We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Ranked #79 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing staff”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good location in venice, nice room with kitchen and toilet and an absolutely fantastic staff who are really passionate about their guests. Absolutely perfect hotel or both couples, friends or families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We appreciate your kind words, Charlotte; we really do. We're so lucky to get to share the history of this hotel and the sights & sounds of our eclectic neighborhood with so many wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    156
    56
    24
    25
See reviews for
96
222
53
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We traveled to Santa Monica for combination of business and pleasure. This is a great, clean, super-located hotel/condo one block from the Venice beach. Quiet, comfortable bed, spacious with large front room and a kitchen with utensils. Previously we have stayed at The Viceroy (hip, but loud) and Shutters (comfortable but expensive). We thought our experience at The Venice Beach Suites and Hotel was much more fun and really like being a resident of a very cool neighborhood. Make sure to get the parking permit--you'll need it. Parking is about one block from the actual room, but it will make your stay much more convenient and pleasant if you have it. P.s. Don't miss walking up and down the Venice Beach walkway to see the freaks, restaurants and tourists joints. It's really entertaining.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRTS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
On behalf of the staff of our beach hotel, I think it's safe to say that we're glad you found us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Wanted somewhere on the seafront for 3 nights upon arriving to LA and this 100% fitted the bill. Right in the heart of venice beach. The hotel is clean and staff were extremely welcoming and helpful with checking in and advice. However, at £100 a night it has to be said you are definitely paying a premium for the location (to be expected, I suppose).

Be careful when parking as the hotel does not have any facilities. There are plenty of day time car parks happy to take $15+ off you for a few hours parking, however the hotel provided us with a useful google maps print off of nearby streets to park on. This was really useful but watch out for Monday and Tuesday bin collection/no parking signs. We got caught out with a $65 ticket for parking the car facing the 'wrong way' (not a thing in England) so watch out!

In terms of the Venice scene, yeah it's not the most conservative of places but thats the beauty of it. The broad walk has a great vibe with plenty going on in the day, however we were surprised at how quiet it became at night. As mentioned below there is a large homeless community but don't bother them and they won't bother you :). Also, Larry's around the corner was perfect for a burger and a beer and would definitely recommend taking a 10 min cycle to Santa Monica pier.

Room Tip: We could still see the sea from a room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onthematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
This is an important review; great insight if you're considering staying with us. Price, parking, vibe... "onthematt" covers it all. (By the way, I'm sorry to hear about the parking ticket!)

Like other properties on or around the Venice Beach Boardwalk, there is a price premium associated with our location. The majority of our rooms rent in the mid-to-high $100's which is on the low end for the greater Santa Monica/Venice/Marina del Rey area, especially considering we're both on the beach and near the airport.

And also like our fellow Boardwalk properties, our historic hotel does not have free, guaranteed on-site parking. We do work with the closest public parking lot ($15-20 per night for a pass) that is a few blocks away and is a viable alternative to residential street parking, unless you're a frequent visitor to Venice and know the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for two nights in April. The room was very nicely appointed, clean, and comfortable and the staff members were all incredibly friendly and helpful. The complaints that other people have made about the area are unwarranted. Yes, it is initially confronting, due to its bohemian character, and there are certainly a lot of interesting characters, but there is nothing the hotel can do about that, nor should they even try. Part of travelling is experiencing the unique cultures of new areas. The only issue we had in that regard was feeling quite uncomfortable when walking to Abbot Kinney Blvd. for dinner late on the first evening. Some advice about the nature of the area would have been good.

The only real problem with the hotel is that the walls are paper thin. We stayed in a room on the ground floor and were awoken on the first morning by loud conversations in the hallway that began at 6am and continued unabated thereafter. These included one of the staff members giving directions to other guests in the hallway. Noise is impossible to avoid, but I would recommend that the staff make an effort to inform other guests that people may be sleeping. If you are thinking of staying here, I would recommend a room on one of the upper levels.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
While I regret that your sleep was disrupted during your stay, I have to thank you for being open and honest about your experience to help other guests in learning about our hotel.

Our Queen Studio rooms are on the lower floors (1st & 2nd) and the first floor is high-traffic, so if you're a light sleeper, request the second floor. Or - and this is not an up-sell, but rather an attempt to accurately describe our property - our Partial View Queen Studios are on the upper floors (3rd & 4th) and are thus quieter.

That being said, I'm glad you enjoyed and appreciated our Bohemian neighborhood, Tom, sort of like our version of St, Kilda, right?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great little studio room right on Venice Beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was very comfortable. Look into the area of Venice Beach before travelling so you know what to expect. I was aware that there would be some colourful characters there, but I was still a little bit scared by Venice Beach haha! The accommodation was lovely but I don't think I would go back to the area. A good experience though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Would we recommend that you research Venice Beach (and our hotel) before making a reservation to stay the night? Yes! This is a historic property in a unique, Bohemian neighborhood that might not be the right fit for everyone... so if you have any questions, give us a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed three nights at the beginning of March. It was wonderful staying right on the boardwalk. It was relaxing and exciting at the same time. I can't imagine a better view or better location. The staff was helpful and exceptional and friendly. The next time we come to Los Angeles, we will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Wow! Thank you for your kind words, Patty! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a great time. Awesome location, great staff, cute and cozy rooms. Loved being right on the beach. Easy and enjoyable walk to Santa Monica or bike on the beach. Close to Abbott Kinney and good options for food and drink. I would recommend this spot!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RLDstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for staying at our boutique hotel in the heart of pedestrian and bicycle friendly Venice Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,281 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#52 of 351 in Los Angeles
530 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#240 of 351 in Los Angeles
655 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Property: Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#84 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned historic, boutique hotel has the BEST roof-top deck at a beach-front hotel in L.A. and the ONLY beach-front balconies on the Boardwalk. All 24 of our fully-furnished studios feature a queen bed, mini-kitchen, private bathroom & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing