We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Ranked #118 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Whaplode, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here on arrival in LA for 3 nights. Arrived late in evening went to bar to get a couple of drinks they had run out of choices of drinks. Stayed in a club level room with breakfast included, room very nice, breakfast was not perfect not enough tables for all but food selection was ok. Location was good for universal shuttle bus comes every 15 minutes from 9 am. Pool was closed but you could use the hilton.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 266Lisa266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest, your feedback is very important to us at the Sheraton Universal and we are grateful that you took the time to share your insights. We are sorry to hear so some of the issues with the lounge seating and drink selection at the bar, but are pleased to read that it did not damper your trip. Thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast and snacks offered in the Sheraton Club Lounge. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again on your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    568
    388
    162
    110
See reviews for
726
311
58
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

4/26-4/28

I had an excellent stay with two other girlfriends. The entrance was inviting and smelled nice. The staff was accommodating and delivered two separate requests immediately. The room was clean and spacious. The lighting by the door was very dim, which makes seeing yourself in the mirror, or looking into the closet a bit hard. The walls are thin too, as we hard people "partying" late at night and maintenance crew above us in the morning. Regardless of the minor issues, Sheraton was still everything that met our needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest, we always enjoy reading reviews from guests who experienced the hotel and enjoyed their visit to the fullest. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding the spacious clean rooms and friendly efficient associates that cared for you during our visits. I am glad that the neighboring noise did not mar your visit with us as well. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights on a trip to Universal Studios and the surrounding areas. It is very convenient to US - it's a 10 minute walk (although uphill) to the park, but they have a regular shuttle that will take you there. The first night we stayed in one of the lower floor rooms - AVOID THESE (even the front desk called it "the dungeon"). They are smaller and noisier (although close to the restaurant and pool). The next day they moved us into the tower which was much better. There is even a quiet floor which we really appreciated. Parking is pricey, but if you are planning on going to the park you are going to have to pay for parking there. It's about a 15 minute drive to Pasadena without traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room - and the Quiet Floor if you want some peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruise_Ship_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found our proximity to Universal Studios to be a nice benefit to your stay. Your insights regarding the guestrooms are much appreciated and shared with the managers involved. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will consider the Sheraton Universal again upon your next visit to Universal Studios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The staff here were fantastic, very helpful and friendly, hotel was very nice but lacked a little in atmostphere, the only exciting thing was the filming of parenthood, although being from uk, l have never seen it before. Overall, i would stay here again, ideal location for Universal Studios and easy tube ride to Hollywood.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleygirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your past stay. Guest feedback and expectations are very helpful in ensuring that you have a remarkable stay while here as our guest. We are very pleased that the staff was accommodating ensuring your visit was up to par. Please feel free to reach out to me when ever your travels may bring you back this way again. We would be very happy to have you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 nights as a stop over to sight see in LA and visit universal studios. It is in a great location in walking distance to city walk and universal studios theme park. In city walk there is lots of shopping and restaurants to choose from which is very handy.

The room on the other hand is comfortable but we paid for a room with a view but got the grotty end where the pool is. The bed was a lovely to sleep in but dark rooms. Thats why I think it is good as a base. It has everything there for you to use but do not go here if you are looking for luxury resort. Its more for business people and a short stay. The pool was also out of use due to refurbishments so were given use of the hilton's pool which was pleasant enough.

Almost forgot we had breakfast included within our stay which was great. With a variety of fruits, continental and hot food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationaddict86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your review with us at the Sheraton Universal Hotel. We appreciate your comments in regards ti the convenient location and great breakfast layout. Please trust your comment on the room lighting is shared with the managers involved. Your feedback is crucial to our future success and we are grateful that you took the time to write. We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Awesome stay. First off........whatever fragrance that Sheraton uses at its entrance and lobby, its absolutely wonderful. The room had a very modern decor and came with lots of amenities. The bed was MAGNIFICENT!!! The sheets looked and smelled clean and the pillows were soft. I had a glorious night's rest and had trouble getting up the next morning because I just wanted to lay in bed just a little longer.
Those who are interested in touring Universal Studios, this hotel offers you the greatest convenience because its adjacent to the property. That was not the purpose of my visit to the hotel but there were many Universal Studios tourist there.
Also, this hotel offers you a great view of the city because of its elevated location..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found our proximity to Universal Studios to be a nice benefit to your stay. Your insights regarding the guestrooms are much appreciated and I completely agree that our beds are just so comfortable. Our associates take pride in this historic hotel and we are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We hope that your travels bring you back this way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great stay at this hotel! Staff were super friendly and helpful! Location is great with free shuttle service to Universal Studios and subway just down the hill. We stayed in a Club Room and breakfast was really good although the evening snacks were limited and seemed to repeat each night. Room was exceptionally clean and maid service was excellent. Rooms were comfortable and good sized with floor to ceiling window that offered a beautiful view. Bed was super comfortable and the pillows heavenly. The hotel's restaurant "The Californian" was excellent with huge portions and outstanding food! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will stay again on my next trip to Hollywood!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 15th floor and it was very quiet with wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest, we always enjoy reading reviews from guests who experienced all the hotel to the fullest. We are delighted to know that the staff was exceptional and the room was clean and welcoming. Your comments about the California restaurant were certainly passed on to our Executive Chef and he sends out his warmest thank you! Please keep us in mind for your next visit and reach out to me directly whenever you would like to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#90 of 350 in Los Angeles
387 reviews
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#141 of 350 in Los Angeles
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
The Garland
#12 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Universal Hotel

Property: Sheraton Universal Hotel
Address: 333 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Universal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Hollywood like a facelift. We have started our guest room renovation at the HOTEL OF THE STARS. All services are still available for guest use during this phase. At the Sheraton Universal Hotel, located next door to the excitement of Universal Studios, we artfully blend Sheraton's four-star service with the history of an iconic Hollywood Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing