We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good pick but bearable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Azul Inn West Los Angeles
Ranked #161 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a good pick but bearable!”
Reviewed April 4, 2008

The motel is directly on Santa Monica Blvd, which is good and bad. The walls are thin so you can hear all the traffic on the Blvd which continues until about midnight. We could also hear the doors downstairs opening and shutting. We had to turn on the fan to drown out the noise. What's good is that it is a 15 minute drive from Santa Monica Pier and 20-25 minutes from LA (around Mann's Chinese Theater) depending on traffic (rush hour could take twice as long). No bathtub, just a shower. No fast-food restaurants within walking distance. Pool was really tiny and not heated. Wouldn't recommend it for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    120
    55
    26
    24
See reviews for
64
73
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

The room carpet was very worn. The bathroom was dirty, with pieces of wall missing under the sink. The only advantage is the location, but even with that plus, I would never stay there again.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank tobysmom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

located near westwood - lots of good restaurants - this is a fine stop after a long intercontinental flight. Book a room fronting the backyard so there´s not much noise from the street.

some rooms have beds with plastic mats which make you sweat. we put them away

we´ve been to the travelodge twice and we will come back on our next trip to death valley.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank luicap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We booked this hotel since it was close to UCLA. When we arrived at 4 pm, we were given keys to go to the room. When we went to the room, it was not ready and maid was still cleaning it. We were asked to wait another 30 minutes. Finally when we got the room, the toilet was not working. I had to call at least 5 times for them to come and fix it. They kept coming and say it is done but it was not fixed. Finally manager came and he said it is fixed and it was not. Four of us had to use the office toilet until about 9 pm.

Never agian I will saty in this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Service.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We spent one night in a room with two beds. They were advertized as queens, but I would guess they were more like doubles. While the room & bathroom were small, I could see the management had done all they could to equip it with conveniences for the guest. There was a coffee maker, hair dryer, large television, laundry bag, shower head with massage options, etc. The carpet and linens were in good shape. The location was great and we didn't notice the noise from the street since we had our fan on in the room. We didn't use the pool or eat at the continental breakfast but both looked good. If you're looking for a place with a great location at an affordable price, I would recommend it.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — room was rather dark
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank julie93405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Definitely not a place I would recommend. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, which is truly fantastic, and the price is not bad, but the hotel sure is.

The first interaction with the front desk should have been warning enough, but even that could not prepare us for such a poor experience. We arrived at around 1pm and were told the room would not be ready for another hour. Having flown in from a 10 hour flight this was the last thing we needed, but when we went up to at least drop off our luggage we almost checked out then and there. The rooms are old, dirty and poorly kept. For the great location you pay the price of being right on Santa Monica, a major street with a ton of traffic so the rooms are very noisy.

If you must stay here be sure to ask for a room facing the back alley, let them know what time you will be arriving to ensure they’ll have a room ready, and let them know your room preference (we reserved on line and requested two beds, but were given a king size bed on arrival and had to pay extra for the room change). But really, there is no reason to stay here at all.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Check in
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank golden_planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

I live in Los Angeles and had to vacate my apartment for refurbishing. I certainly did not look forward to living in a motel for 2 weeks.

This is a GREAT locale because it is a quiet, safe, upper middle class neighborhood near UCLA and Santa Monica. It is situated between two 7-11's and a McDonald's is within walking distance. It is directly across from a Mormon Temple.
You can also easily walk to Westwood Boulevard, which has anything you want. Century City is up the road.

If you are coming from out of town and are on a budget, you might want to consider this motel. It's central location will allow you easy access to wherever you want to go, although it is NOT near the metro. There are buses running up and down Santa Monica Boulevard, however. I had zero problems with the parking, which is free.

The room I stayed in, #241, was a non smoking, queen bedded room. It was completely new. In fact, it had that new carpet smell. Everything, including the wallpaper and all the furnishings were in perfect condition.

It also has a small refrigerator with freezer tray and Free HBO and basic cable.

I did spot one roach, but that is to be expected in a motel. It didn't "freak" me out as I normally would be, primarily because the room could not have been any cleaner. The overall condition of the building was very good.

Not the Paris Ritz by any stretch of the imagination, but if you are new to the city and don't want to be looking over your shoulder every time you walk out the door, I recommend staying here. For the $75 a night I paid, I couldn't imagine a better bargain.

A nice touch was the free internet access in the lobby.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank LAlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Century Park Hotel
Century Park Hotel
#96 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#109 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
L.A. Sky Boutique Hotel
#191 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Westside
Hilgard House Hotel
Hilgard House Hotel
#142 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Westside
Best Western Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Inn West Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Inn West Los Angeles

Property: Azul Inn West Los Angeles
Address: 10740 Santa Monica Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90025-4719
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Azul Inn West Los Angeles 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE CHOICE FOR LOS ANGELES CA HOTELS... When visiting the greater Los Angeles area, whether you are on an overnight business trip or have a week to spend enjoying the sights of Southern California, you'll find the Azul Inn West Los Angeles a perfect home base. As a guest of the Azul Inn West Los Angeles you will awaken each morning to our complimentary extended continental breakfast. Convenient, comfortable and affordable accommodations make the Azul Inn West Los Angeles the ideal choice when visiting Los Angeles. Our hotel offers a small intimate inn with 56 rooms that are all non-smoking. All rooms have queen or king sized beds with pillowtop mattresses, flat panel TVs, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, over 50 cable channels in high definition, and complimentary high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Azul Inn West Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Hotel Los Angeles
Travelodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travelodge
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing