really comfy and I had a great time sleeping at this hotel. Although it gets busy at The Bazaar on weekends, it's still quiet in my room and I had no trouble sleeping. The bath amenities are really nice and perfumed. Room service is 24 hours. The spa was wonderful as well, but a bit crowded. I really enjoyed my facial at the Ciel spa and my skin looked luminous after. I looove this place. Be sure to give The Bazaar a try (tapas-style, I blew $350 on dinner), it's worth it.

Cons:
- Internet is not free, $14.95 / day
- TV reception was crappy and goes in and out (but who watches TV on vacation?)
- Difficulty opening closet doors (it was heavy)
- No bath tub in regular room
- Breakfast table was over crowded, service was slow

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkfacedbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay at SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills! I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel experience. In addition, I greatly appreciate your feedback on some of the inconveniences you experience. We take our guests feedback very seriously so thank you again for taking the time to let us know. Please note, we do have rooms with bathtubs, these are our double rooms. All of our queen and king rooms do have the shower. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to once again experience SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel located smack bang in the middle of everything you want to be near in LA. 5/10 minutes to Rodeo Drive, 2/5 min to Melrose Ave, 15/20 min to Hollywood Strip & 10 minutes to Sunset Blvd.
Rooms are very well appointed however they are very dark even in the bathroom, the mood lighting thing is a bit of a nuisance when you are trying see what you are doing getting ready etc. We asked for an extra lamp which was provided immediately but even that was not a solution.
House keeping was a bit erratic but almost all other requests were met immediately and with great enthusiasm. The valets are fantastic. The Concierge team even printed out a map & driving directions and left them on the dash of our car with a couple of bottles of water for our forward journey without being asked.
The WiFi was complimentary for our room (not sure if that was part of a package as you had to sign in and agree to pay $15 every 24hrs) but it was very slow. Not a complaint - just so you know.
Very cool fit out through the whole property. The gym is very well equipped with treadmills, elliptical trainers and bikes, free weights and weight machines. A stretching/floor area & fit balls, matts etc. and a set of 4 Kinesis personal fitness stations. Open 24 hours.
We didn't have any spa treatments but looks nice. Likewise the cool weather kept us away from the pool but the pool deck looks amazing - it would definitely be the place to hang out in summer.
Overall a great place to stay & a convenient place to base yourself in the city of angels...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billybuchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm so sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced with our lighting, your feedback is greatly appreciated as we continue to evolve our brand. We are pleased to her you enjoyed the overall experience and look forward to welcoming you back so that you can test out the entire SLS experience (Ciel & Altitude!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a fantastic experience. The staff were friendly, professional and provided excellent service. From our initial check-in late at night with Cameron, when we were exhausted from driving, who helped us get an upgraded room as SPG Gold and recommended the drink amenity, to James who walked us through the room's features with a friendly smile and made us feel at home. Then the next day we ate at Tres and enjoyed our SPG Gold amenities - the drinks were delicious - highly recommend the Moscow Mule, and Last Cocktail. I definitely appreciate the bartender that checks each drink. Our waiter, Danny, was very friendly and service was quick as well. The pastrami benedict was on the salty side, but overall breakfast was great. Overall, the best Starwood hotel we've been to this year - and we had almost 15 stays in 2012 with Starwood, with recent trips to the St. Regis in Monarch Beach and St. Regis in San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
What a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Until next time...Sparkle Like Sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Westside
Mr. C Beverly Hills
Mr. C Beverly Hills
#39 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills

Property: SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Address: 465 South La Cienega Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Formerly SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#66 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SLS Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills offers guests a luxurious and elegant hospitality experience in the heart of Los Angeles' vibrant landscape, located just a block from The Beverly Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sls Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing