We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel for exploring LA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Ranked #103 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel for exploring LA”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My first impression of this hotel was that it was dated and that it was located in mixed neighborhood. Across the street is a Subway and other restaurants. The room size was moderate and it was quite clean and comfortable. Parking was reasonable at $10 per night and the underground parking spaces were quite large.

Pros: Very convenient location as it was right next to I-405. The location is convenient for visiting UCLA, Getty's Museum, and even Hollywood and Santa Monica. Breakfast was quite good with a good selection but not many healthy choices. Wifi was free, but the signal was quite weak. You have to pay if you want to borrow and ethernet cable.

Cons: Our first room smell of cigarette smoke, but the front desk folks gave us another room. Even though we were on the 4th floor, we could easily hear traffic noises. You may not like this hotel if you are a light sleeper. Santa Monica Blvd is a busy road, so sometimes it may take a while to get out of the hotel parking

Overall, I will stay here again if I want to visit LA. Not fancy but the location is very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from I-405 or Santa Monica Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleTravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for giving time and giving us your feed back. We are hoping to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    131
    63
    17
    16
See reviews for
110
54
23
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a one night stay due to a medical procedure up at UCLA. The location was very close to the UCLA campus. It was also conveniently close to the 405 fwy. We were greeted kindly by the front desk hotel manager on site, Jaime. He was very kind and accomodating to our needs and met our expectations for the type of room we needed. He also directed us to a few local places around the hotel area that are within walking distance. He answered all our questions in a very professional manner and was pleasant to deal with. Our room locaton was great and quiet. The rooms were clean and comfy. There was a wonderful complimentary hot breakfast area on a nice little patio close to our room. The stay was perfect for exactly what we needed. Thank you for the enjoyable stay. We will visit again should we stay in the West LA area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoy our hotel and that our staff takes good care of you during your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Traveled on business for one night - the room, staff, and breakfast were all great. Staff was very friendly in all aspects and the breakfast had plenty of variety.
This was my first time at a Holiday Inn Express and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Excellent location, right next to 405 with 7/11 right across the street. Nice rooms and apples waiting for you in the lobby. What was not so nice - hallways that look somewhat from Soviet era dormitories and apparently with open exits, in March it was terribly cold. As our room was hidden somewhere in the end of labyrinth-like hallway, got pretty chilly while trying to find it with several suitcases in hand. Also the breakfast somehow disappointed a bit the whole stay - very very basic and it was served in a tiny little "kitchen area" in an open patio surrounded by other hotel rooms, while the tables were placed in a tent. Squeezing among other guests and trying to catch the remaining muffins or figuring out how the pancake maker works, then looking for a free spot to sit down - almost impossible. All in all - more "Express" than "Holiday Inn" but good value for money.

Room Tip: The hallways are extremely cold if travelling in winter/early spring, choose a room closer to the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles and taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Receptionist, Sharon was friendly, courteous and helpful and informative.
The hotel is clean and neat. Bathroom is clean and spacious. The breakfast though is not very good. But overall I've not been disappointed yet to any Holiday Inn Express I've checked into. Always clean and neat and the staff have always been helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoy our hotel and that our staff takes good care of you during your stay with us.. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff is terrific! They ever fail to give us a warm and sincere greeting when we arrive and very appreciative that we have chosen to stay at their hotel.

Great location for West LA, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Westwood & LAX.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the I-405.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmacmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff. We would like to thank you for your business and hope you stay with us again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I liked this this HIE. It is centrally located yet not far from LAX for an early flight. It is right on the 405 which is undergoing major construction making it extra noisey like jackhammer noisey. I live on a highway and I'm used to the white noise of traffic and this made me more at "home". Standard HIE breakfast but the one standout at this location was excellant customer service. Everyone was friendly and bent over backwards to make sure you had all you needed to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHDiamond0849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neel n, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that we made you feel at home. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
Best Western Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Westside
Century Park Hotel
Century Park Hotel
#97 of 351 in Los Angeles
474 reviews
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#113 of 351 in Los Angeles
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Hilgard House Hotel
Hilgard House Hotel
#146 of 351 in Los Angeles
181 reviews
Westside
Plaza La Reina
Plaza La Reina
#98 of 351 in Los Angeles
23 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles

Property: Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Address: 11250 Santa Monica Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90025-3156
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Westside of Los Angeles, our new Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles welcomes visitors with extraordinary hospitality. Whether you're visiting for a corporate meeting or a family vacation, you will enjoy a stylish lodging experience with all the comforts of the home or office. Our ideal location also offers easy freeway access to all points of interest in the Greater Los Angeles Metro area. The Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles is an exquisite, well-appointed hotel within easy reach of many extraordinary attractions. Enjoy the Third Street Promenade and Santa Monica Pier, Rodeo Drive shopping in Beverly Hills, and the treasures of the Getty Center Museum all just a few minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing