We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre-empt of next visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Ranked #103 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Colchester UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pre-empt of next visit!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Well, although we have had some 'issues' with the Sheraton Universal over the years, we have been staying there for 5 or 6 years, so they must be doing something right :-) We are going again (11th Feb), looking forward to it, we do love their room service, maybe not the biggest, or cheapest meals, but very tasty, and prompt too!
They have promised to sort out our previous problems on this trip, so will see if they do :-) somehow on our other trips, they seem to have forgotten :-) I have to say based on our last trip (Nov 2011) the staff are very friendly and helpful, the lobby looks magnificent, have to agree on the 'tired' rooms though, although I understand the Hotel was being refurbed a couple of years ago, assumed this was rooms too ? EXCELLENT for Univerrsal & City Walk, and 5 mins walk TO the Metro, more like 15 on the way back.........................steep hill! also very handy for the Freeway 101 (Feeeway or Slo-ways in LA?)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    552
    374
    145
    92
See reviews for
670
305
57
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's always nice to receive solid service on your travels. The reassurance of familiarity works wonders when far from home. Everybody we encountered was super friendly and well versed in the hospitality business. Location was great and the valet super fast. You could be on the 101 within five minutes of leaving the room and down on Sunset in another five, except in rush hour. Food was OK and service professional. While the hotel has done a good job renovating public spaces, the rooms are in dire need of revamping. Housekeeping was great but not miracle workers. They couldn't turn an old room into a new one. I think it's time to go at it one floor at a time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've never been so thankful for free shuttle service until I stayed at this hotel. On a rare rainy weekend in Los Angeles, I stayed at this property to go to Universal Studios and a No Doubt Concert. The location was great, the service was great, and my overall stay was, well...great! My only complaint is that the 'queen' beds looked and felt more like 'full' beds, but otherwise my friends and I were happy campers. Even with a holiday party going on upstairs, it didn't slow down the valet or shuttle service, which may seem little but sometimes it's the little things that count.
Self park to save a couple of dollars per night and there was ample parking!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloKittyLover0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest , thank you for the review and I agree, the shuttle makes things very easy and convenient. Your comments are fully noted and shared with the managers involved. Our goal is to facilitate the most restful conditions and ultimate in convenience for our valued guests ,such as yourself. Thank you kindly for your feedback and we look forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The neighboring Hilton wanted $150 more per night. We were a walk-in reservation. Had a nice, clean, comfortable room. The people working everywhere were so polite. Nice bar. Easy walk from the theme park and City Walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleNanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest , thank you for the review! Perfect , comfortable, clean , great associates and nice bar. It is just fantastic that you had such a great stay. I believe that the team at the hotel really put the effort to make every guests experience a great one. Please visit again soon, we look forward to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Good location , good service, we asked for a refrigerator twice tho... They don't have one in room !! But the rest was ok.. They forget to clean our room one night but it was ok... We were too tired to complain at the time

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casanova777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest, your feedback is so important and will certainly be followed up on immediately . Our guest needs are top priority and I make it a point to follow up on the lapse of service. I am however glad to see that you had a nice visit and your experience was a good one. If you return please don’t hesitate to call me directly so that I can personally assist with your room reservations. Thank you kindly for your time and hopefully I will hear from you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Jan 17-18 2013, the original plan was to stay Jan 17-21 2013
The staff at the hotel with the exception of the bell men was very rude and snobby.It all began from check-in. I booked on a star-hot rate because my sister is employed with Starwood hotels,However when doing so you must provide the hotel with the Star hot document upon arrival or before the end of your stay in order not to be charged that nights rate w/o the discount.I did not have my Star Hot doc when I checked in,Why did I make that mistake? I was judged from that moment! The front desk agent gave me nothing but attitude.Even when providing her with my credit card to place on file she asked,"Is this a regular credit card or a debit card?",also she asked me for my boyfriends name because she said the hotel requires to have names of everyone who's staying in the room,I know this is not true and I observed her check-in 2 couples before me and none of these questions were asked to them.By then I knew what i was facing and its a shame that in 2013 it still exist. I was very uncomfortable with staying at this place. I stayed ONE NIGHT and got the hell out of there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocelyn120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed for a conference (in the 21st floor Starview room which was very nice and 3 sides glass) Friday then for the weekend at Universal Studios.

The 18th floor is great and for SPG members. The lounge is 9th floor which was pleasant.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is a 10 minute walk to the Universal Studios entrance and the vibrant City Walk which is home to many food and drink establishments. I would recommend the Dueling Piano Bar for some great later evening entertainment.

The rooms were clean and airy with ironing board, etc and free wifi for business guests.

I did hear that some guest on lower levels had to wait a long time (10 minutes) for hot water to come through in the early morning but this was not my experience.

Recomended

Room Tip: You can face the universal studios and see the transformers ride in the distance (and judge queues b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo82UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest, excellent to read that you had a great stay and the room and amenity’s met your expectations. We appreciate the feedback and certainly agree that you just can’t beat this location. Furthermore, our valued guests such as yourself have all the associates in the hotel eager to help create great memory’s! Please keep me as your contact for any future visits as well, it would excellent to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#93 of 348 in Los Angeles
354 reviews
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#143 of 348 in Los Angeles
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
The Garland
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Universal Hotel

Property: Sheraton Universal Hotel
Address: 333 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Universal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Hollywood like a facelift. We have started our guest room renovation at the HOTEL OF THE STARS. All services are still available for guest use during this phase. At the Sheraton Universal Hotel, located next door to the excitement of Universal Studios, we artfully blend Sheraton's four-star service with the history of an iconic Hollywood Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing