We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Beverly Hills
Ranked #45 of 357 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend getaway to LA. We had a few issues during our stay, which all were resolve by the time we decided to check out, for our return visit back home.

The hotel seemed busy upon our initial arrival. This initiall was a good sign to me that this place was popular, or so I thought.Our first issue was with the first hotel room (which means we requested a different room). Our first room (on the 2nd floor) had a weird odor that seemed to be a combination of cigarette smoke and some wierd type of air freshener. We immedately call the front desk and requested a different room. A cheerful representative showed up quickly and escorted us to a different room (on the third flood) and waited to see if it met with our approval. This room was much better, so we told the representative that we would take this one. She then proceded to leave us in the room with ONE key, and informed us that she would return with a second key. After waiting an hour or so, I went down to the from desk to inquire about the second key for the room. Apparently they forgot about us and went back to their normal routine. This delay thru us off a bit, time wise, but ok, we were flexible and as long as we received a second key it was ok.

Also when we checked in, the manager on duty boasted about the improved super fast internet service that the hotel provided to their guest. At first we thought nothing of it, but then when we tried to connect to the internet, during our stay,we had issues. It wasnt until day 2 of out stay that it became irritating, and I complained to the front desk. The attendant was ok, as being knowledgeable about the service, even though she contacted tech support to resolve the issue. Unknown to us the hotel was having internet connctivity issues all weekend, even before we check in!! Now, why would you brag on something that doesnt work is beyond me.

During our 2nd (and final) day here we experienced a problem with the keys...they worked correctly all day the first day, but after we went out for lunch and return, we had the urgency to use the restroom in the room...and, like murphy's law, NEITHER key worked...having to hold your bladder and try to explain to the front desk attendant that the keys dont work, was stressful enough, but to hear the excuse that both keys were NOT keyed at the same time was like...REALLY...they worked all day yesterday, and this morning but NOT this afternoon. Just give us the keys, so we can go...the longer we had to wait, the more fustrated we became...

Overall I think this is a good hotel, but i would recommend that they should stand by what they say as far a service is concered. Meaning dont say something is GREAT, if it doesnt work, and make sure to follow thru with ALL issues no matter how small it is..

Room Tip: Try to select a room farthest from the elevator as housekeeping uses the same elevator as the guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterstateHotels, Manager at Residence Inn Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

MrSands, thank you for your time in posting comments about your stay with us, and please accept our apologies for the issues you faced. We understand that what may seem like a small hiccup, can truly be an annoyance during your hotel stay. Please know that we will share your comments with our staff to ensure that our guests are 100% satisfied with their visit. Should your travels bring you back to the Beverly Hills area, we hope that you will give us another chance to show you what a great hotel stay can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 870 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights for the Rose Bowl, based on the location and trip advisor reviews. Happy with our choice.

First of all, the location is excellent. As mentioned before, easy access to Beverly Hills Rodeo Drive, although if you are going to the shopping/restaurant district, it's about a 20-30 minute walk. Very easy drive to Hollywood, downtown for LA Live, or Santa Monica.

The rooms themselves are fine, but as mentioned elsewhere they are cramped. One side of the bed is so tight you almost can't get in and out from it. The sink is outside the bathroom, and if you are using the sink you really can't open the bathroom door. The pull out sofa bed is ok, not great.

Now, breakfast was very good, but for people on vacation shutting it down at 9:00 am is really early. Made to order omelettes on most days were great! The GM of the hotel was making the rounds almost every day during breakfast, clearing plates himself and chatting with the guests. A very nice touch. All of the other staff was friendly.

As a platinum Rewards customer I did ask about an upgrade, but of course none were available. The front desk manager promised to let me know after the New Year's dates were over (many people left the 2nd after the Rose Bowl game) but I never got a call. Not a big deal.

We did have two maintenance issues: Our key card was very touchy in getting into the hotel from the garage…took us over 5 minutes to get it to work. We mentioned to the GM at breakfast and it was fixed immediately (or by the next time we came in.) We also had a shower handle that just spun…made it impossible to adjust water temperature. After one day fussing with it we called the front desk, and when we got back to our room it was fixed.

The hotel doesn't have a lot of other attributes, fitness room in the dungeon very small, no pool.

I do recommend using self parking. The parking garage is attached to the hotel, and if you get a room on the 4th floor you can go right to your room front the garage with no elevator. Very convenient.

The price during this period was rather expensive for this type of hotel, but I guess not out of line for LA.

All in all, I would recommend this property.

Room Tip: If you get a high floor, get a low number room facing the street for a view of downtown LA. Fourth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night and got the great Marriott experience. Great room, big, relaxing, quiet. Just what I needed after a long day. Breakfast was great with all the usual choices. All staff was great and friendly.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Travelin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We recently stayed at the Residence Inn Beverly Hills while in town for the BCS National Championship game. The hotel was very busy with different groups but did a great job in all aspects of the operations. Breakfast was hot and fresh, valet parking was very smooth and the car war always ready, and you cannot beat the location for close restaurants and attractions.

I would stay here again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We reserved a studio room for our stay. As other reviews have indicated, the location of this property is within walking distance to Rodeo Drive. The staff here is also pleasant. We checked in with a reservation for a studio room, and were told that no upgrades were available. We were shocked to find that the size of this studio room is substantially smaller than most other Marriott properties. Do not stay here expecting a large studio room, as is characteristic of most other Residence Inn properties, since you will not receive what you expect. The layout of the bathroom, bedroom, and sink area is awful. The area where the bed is located is so small that only one nightstand fits next to it. The other side of the bed had no table or night stand. Instead, you can see the bare wall, which is quite unattractive. The closet door and bathroom door cannot both be opened at the same time. You must close the bathroom door to open the closet. In addition, if you are standing at the sink to brush your teeth and someone is in the bathroom, hope they don't open the door because you will be knocked down. You must move out of the area to allow them to pass. In fact, you need to move into the living room area, because there is not enough room around the bed for two people to stand, even uncomfortably. It is a very awkward setup with insufficient space for two. The bathroom sink area is also very tiny, with limited counter space. It is much smaller than other Residence Inn properties. The "view" was to the building which was 10 feet away, so you couldn't even leave the curtains open. Apparently, the odd rooms have this view, so request an even number room. We did go to the front desk and ask about the room size, and gave them our room number, and they advised that the room we were in was a corner room and was smaller than other rooms. We were quite shocked and disappointed to learn this, since we had asked for a room upgrade, and would have assumed based on our platinum status that we would not have been assigned the smallest studio room available. Again, we expect more when checking into a Marriott and this is unacceptable. While upgrades are not guaranteed, it would seem that at the very least a larger studio room would have been assigned. The fitness center is basically in the basement, and while it does have a few treadmills and ellipticals, it is nothing more than average. The breakfast buffet was substantial, and there is outside seating to enjoy same. However, the hours were insufficient, especially since the hotel caters to both families and business people. While business people may be in early, often times families may be later for breakfast. On weekends it is offered until 9:30 a.m., which seems quite early for a weekend. Since it is the only offering on weekends, it would seem it should be offered until at least 10:00 a.m., and possibly even 10:30 a.m. On week days it is offered until 9:00 a.m., which again is unacceptable. There is no reason that is cannot be offered past 9:00 a.m. until 10:00 a.m., as is done in many other properties, so that guests are not rushed to breakfast. While the staff here is quite pleasant, and it has a central location, it is nothing more than an average property that needs some improving.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank flalove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here after Christmas for five nights with other family members and the staff made our stay so enjoyable. They are pleasant and friendly and always offering to help. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good value property centrally located to all the sites of LA. Breakfast included is a nice feature and there was plenty of variety for everyone. The staff cleaned up after the guests quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the hotel on the inside of the hotel. Pico blvd (main street nearest the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smdaddio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Residence Inn on numerous occasions in the past for a week at a time in some cases. Most stays were due to the fact it was in close proximity to Cedars Sinai Hospital where my husband was having surgery. Again we were there on the 20th of December for another procedure in Santa Monica. Though not close to Santa Monica I opted to stay at the Residence Inn again. I couldn't be happier. They have remodeled since the last time we were there. The lobby is beautiful. The staff was professional and greeted us every time we came into the lobby. The check in was smooth. We arrived early and asked if the room would be ready sooner. They did accommodate that request. The room was spacious and very quiet. Plenty of room in the King studio. Since we arrived on Wednesday we did have the dinner provided. That was good. Compliments to the chef! Breakfast is served every morning. Always a full breakfast, not continental. Very appreciated! So all in all a very nice stay again! Would not hesitate in recommending if you need to stay in the Beverly Hills area.

Room Tip: I always ask for a high floor and inside. They are on a busy street and the rooms facing out might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KmhAtwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterstateHotels, Manager at Residence Inn Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

KmhAtwater - thank you for posting comments about your stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Beverly Hills, and we appreciate your continued loyalty! Even though you needed to be in Santa Monica during the majority of your time in Los Angeles, we're so happy that you chose to stay with us. Our guests frequently take advantage of our central location to everything that Los Angeles and Beverly Hills have to offer. We always appreciate friend recommendations, and we hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Beverly Hills!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
Beverly Hills Marriott
Beverly Hills Marriott
#52 of 357 in Los Angeles
446 reviews
LAX Area
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Century City
Courtyard Los Angeles Century City/Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
#106 of 357 in Los Angeles
436 reviews
Beverly Hills
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
#10 of 15 in Beverly Hills
944 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#9 of 15 in Beverly Hills
3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Beverly Hills

Address: 1177 S Beverly Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90035-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $229 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Beverly Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our boutique-inspired hotel, just minutes from Rodeo Drive! Our recently renovated guest suites and lobby are awaiting your arrival. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Beverly Hills Hotel Los Angeles
Beverly Hills Residence Inn
Residence Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing