We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location With Many Options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Ranked #99 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Ideal Location With Many Options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2007

As anyone visiting L.A. has discovered, hotel prices can be outrageous
to almost insane. That's especially true on the Westside. Having said that, there is one option that is actually a gem in the rough--Holiday
Inn Express West Los Angeles.

The West Los Angeles location is ideally located on Santa Monica Blvd and the infamous I-405 freeway. It's the perfect jump-off point if you
are planning on driving. There is abundant subtarranean parking below the hotel with the rooms located on floors two through four.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. It was just me and the size was perfect. Two people would do as well too. The room was standard equipped with a very comfortable queen size bed, a desk for work or surfing the Net, high-speed Internet connection, if you have your laptop with you, TV with cable, a coffee set-up to brew your own and a good size individual refrigerator. I asked for a non-smoking room.

The bathroom was a nicely designed, modern granite bathroom. It was nicer than some of the 'higher end' hotels I have ever been to.

The hotel serves a continental breakfast each morning from 6:30 to 9:30 AM. For a continental breakfast, they serve a surprisingly varied number of items. In addition to the standard juices, they have bagels with cream cheese, hot cinnamon rolls, muffins, fruit, make your own oatmeal, hardboiled eggs and coffee. Those are what I ate. There were other things but I never got around to a second helping!

The one downside....this intersention is notorious for traffic because
of people getting on the 405, getting off and through traffic going to
Century City, Westwood, UCLA or Beverly Hills. The building has clearly been soundproofed but you DO hear the traffic in your room during rush hour. It's not bad but if you were looking for a completely 'silent' room, this wouldn't be it.

There are several benefits to this location: This area has a wide array of restaurants all within walking distance or a short bus ride away. Around the corner and 4 blocks South on Sawtelle Blvd is an area littered with Japanese restaurants, stores and markets. It's sometimes affectionately known as "Little Tokyo West." There is a multitude of restaurants including ramen houses, sushi bars and Japanese fusion houses. Stand outs include: Manpuku (Japanese/Korean BBQ) and Chabuya (ramen). By no means are these the only standout places!

West L.A. is also littered with wonderful Persian restaurants. Westwood Blvd between Santa Monica and Wilshire Blvd is sometimes annointed "Little Persia" for its multitude of Persian restaurants, markets, book stores and other types of related entities. You don't need to speak Farsi to browse these stores. All people are heartily welcomed to walk around. Stand out restaurants include: Shahrzad Restaurant (Westwood Blvd near Ohio), Darya (Santa Monica Blvd near Bundy) and Javan (3 blocks West of hotel). There are many more.

Other locations for a multitude of restaurants include Westwood Village, Century City Shopping Center, Pico Blvd between Overland and Veteran, and Santa Monica Blvd West of the hotel are among the areas with large concentrations of restaurants.

The hotel location is also well suited for those that want to get out of their cars and take the bus. Parking is very expensive in L.A. and the notorious congestion goes without saying. There are several bus lines, however, that'll take you to a lot of the major destinations:

Santa Monica Big Blue Bus Line #1 East goes up Santa Monica Blvd and then takes you to Westwood Blvd, Westwood Village, UCLA-Armand Hammer Museum and UCLA.

Santa Monica Big Blue Bus Line #1 West goes down Santa Monica Blvd tp Downtown Santa Monica, Third Street Promenade, Santa Monica Beach/Pier and Venice Beach/Boardwalk.

MTA Metro Bus #4 East to Wilshire Blvd. Catch a connecting bus MTA Rapid #720 or MTA Metro Bus #20 up Wilshire to Fairfax Blvd. This is the start of Museum Row and the Peterson Automotive Museum, Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA), George C Page Museum/La Brea Tar Pits, Craft and Folk Art Museum.

So, in addition to being a very nice and comfortable hotel, the Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles is nicely situated at a crossroads of sorts to many of Los Angeles' most popular destinations. This review only covered a few of many throughout this region. It'll be enough to keep you busy for three or four days!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank fulgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    130
    63
    17
    16
See reviews for
110
54
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the road
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

This hotel was remarkably convenient. It's just off the 405, so getting there was a snap. UCLA is about 10-15 minutes away, depending on where you're going. (Driving, not walking.)

Despite being just off the freeway, noise was no problem. I think it's double-glazed, and the aircon covers the little sound that gets through.

I was pleasantly surprised by the room. It's a comfortable size, furnished with stylish modern built-in furniture, including a nice, functional desk. The beds were firm and comfortable. It was clean and well-maintained. The bathroom looked refurbished, with granite, tile, new shower-curtain, and Kohler fittings.

From a practical standpoint: There is no closet and nowhere to hang a suit. I used the second queen-size bed in my room to lay out all the clothes that I would have hung up. There are big drawers under the TV set, good for clothes that can be folded. Unfortunately, they have been installed such that they tend to open if they're loaded. And I had to unplug a light to use the plug-point near my bed.

Next time, I might bring a couple of hangers and some over-the door hooks. And maybe an ethernet cable, in case I get a room with bad wi-fi. And an extension cord.

They had ample free parking in an underground lot with secure elevator access. The lobby is spartan, but the reception was pleasant. They told me I might need an ethernet cable but they were all out. As it turned out, in my room near the elevator, the wi-fi worked fine. They had coffee in the room and the lobby and a convenient junk-food/ water/ soda machine on each floor.

I'd planned to stay at Hilgard House for this trip to UCLA, but they were sold out. They very kindly referred me to a few other hotels, including this one. I read the reviews, and found they were pretty favorable, so I booked it.

On the whole, I was happy with this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank 09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

We stayed here for a week, and have stayed at dozens of Holiday Inn Expresses around the country. Rooms are pretty clean, though the housekeeping staff can be a bit overzealous in trying to get into your room. The WiFi network is not great in all rooms, but works if you bring your laptop out into the courtyard (which can be noisy during breakfast). The front desk is probably the only complaint: they raised our rate from $129 to $159 when we tried to extend our stay. Only after talking with the Assistant GM where we able to keep our original rate.

  • Liked — Nice courtyard, clean rooms, good value
  • Disliked — Internet service, spotty front desk service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2007

It's right off the 405 freeway, so don't expect a fancy getaway retreat type hotel. However, you can expect extreme convienence if you don't mind the view.

From the outside, the hotel is nothing special. But I found the rooms well decorated, with a spacious bathroom and very comfy sheets.

A nice complimentary breakfast is provided (muffins, bagels, hot cinnamon rolls, fruit, cereal) and parking is free.

I was very happy with this hotel.

  • Liked — Convienence
  • Disliked — Not too impressive from the outside
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SandpaperTongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2007

This review has one purpose: To communicate that this hotel/motel is located immediately on the busiest intersection perhaps in all of LA, at the Santa Monica blvd. entrance to the 405 fwy. If you're not from the area, this is like having a motel above the entrance to the Holland Tunnel.

As I passed by this hotel, it appeared to be a very tall and thin building, constructed so that you would see the most of it from the fwy - and guess what, that their guests would get the most noise from the fwy.

I notice the picture above has the fwy airbrushed out. Seeing as how this is the busiest fwy in LA, now being widened to 10 lanes, I'm not sure this is a "small detail" that it is OK to not mention.

I have not stayed at this place - I wouldn't do it for $3000. I just imagine getting a room next to the fwy and horns waking me at 5:00 AM, or ealier, when I have a big presentation to give the next day. I also think of the many experiences I have in bad motels elsewhere: The A/C is too loud to sleep with, but when you open the window, some other noise makes it too loud to sleep that way.

If you want to stay there, ask them if they will guarantee a quiet room and A/C, and back the guarantee with promise of a cash refund. Maybe they have great soundproofing and super-quiet A/C - I don't know. It just seems to me, the idea of building a hotel next to, and I mean immediately next to, the busiest fwy and onramp anywhere is just so nakedly uncaring, even contemptuous of guests, it is just unimaginable to me. I have no idea what Holiday Inn was thinking, or how they can live with themselves pulling something like this.

If you do stay here, please please report back in detail on the noise. Are there good rooms and bad rooms do you think? Other travelers will definitely want to know!

-Bruce G.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2006

I have stayed at this property over 20 times for business reasons. Though it is not flashy the rooms are nice, recently upgraded and the rooms are clean. I would have given this a 4-5 star review if management had not unceremoniously yanked the hotel general manager - Rodney. As a 20-year traveler for business who has stayed at many a Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, etc, I was amazed at the level of attentiveness that Rodney showed on guests. After the first visit, he knew my name on site. I watched how he handled guest, made the hotel run smooth. Holiday Inn took over the hotel early in '06 from Best Western, and I suppose there was some mid-level corporate flak who decided he knew what was best - but boy did they blow it here. This hotel will never be the same. It's still cheap and loud but cozy, and now it lost its soul.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Skabooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#103 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Westside
Century Park Hotel
Century Park Hotel
#96 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century City
Courtyard Los Angeles Century City/Beverly Hills
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#86 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles

Property: Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Address: 11250 Santa Monica Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90025
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Westside of Los Angeles, our new Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles welcomes visitors with extraordinary hospitality. Whether you're visiting for a corporate meeting or a family vacation, you will enjoy a stylish lodging experience with all the comforts of the home or office. Our ideal location also offers easy freeway access to all points of interest in the Greater Los Angeles Metro area. The Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles is an exquisite, well-appointed hotel within easy reach of many extraordinary attractions. Enjoy the Third Street Promenade and Santa Monica Pier, Rodeo Drive shopping in Beverly Hills, and the treasures of the Getty Center Museum all just a few minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing