We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stop over...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Ranked #104 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“stop over...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We picked this hotel because i could use my points. we had a great room with two queen beds, comfortable sheet and large bathroom. we ate in the hotel restaurant for ease. It was good and decent though not stellar. The pool was being renovated so i cannot comment on that, but generally it would be a great place to stay if you were going to Universal Studios, as it is located across the road and has a shuttle organized to the front gates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are concerned to hear about your experience with our restaurant and please trust that your comments are shared with the Director of Food & Beverage. We are glad that you found the room comfortable, clean and inviting and that too will be shared with the team and the managers involved. Thank you again and do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to be of service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    552
    374
    145
    92
See reviews for
670
305
57
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a long road trip down the California coast. LA is so large it was hard to decide the most central place to stay. The Sheraton's location was fine, but we were not near anything other than Universal Studios, which we had no intention of going to. It was convenient to have the restaurants of City Walk, though, because in the evening we didn't have to go far for a variety of food. We did arrange a tour of major sights of LA and the company picked us up from the hotel for a slight fee. The lobby area was busy at check in due to a few groups/conventions that were staying there. We did not wait long and they gave us a room with a Valley view, so we saw sunsets in the evening. There was some renovation going on at the other end of our floor. They had closed it off with a plastic curtain. Construction noise was at a minimum, so it was not an issue. I hope they were updating the rooms, as ours was getting a bit worn out. Wallpaper & carpet were looking tired. The bathrooms could have used new fixtures, tub, sink, etc. The price was right for us, so we didn't mind. The Starbucks in the lobby was a major convenience, so that was breakfast each day. We had our car, so we were able to drive to see other sights on our list. The hotel is located in a residential/business neighborhood, so it was easy to navigate. I had to send a large FedEx box and the FedEx office was close by. The bellman at the hotel was very accommodating as we were running late and did not have time to take the package back to FedEx, so we left it with him and he made sure it was picked up. I would stay here again if the price was right. If you are planning on going to Universal, then this is certainly your best bet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftyonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to connect with us at the Sheraton Universal. We are grateful for your feedback regarding your room and hotel amenity’s. We certainly are very close proximity to Universal Studios and Cit Walk, and other local areas and attractions are just a train or car ride away which makes it easy for our traveling guests. Thank you again for your insights and we hope that you will consider the Sheraton Universal again next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

A short free shuttle ride takes you to Universal Studies for the park and same agin for Universal City for some excellent safe night life. At the bottom of the hill the Metro takes you one stop to Hollywood Blvd for Chinese theatre etc. Hotel is good class with lovely pool with plenty of sun beds if you have time. Parking was $18 a day but they did throw in free wifi and free continental buffer breakfast was very good. We went with Virgin for these offers .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that the attractions and transportation options were convenient for you and you enjoyed you visit to the fullest. We appreciate you taking the time to write an we certainly hope you travel bring you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice clean room for an old hotel. I did not smell any cigarette smoke which was good since some old hotel sometimes smells old and the cigarette smell. Pillows looked very fluffy but actually collapses as soon as you rest your head on it. You'll need 2 pillows to sleep on. It was a walking distance to Universal Studios or free shuttle to Universal Studios. Starbucks downstairs did not offer hot sandwiches for breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a pleasant stay. Staff that checked us in was really nice and helpful.

Rooms were clean albeit a little worn in certain places.

There's a shuttle bus that goes from the hotel to Universal Studios. On one of the nights we missed the last return shuttle but we could easily walk back to the hotel.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel was convenient to all the areas that we were going to see. We started at Universal Studios and easily traveled to Hollywood and Highland. From there to The Grove for a visit to American Girl for lunch with my grand daughter's doll and a live filming of Extra. Our room was spacious and clean. We got breakfast room service. They had forgotten to put it on the request, and our server went to get it immediately at no charge. Very nice service from all and we had fun drinking at the bar with a tv actor that was recording a tv show at Universal studio.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoecatCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Go elsewhere!!!!! I can't believe this place is a Sheraton. I have stayed at Howard Johnson/Motel 6 hotels that are in better shape. They charge well over $250/night, what rubbish. There was a moldy smell all over the hallways while going to he rooms as well as the rooms themselves. The pool was more like a pond for the surrounding wild life. The front desk staff was rude and horrible. I mean these guys are making horrible faces to express their disdain for the guests. And the tone they use is not only rude but condescending. The only reason one should stay here is because of its location, its right next to Universal Studios and the City Walk. But even then, the location does not make up for all the other flaws.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Raul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#94 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#140 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
The Garland
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Universal Hotel

Property: Sheraton Universal Hotel
Address: 333 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Universal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Hollywood like a facelift. We have started our guest room renovation at the HOTEL OF THE STARS. All services are still available for guest use during this phase. At the Sheraton Universal Hotel, located next door to the excitement of Universal Studios, we artfully blend Sheraton's four-star service with the history of an iconic Hollywood Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing