We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX
Ranked #117 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Overnight Stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2008

My flight arrived into LAX late causing me to miss the last flight out to SFO. I called the La Quinta and got a good price for a room. I was pleasantly surprised at everything I encountered. The professionalism of the staff, the quick & free shuttle service and the modern immaculate room were all above par.

I have read other reviews about the breakfast, stating there was eggs and meat There was none of that when I was there. The breakfast consisted of waffles, toast, bagels, cereals, milk, juice, coffee and tea. Nothing special, but enough to get you going before heading off to LAX.

I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to friends as an excellent inexpensive layover at LAX

  • Liked — price, convenience, proximity to LAX, cleanliness
  • Disliked — The breakfast didn't quite live up to all the other standards
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank acsfoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    631
    358
    143
    91
See reviews for
441
408
168
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We spent our first night here as we arrived at LAX late and were taking an internal flight in the morning. There is a free shuttle bus to and from the airport every 15 minutes or so which was very handy.

The website boasts a 7.5 million dollar renovation but most of it seems to be on the surface and cosmetic and to be honest looks a bit slapdash. The bed was comfortable but our room overlooked a busy street and the traffic is noisy (not such a problem for us as we kept the aircon on and the hum drowned out most of the noise but it may be an issue if you’re a light sleeper). Looking at some of the other reviews, it may be best to ask for a room that doesn’t face onto the road.

The lobby area is very nice and there is complimentary breakfast – cereal, toast, fruit juice, apples, waffles and pastries. There is a small fitness room with four pieces of equipment and a pool (it has limited hours and was closed when we looked but it’s still a nice touch for a basic airport hotel – it’s likely to be noisy though as it faces the street).

On the whole, it’s a no-frills, clean and tidy hotel and we would have no reservation in staying there again for a layover, especially as the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Que
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

Rooms are small but cleanliness can make-up for this. I guess recession has affected the free breakfast. There are less choices from two months ago. The meat items were conspicuously absent. Overall I still find this hotel OK.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalayka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Rented a one bedroom suite... The bedroom was decent size. Clean room and bathrooms. Large livingroom with flat screen TV. The loveseat made into a bed.. Thought it was sorta funny though . The bed was very small. Just for one person. Smaller than a twin bed. They should have a full size sofa sleeper I think..The suite had 2 bathrooms. These was great for getting ready for an early morning flight. The check in was easy and fast. We left our vehicle parked in their covered parking during our trip. The charge was $15.00 per day. During your stay they charge you, I believe $12.00 per day. We left really early in the morning so we didn't eat their free breakfast. The shuttle was very fast. It is partnered with a couple other hotels. La Quinta is the last pick up, so that is good for getting to the airport fast. The driver was very helpful with luggage. When we returned from our trip just went to the hotel shuttle spot and we were picked up and dropped off at the La Quinta again. We did arrive around 11:00 P.M., so there was no parking attandant to pay. We had to pay at the front desk. That was alittle bit of a pain as there were alot of people checking in, which made the wait sorta long. I just wanted to get the car and get home. Overall we will stay again when we have an early morning flight. Great location by the airport.. PS.. I thought it was quiet too

  • Liked — Close to Airport with free shuttle drop off & pickup
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dodgergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

I stayed here for several days during a recent vacation in LA. For the price we paid through Priceline, I don't feel like my friend and I received a bad deal at all. The room was ready for us when we checked in around 3 or 4pm and everything in the room was clean. The room was a bit small and not particularly well-stocked but again, based on the price, it wasn't anything we couldn't overlook.

Pros:
Close to several fast food restaurants, which is nice when it is late and you are looking for cheap eats. Decent breakfast buffet from 6am to 9am each morning. Close to the 405 highway and to many of the rental car offices, gas stations and LAX. Rooms have a hair dryer, microwave and refrigerator. There is a gift shop on the property that sells snacks, drinks, medications, magazines, etc.

Cons:
The parking situation is a pain. It is $12 a day for guests but in order to get into and out of the lot, you have to use pain in the neck parking stubs. And there is a prominent sign that warns if you lose your parking stub, you are facing a $200+ fine. To me, that seems rather harsh and we had to spend our time in LA paranoid that we had possession of the parking stub all at times. To leave, you must stop at the desk and have the clerk validate your parking. When there is a long line, this is particularly maddening. One afternoon, we had to wait 30 minutes behind a huge church group of people who were checking into the hotel one at a time. One clerk was working with these people while the other clerk was talking on the phone. All this waiting to simply have a parking stub validated seemed rather needless.

There were times at night when noise became a major factor. Surprisingly, there wasn't much noise coming from the airplanes but there seemed to be quite a few guests making noise at all hours. A party of drunks knocked on our door at 2am each night that we were there and one night, we had to roll towels under the door to block out the smell of cigarette smoke and burnt food. These elements are not the fault of the hotel, but are things you should be aware of if you stay there. Bringing earplugs may not be a bad idea if you need a good night's sleep.

All things considered, if you are able to negotiate a good price to stay here and are seeing LA on a tight budget (as we were), this is a good place to add to your hotel list.

  • Liked — Good price
  • Disliked — Aggravating parking situation
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sc121980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

My husband's family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights this past weekend. The hotel decor is relatively modern and all three rooms occupied by us were clean and comfortable (parents had a suite, two children had double/king bed rooms). The suite which was on the airport side of the hotel had a great view of planes landing and taking off and was not at all noisy. However, the other two rooms overlooked the street, and even from the ninth floor, the street noise could be heard.

The hotel staff was friendly though not necessarily helpful. They refused to honor the price they quoted me by phone when I made the reservation several months earlier, and it took two requests (several hours apart) before I finally could have a crib delivered to our room for my infant daughter (crib was not one I would ever use of my own choosing either!). They also charged my in-laws $4 for a phone call to a pizza place right down the road (though they ultimately removed it).

The breakfast buffet was sub-par. Not even an extensive selection of fresh pastries was offered as at most budget hotels! In fact, we ended up going to McDonald's the second morning.

We have stayed the Hampton Inn right down the road on several prior visits so we obviously had that as our frame of reference when staying here. It just didn't match up! We may be willing to splurge the extra few bucks next time and head back to the Hampton.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank barbann78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Considering the rate we paid, and the accomodation we got, that was a fair deal. Breakfast is for free and above average. If you look for a great family friendly hotel near LAX, this one is surely a good one. Only minus: the pool, quite cold and noisy!

  • Liked — Rates
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Monaco_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
Holiday Inn Los Angeles International Airport
Westside
Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX
Address: 5249 W Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-5917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lax Hotel Los Angeles
La Quinta Inn And Suites Lax
La Quinta Los Angeles
Los Angeles La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing