We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palace Westwood
Ranked #117 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 2, 2008

This is an excellent option to stay in Westwood area of Los Angeles, great location, nice and clean rooms, very comfortable, gentle staff, fair prices (the best!), internet free.

I was 9 days there and felt like home :)

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Newyorkerhapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 315 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2008

I booked this hotel for the night before my interview at UCLA. It's convenient to the UCLA Medical Center (just up the hill). I did not have a car, but from seeing the parking situation, only bring a compact car if you want to park.

I was "upgraded" to a suite. The kitchenette had a fridge but no dishes or utensils. The living area had a TV and couch. The internet access is not wireless, but they provided a cord if you did not bring one.

The bed was comfortable and clean (please see my other reviews for much worse places than this). The bathroom was clean. There was also a TV in the bedroom.

The front desk staff was helpful, especially when looking for local areas to eat within a walking distance. Check-in and check-out was quick.

The included continental breakfast was basic, but decent.

I would stay here again for business or the budget minded traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank alwaysbetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

Warning upfront: My rental car was broken into (window smashed) in the middle of the day while parked at the Royal Palace. Don't leave any valuables in the car while in LA-- they stole my GPS system. Police told me that that has been the #1 item stolen from cars. I think of Westwood as a safe city, but I was disappointed this time.

This is a basic hotel within walking distance of UCLA. Ralphs grocery store and Best Buy electronics are a block away. Peet's Coffee is down the street. In addition, the room rate for this caliber of hotel can't be beat.

Don't walk too fast through the hotel's front door. It is a sliding glass door and will not open all the way if you go too fast. The front desk staff are friendly, although a few odd personalities do exist. Everyone, however, was very professional.

I stayed in a suite, which was very nice as I had to stay for 10 days. The suite included a small balcony, which was surprisingly peaceful for LA. The hotel provides weak in-room coffee and basic hotel soaps and shampoos. The kitchen had a microwave and large fridge, but don't expect any other amenities. Bring your own silverware and plates if needed. The maids also sometimes forgot cups for coffee, but you can pick some up from the breakfast room. The bed/pillows are not the most comfortable, but are very clean and shets are changed everyday. Despite being what I consider an extended stay hotel, the room smelled very clean.

Breakfast is very basic: bagels, danishes, weak coffee, get there early for the muffins. The hotel leaves LA Times on the tables in the breakfast room.

Overall-- this is a basic hotel—but a great value and location. If you will be out and about for most of the day, and don’t have a car in LA, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Inexpensive, no hassle check-in, free parking (but I'm glad that I was driving a smaller car), clean well-appointed room with microwave and fridge, free continental breakfast, free internet, and very convenient to everything in Westwood and the UCLA campus. I find it hard to explain the mixed reviews of it that I read at this site. No, it's not exactly a beauty on the outside, but I got good value for my money and will stay here again (when the UCLA Guest House is fully booked; the Guesthouse will always be my first choice when visiting campus).

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blewis7407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

This location is GREAT!! Westwood is VERY safe and the area reminds me of the Village in NYC! Many, many restaurants and little eclectic shops abound. In addition, it is a 2 block walk to the UCLA campus. I would HIGHLY recommend this location, for the price it ain't the Beverly Hilton, but I feel the value far exceeds the price. Our room was very clean and modern, with a mini fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. The front desk staff are very friendly and accomodating and after a 4 days stay, felt like "family". I am writing this review because the hotel deserves it, but hestiated because I don't want this small, friendly property to always be full when I come back. I didn't give it 5 stars because it isn't the Ritz Carlton, but in bang for the buck, it deserves 10 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

THERE WAS NOTHING ROYAL ABOUT THE Royal Palace was a distgusting place with filth carpets.People were able to be heard through the walls.I had a pluged toilet at 7:00 pm and was given a plunger to fix myself becouse the maitence man was not working at that hour. I can not be paid to stay there again.
DO NOT LET THE NAME FULL YOU THERE IS NOTHING ROYAL OR PALACE LIKE IN THAT PLACE EXCEPT FOR THE NAME
Buisness travler and vacationers beware!
Jackie

Stayed: June 2006
6  Thank WORLWIDETRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

This is a bargain hotel, but it's a great bargain. Most of the rooms are light, airy and spacious. Many have balonies. All (or almost all) have mini fridge, microwave and coffee makers). The cleaning staff was friendly and first rate. The internet connection and parking are also free. After a few hellish nights in the Claremont hotel next door, this place was heaven. I'd happily stay here anytime I have to work at UCLA or the Getty Center. Great location in the heart of Westwood.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WaverlySharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Hilgard House Hotel
Hilgard House Hotel
#148 of 358 in Los Angeles
191 reviews
Westside
The Claremont Hotel Westwood
The Claremont Hotel Westwood
#242 of 358 in Los Angeles
71 reviews
Westside
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#84 of 358 in Los Angeles
373 reviews
Westside
Hotel Angeleno
Hotel Angeleno
#45 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,832 reviews
Westside
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
#106 of 358 in Los Angeles
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palace Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palace Westwood

Address: 1052 Tiverton Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024-3015
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $198 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Palace Westwood 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palace Westwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palace Westwood Hotel Los Angeles
Royal Palace Westwood Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing