We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive stay during the memorial weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Ranked #107 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive stay during the memorial weekend”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel and the hotel staff in general were OUTSTANDING. The stay far exceeded our expectations and will book another stay in October 2013. Plus with the Mliltary Rate your hotel offered was very reasonable. That impressed me the most and I am sure that it impresses other military personnel and their families. Thanks again, and see you in October.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest , thank you for your feedback and I am so glad that your visit was a success. Your comments about our dedicated associates are already shared with the team. We are very happy to have you back in October and please reach out to me if you need any assistance with your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    556
    377
    152
    93
See reviews for
681
308
57
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the second time in 8 months that we have stayed at this hotel. The staff was awesome the first time we came and when we were planning this trip we made sure to book our flights around the availability of this hotel. Brian in the Club Lounge has to be one of the most friendly employees of any Starwood hotel I have stayed in. He recognized us from our last visit and made sure to ask us each time he saw us how our trip was and what we had done. He is a true asset to this hotel. Also, the lady in the club lounge in the mornings went above and beyond to make sure we wanted for nothing each morning we came for breakfast. She gave us a crash course on how to use the new espresso machine. (BTW it makes a wonderful espresso). Then there was the front desk. I can't remember the ladies name that checked us in but she welcomed us back and asked why we were there and I informed her we were on vacation and celebrating my husbands 40 birthday. When he came in she came from behind the desk and wished him a great birthday. This is why we will keep coming back to this hotel. They truly make you feel welcome. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bharrison1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to connect with us regarding your most recent stay. And we are delighted that the service was above an beyond expectations, and that’s what keeps bring you back! We will make certain that the associates are acknowledged and this wonderful review is shared with the team. I agree that that the lounge espressos are just excellent! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and we look forward to being of service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Even with the AAA discount still not a good value. Very small room, Club level room with 2 queen beds and tripping over everything. Extremely small bathroom with a small sink and the toilet is next to the sink. One can brush teeth shoulder to shoulder while the other uses the loo. Strange!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to connect with us regarding your most recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that you did not experience the Sheraton Universal at its finest and for that we are very sorry. We appreciate your feedback and your insights of the room are noted and shared with the managers involved. We thank you for your time and hope that we have the opportunity to be of service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Accommodations were very nice and updated; easy to self-park ($18), front desk and concierge personnel exceptional; food good but a bit expensive ($15 quesadilla) and wait staff very friendly and personable but a tad slow service. NIce workout gym. Walking Close to Universal Studios, CityWalk and NBC studio for TV Taping. Overall, very good value and experience. I would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 418Nancy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest , thank you taking the time to write about your experience . And thank you kindly for commenting on our dedicated associates. We strive to deliver welcoming service to you, our very valued guest with every visit the moment you arrive. Your comments are shared with the managers involved where improvements can be made and we appreciate your insights. Please keep us in mind if your travels bring you back this way. We would be delighted to be of service again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've stayed here several times, and have always had rooms with really nice views towards Universal City or towards the Hollywood Hills. The check-in staff is always friendly and welcoming, and the club lounge has a very healthy breakfast and good evening snacks as well. Having the Red Line subway stop nearby is very handy for heading into Hollywood.

Room Tip: Higher floors have especially nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAtraveler007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear guest, its wonderful to hear that you are a retuning guest who always experiences the best of the Sheraton Universal. The views are beautiful I must agree, especially at sunset. The convenience factor cannot be beat, and then top that off with the staff that truly cares about each guest, makes for a great experience. Please feel free to reach out to me for any future visits and I would be happy to assist with your reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Francine for helping us with our perfect reservation for a great room at club level. The two greatest things about this hotel are one, its location near Universal Studios and two,the club level. hors d'oeuvres were wonderful and breakfast was a great continental breakfast just like in Europe complete with turkey and cheese, as well as some great oatmeal. The shuttle tool us right to a perfect day at universal studios. Perfect getaway for some fun. Also close to w Hollywood for bars, shows and a great dinner at las paella.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmspringsdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear guest, we are delighted that your visit started off great by the dedicated associate who assisted with your reservations. And many thanks for mentioning the Club Lounge which is convenient and not to mention delicious. You can relax, enjoy a magazine, mingle, eat and drink with a beautiful view of the valley. We are happy that hotel location worked well, allowing to easily experience all that the Sheraton and Universal has to offer, and it’s just steps away. We certainly hope that your travels will bring you back this way again as we would be happy to be or service to you and yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was our first stay at the Universal in many years. I recall my first visit there being some 40 years ago.

We were there for a total of five nights. During our stay, the F&B staff in both the lounge and Californias restaurant provided outstanding service. The quality of the food was excellent and fairly priced. In particular, I would commend our wait staff in the restaurant. Experienced professionals. The front desk went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The property was clean, elevators worked properly, housekeeping was polite and attentive. The 9th floor club lounge was an oasis for us to relax and review our daily meeting notes. Best value for the money in the Studio City/Burbank/NoHo area and the access to the 101 couldn't be easier. Will definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_G54914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest, we are delighted that your travels brought you back this way and you were able to experience the hotel and surrounding areas. It is great that the Sheraton provided a convenient atmosphere and you fully enjoyed the lounge and helpful associates. We believe that exceptional service is the base of all experiences and we are thankful that you mentioned our dedicated Sheraton Team! I agree that the lounge is a great place to catch up on work or just relax. It is a very nice area with great food and lovely views! We hope that you keep us in mind for your next visit and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#93 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#138 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
The Garland
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Universal Hotel

Property: Sheraton Universal Hotel
Address: 333 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Universal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Hollywood like a facelift. We have started our guest room renovation at the HOTEL OF THE STARS. All services are still available for guest use during this phase. At the Sheraton Universal Hotel, located next door to the excitement of Universal Studios, we artfully blend Sheraton's four-star service with the history of an iconic Hollywood Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing