We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Ranked #26 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Excellent hotel, you cant go wrong. My first time in LA, they gave lots of info on how to get around, and they are in a good location. Beds / rooms are very comfortable and clean, restaurant is nice, and I noticed this hotel appears on the latest series of Entourage so it must be good! But this is all only the start....i left my keys and $1000 in the safe of the hotel and came back to the UK devastated. I contacted the hotel and they managed to send me everything. The money was there in full so I can only THANK their security teams, receptionists and night staff, and office staff who went out of their way to put the money in to my account, incurring charges themselves. EXCELLENT SERVICE - remember its only when things go wrong do you know how good a hotel is.

Only feedback would be that the walls are a little thin...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMonkeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your recent visit to SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills! We are so pleased to hear the enjoyment you had during your stay and furthermore that despite a frustrating situation, we were able to best assist you in the solution. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
There are newer reviews for SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,346 - 1,352 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Service was excellent here and very accommodating - however I am not a difficult person; I can only imagine the awful behavior the staff here must encounter. The clientel is a bit much, and the thought the spaces are well planned and finished - I resented being manipulated by Phillipe Stark design form lobby to room. The pool deck is nice but very cramped with stangers sharing a chair with no space between. The guest room was like a Gucci showroom - all bronzed mirrors and grey carpet - lovely and over the top luxury. The shower is a porno shower completely clad in mirror and well rather fun... If you engage with the staff they will be very kind and polite. Worth cashing in all my travel points to stay for free. Drinks are crazy expensive.

Room Tip: If you are nice to the staff they will upgrade you for free - at least that was my situation. ask t...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the overall experience at SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills! Our Philippe Starck design is not for everyone, but we appreciate your commentary, so we can best take into account what are guests are looking for and provide that in future decision making and updates to our property. Thank you so much for the time you have spent to share your comments from your recent stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Until next time…Sparkle Like Sunshine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is my third time staying here & still really enjoy the atmosphere & ambiance. Unfortunately, I was a little disappointed this time with my stay. I booked two rooms & my second room was not ready until almost 5:00pm. I was lucky enough that a new front desk person that was able to release a room from a VIP guest who was not expected in until late. I got to my room and called for room service for a blow dryer in which I waited 45 minutes for. After a poor start, things did get better. To sum things up: 1. Great property & atmosphere 2. Not very SPG friendly (don't expect an upgrade even at Platinum) 3. Room service will take a long time 4. Must be VIP to get excellent service 5. Well equipped fitness room 6. Bazaar bar & restaurant excellent 7. Nice roof pool

Room Tip: Spend a lot of money and you will get a good room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_vpnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit to SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills! I greatly appreciate your frequency to our property, and do apologize that you were not overly impressed upon your last visit. We strive for service excellence and I am embarrassed to learn that we felt short of that. I do greatly appreciate the time you have spent to leave your comments so we can address the issues encountered to ensure they do not happen in the future. We do hope to welcome you back to SLS Hotel in the near future. Until next time…Savor Life Slowly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Absolutely loved our stay at the SLS. My own bed at home is a high end incredibly comfortable bed and yet I slept like a baby. (I NEVER sleep well at a hotel. )
The service was top notch yet low key and welcoming. The room was well decorated and inviting, as was the large private terrace (worth it).
The same magic that general manager Thomas Meding brought to the Parker Palms Springs has followed him to the SLS.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jminca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. On behalf of Thomas Meding and all of here at SLS, we are so pleased to hear of your wonderful hotel stay, and do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Until next time...Savor Life Slowly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I am a well seasoned traveller who normally stays at 5 star hotels such as the Four Seasons in most major cities. I made the mistake on a recent visit to Los Angeles of staying at the SLS Hotel for about 4 nights. My expectation in a rated luxury hotel is that my room will be safe for me personally and that any belongings I have in the room will be safe. Not so at the SLS. We had purchased some clothing at Barney's and left it in the shopping bag in the room. Upon check out we noticed that the bag had vanished. That's when the so called Luxury Hotel showed it's true colours. I immediately called security about the missing bag and a security person came to the room and wrote a report. As we were in the process of checking out I was told I would hear back from the security officer within a few hours. Upon check out I asked for the General Manager as I wanted to make sure he knew of the incident. As he was not available I made sure the front desk was aware of the situation and asked that a message be left for him to call me. About 4 hours later after not receiving a call back as promised from the security person I called the hotel only to find he was not available but would return my call. This back and forth went on for about 6 weeks with no results of their investigation. I had also talked to Sarah the General Manager's assistant a number of times and asked her to have the General Manager call me but to no avail. I never recieved a call from the General Manager. Eventually after leaving several messages for their lead investigations person he did call and tell me that the results of their investigation had turned up nothing and of course they would not be reimbursing me anything as it was my word against their word. There were suggestions made by this individual that there were perhaps other ways they could look after me and he would get back to me on that but I never heard anything further.
In all my years of travelling I have never had a worse experience than this hotel delivered to me. It's been 3 months since the loss occurred and all I have is further long distance telephone bills trying to get answers from these totally incompetent people.
If safety and service is important to you do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mercedes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

its a very dark hotel. more like a nightclub vibe. the rooms after 5 nights started to become depressing in their darkness and dimness.
having said that...everything else was faultless.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you for your recent visit to SLS! Please note we are adding a new lighting program to our guestrooms that will most certainly amplify the lighting in our guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and excited for you to experience our new lighting in our rooms! Until next time…Savor Life Slowly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We used our points to stay at the SLS for 3 nights even though it is just down the street from us. When booking I noted the price range for the room was $350-$450 depending on night we were staying.

There is parking on the streets in the neighborhoods by the SLS you just need to be very careful and read the street signs because you will get a ticket. The most we had to walk was 3-4 blocks. I am fairly cheap and didn't want to pay the $30+ for valet parking. If you don't mind walking it wasn't hard for us to find a decent spot.

When we arrived the entrance was a little confusing because they have the Baazar entrance and then the hotel entrance on the side. It took us a moment to get it. There wasn't any line at check in and the front desk was very friendly and helpful. He did say he was upgrading our room to one with a terrace (outdoor patio). I'm not sure how much of an upgrade this is from a standard room, but it was nice to have since the weather was beautiful at the time. There wasn't a view from the patio, but it was comfortable. My only complaint about it was there wasn't any light. We wanted to sit out there and have some dessert one night. I ended up moving one of the lamps so we could see.

The 4 stars is because this is a very trendy hotel and I wouldn't pay $400/night to stay here. I have been to many resorts in Hawaii, Mexico etc that are nicer for less money.

Rooms - The rooms were very clean and housekeeping did an impeccable job. One night they even gave us a turndown service with some chocolates. My only complaint about the room was the layout. I hit my shin on the corner of the bed at least 3 times. I have the bruise to prove it. This may be because I am clumsy since Mr. C didn't do it once, but I don't think there was enough room between the table and the bed. I always had to remember to be extra careful. We didn't get a room with a bathtub, which I would have loved to relax in. Next time I will remember to ask how to get one of these rooms. I loved the products and wanted to take them home with me, but they come in large containers that are used again. I have seen a lot of people had problems with the lighting, but it didn't bother me. I was able to put my makeup on just fine and was able to see. One of my favorite parts of the room was the extra blanket on the bed. It was super comfy and I never let Mr. C use it.

Service - Everywhere we turned the service was excellent. One day we had to have the plumber come up (don't ask why). He was there in less than 5 minutes and fixed the problem right away. We were having technical difficulties hooking our laptop up to the TV and they sent an engineer up right away. Although he wasn't able to figure out the problem right after he left I was able to get it to work. One morning when I was leaving the front desk called me by name and told me to have a good day. He totally caught me off guard, but it was a nice touch that he knew who we were. When leaving on our last day I'm not sure if they saw us coming but we were greeted at the elevator and asked if we needed help with our bags. At checkout I noticed we had been charged for some minbar items that we never used. The front desk didn't ask questions and credited my account for them.

The location isn't the perfect Beverly Hills location, but their are plenty of restaurants near by and you are within a short drive to many things ( Hollywood, Sunset, Rodeo etc). I enjoy the happy hour at Gyu-Kaku. Although we didn't eat at Bazaar this time around I have been there before and the food is some of the best I have ever had. The prices are steep but worth every penny. On the weekends the bar is pretty happening and is the trendy LA scene if that is what you are looking for. We didn't use the rooftop pool or gym, but both look amazing.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have bathtubs.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camachomarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSBHManager, Manager at SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you so much for your comments and recent visit to SLS! I’m pleased to inform you that we are in the midst of installing a new lighting program to our rooms. This will of course provide ample lighting for our guests during their visit. In addition, I wanted you to know that we will again be partaking in dineLA in January, so perhaps a perfect opportunity for you to dine with us, since you are local! Happy New Year. We hope to welcome you back in 2012, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
740 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Mr. C Beverly Hills
Mr. C Beverly Hills
#56 of 353 in Los Angeles
799 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills

Address: 465 South La Cienega Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Formerly SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#65 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $410 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SLS Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills offers guests a luxurious and elegant hospitality experience in the heart of Los Angeles' vibrant landscape, located just a block from The Beverly Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sls Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing