We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very great place to stay in los angeles area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Ranked #128 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very great place to stay in los angeles area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

my fist stay here at the holiday inn express since it was the ramada limited alot of improvements very clean room parking was great the staff was friendly and also the breakfast bar is free every day i love my stay at this hotel me and my friends will be back soon thank you holiday inn express .

Room Tip: the gym room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    66
    38
    12
    17
See reviews for
48
33
11
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This property is newly remodeled and because of that, it's new, clean and very well decorated. The outside of the property is freshly painted in Holiday Inn colors and almost looks out of place considering the neighborhood and other buildings around it. It is in a very dirty part of town, let's just say that, with many people on the streets, walking, selling, hanging out, talking . . . we were concerned about the safety of our vehicle, but everything was fine. I wish there was a secured lot with a gate or something, but that's not the case here. Parking is free which is nice!

The room is clean and everything worked fine. We all got a good night's sleep, which was our goal, once the sirens stopped at about 11 PM. We were at Dodger Stadium (which is a 10 min drive) until 9:30 PM, but heard 3 or 4 sirens go by in that hour and a half that we were in our room before going to sleep. Do not expect to swim here, the pool is VERY SMALL -- we thought it was the hot tub!! No more than 5 people will fit comfortably and don't even think about doing any playing or swimming, it's just enough to wet your feet.

Breakfast was fine, no major complaints. Aside from hard, cold hard-boiled eggs, but perhaps that's me being picky. There were eggs, sausage patties, yogurt, fresh bananas and oranges, and several toast, muffin and bagel offerings. Typical Holiday Inn type of breakfast.

It's the nicest option in the area -- if you need / want to stay in the area. Just know, you won't be walking to and from dinner, the store, etc.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor, but we always request that. We stayed right across the elevator on the 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocsmom0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

in general this place is ok as the price is quite reasonable based on the location. however this is the first time I travelled to LA and I immediately got bug bite in this motel. the bed sheet wasn't very clean and the closet feels smelly as well. unforturenately we left all clothes we bought in outlet in the closet and we found bugs when we tried on them back home. we spent whole weekend and try all we can to kill the bugs.

we wrote the Intercontinental group to raise this issue but the hotel insist their rooms are very clean after a "bug inspection" by outside company.

anyway, just a friendly remind to those who are going to stay in this place, be careful!

Room Tip: chekc out the holidayinn express in holywood
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric Yijia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Eric Yijia L,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. The hotel took your comments seriously and immediately contacted their pest control company to come and inspect the room. The results of the inspection showed no evidence of any insects.

Once again, I really appreciate you sharing your comments.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a newly remodeled hotel, which makes it look brand new on the inside. The furniture is modern and comfortable. Located a few blocks west of Downtown Los Angeles, and about a 5 minute drive to LA Live (Stables Center). On the other hand, the location is not so great, but if you don't mind taking a cab or driving this is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 32414Luis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed 1 night in this hotel and it was clean and the bed was comfortable. We arrived early morning and couldn't check in yet. The front desk staff left us go ahead and park the car so we spent the day in the fashion district. The ladies at the front desk were extremely accomodating and very friendly! The hotel was an excellent place to stay. The part of town it is in is not the best, but I would stay here again because it was a great place to shower and sleep. The breakfast was good and hot with a lot of different food options.
Great price, free parking, clean, comfortable, complimentary breakfast, A+ in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were in town for Opening Day at Dodger stadium and, since the tickets were on the pricier side, we did not want to break the bank on a hotel, too. The low rates, paired with free parking and complimentary breakfast in the morning made this Holiday Inn Express a great value.

The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. We felt very safe on the hotel grounds and in the parking area. We felt comfortable enough to walk through the surrounding neighborhood during the daytime--Langer's Deli (a must!) and MacArthur Park are very close--but I would not recommend doing the same after dark.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you need to get a passport quick, or other business at the Federal building, this hotel is a good fit. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidbuland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#174 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#154 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#162 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Address: 611 S Westlake Ave, Wilshire Blvd./6th St., Los Angeles, CA 90057-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Los Angeles
Ramada Los Angeles
Los Angeles Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing