We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Guest Spends 1000s. Management Expresses Gratitude by Asking for TA review.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Ranked #120 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Imagine, if you can, a hotel or motel where a man spends $4,000-$8,000 a year and is approached by management, not with a complimentary fine dinner, a lovely gift basket, a $200 gift certificate to Bloomingdales, but asked, if he would kindly leave a good Trip Advisor review.

That is what happened to my friend "Josh" who stays here on business at least one week every other month. The request is so lacking in basic courtesy, because it ASKS A GUEST TO PERFORM A SERVICE FOR MANGAGEMENT. I heard this story and had to leave this comment.

It is a small critique of this hotel's management, but it points out the very miserly cheapness and insensitivity that can mar the reputation of a service oriented establishment.

Be generous with your guests, and instead of asking them, on their own time, to write a nice review, do something nice and unexpectedly kind for your guest.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank ahurvitz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear ahurvitz2,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We hope this incident did not mar your overall impression of the Holiday Inn Express brand and that you can afford us an opportunity of making it right and welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 352 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed there for a long weekend and enjoyed my stay. Excellent location even if you don't have a car. Rooms are nice and the beds very comfortable. Good free breakfast. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoy our hotel and that our staff takes good care of you during your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

While the building may be a little tired, every effort has been made to create clean, comfortable, traveler-friendly rooms here. The staff is very accommodating: when I arrived early on a Sunday morning, way before check-in time, the front desk got a room cleaned in a quiet area of the hotel (the freeway side can be noisy). The full breakfast buffet was well-tended, and the coffee quite good. A flat-screen TV, smooth-running air-conditioner, and large work space with banquette made my stay enjoyable. Caution: the construction on the 405 freeway across the street (15 months behind schedule) make for serious traffic jams at certain times of the day.

Room Tip: See notes on room location and traffic issues above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaPimental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoy our hotel and that our staff takes good care of you during your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Now I only come to LA for business, but this hotel is where I stay every time! I love the little outdoor space for breakfast and their staff is always friendly. Another great plus is the location - you are right next to the 405 so you can get anywhere you need to go! The hotel is in a busy area, but parking is super easy and you can get into the lot from two different streets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadTownGirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoy our hotel and that our staff takes good care of you during your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel was good for our needs and we had a nice stay. It is noisy a little bit but it was in a good location for us, so we didn't mind too much. I guess we could have asked if they could give us another room but we didn't bother. Breakfast was good but they always ran out of cinnamon rolls, even if they had some, they cut it in halves to last longer. We stayed in a lot of Expresses during our trip and they always had enough of their signature cinnamon roll apart from this hotel. Another guest also had a problem with something else running out at breakfast but I can't remember what it was. Another nag was having to pay for parking. I understand they try to avoid non-residents parking there, which is great. The way to do it though is have meters and then validate every resident's ticket on check out. Every Wednesday evening they have a manager's party, they give residents sandwiches and other bits and bobs, which is a really nice touch we thought. And also there is free biscuits at reception. All in all we had a good stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 7Leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoy our hotel and that our staff takes good care of you during your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is clean and well maintained, with large rooms and comfortable beds - even a desk and a bench in our room. If you want glamor, there are places in the area that will sell you the bells and whistles -- charging you, at minimum, twice what you will pay here. This place is right off the freeway. The staff is professional. The side away from the freeway is quiet. And the free breakfast is well done with a variety of choices. The wi-fi was fast enough, and free. There was a small gym, also free, and free underground parking, but no restaurant. We did not spot a restaurant in walking distance, though we probably should have asked at the desk. I've given it three stars because that seems appropriate to a place like this, and want to be clear that they didn't fall short of any reasonable expectation for a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silkyapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoy our hotel and that our staff takes good care of you during your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and although it was just near the freeway so a bit noisy, the hotel provided a little pack of earplugs etc, to ease this. Hotel was perfect for our needs. Room was big and airey, breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Checkin was a breeze and we were recognised as members. There was a fab coffee station with free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies, and also subway rolls. Free internet was also provided. Staff were really friendly. Couldn't fault anything and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If necessary ask for the sleep pack. However, there was a note in the room which was at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiddyflower9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoy our hotel and that our staff takes good care of you during your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Best Western Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Westside
Century Park Hotel
Century Park Hotel
#113 of 355 in Los Angeles
491 reviews
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#82 of 355 in Los Angeles
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Hotel Angeleno
Hotel Angeleno
#48 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,815 reviews
Westside
Hilgard House Hotel
Hilgard House Hotel
#145 of 355 in Los Angeles
191 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles

Address: 11250 Santa Monica Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90025-3156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $181 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Westside of Los Angeles, our new Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles welcomes visitors with extraordinary hospitality. Whether you're visiting for a corporate meeting or a family vacation, you will enjoy a stylish lodging experience with all the comforts of the home or office. Our ideal location also offers easy freeway access to all points of interest in the Greater Los Angeles Metro area. The Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles is an exquisite, well-appointed hotel within easy reach of many extraordinary attractions. Enjoy the Third Street Promenade and Santa Monica Pier, Rodeo Drive shopping in Beverly Hills, and the treasures of the Getty Center Museum all just a few minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing