We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Ranked #96 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2008

I've never written one of these before but felt compelled to after my stay here.

I have never made to feel so welcome and comfortable in a hotel before. The hotel is wonderfully located right on the beach with many cafes and shops close by. There is so much to do and see within minutes walk. The rooms are very homey with wood floors and brick walls, and also a small kitchen. What makes this hotel rate above others is the wonderful staff. They are certainly the most accomodating folks, nothing is too much bother for them.

I've read some of the drawbacks others had to say and there are valid points made. Venice is not for everyone, you'll need to open your mind to be fully rewarded with what it has to offer. As far as the hotel itself, it is an older building, the bathrooms are on the small side. I rented a car for just a couple of days and they do not have parking although this is really not a problem as there is plenty of street spaces close by. The hallways do look rather dreary and the towels and sheets could use an upgrade.

I will never forget the time I spent here and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pepperminttulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 522 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2008

I put my parents up here after having to move them from another hotel in the area. The hotel was very busy it being the middle of summer but the gentleman in the office (Tommy) went out of his way to take care of my parents spending a lot of time with them explaining the area, where to go, where not to go, how to get around. I travel quite a bit my self and was truly impressed by the level of quality service. He really made my parents feel comfortable away from home. They had a wonderful time and now can't wait to come back again.

Thank You

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kfed567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We went to this place due to the good reviews. Overall, the best part is the location if you want to be right in the middle of Venice, and they are friendly but it has problems. There is really no parking. The hallways and overall feel are that of a transient hotel. The room is clean and orderly. But it is very noisy due to the location, and the blinds really dont block out much light. This is a great place if you are young and dont sleep much. Honestly, not a bad place but not great for close to $200 per night, probably ok at half that price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimparklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Interesting place. We had a great room on the top floor, exposed brick walls, looking out over the beach. Complimentary bottle of wine is a nice touch. But couple of things you should be aware of:-you are right on the boardwalk and so there is a risk of external noise at night -we had loud drunken discussions outside the night we were there. In addition, if you arrive after 9pm, there are no staff on duty and the hotel is locked up -they will leave you a note and you have to call, get a code for the lockbox by the back door and then you can retrieve your key -not a big deal but if you arrive late, tired and jet lagged, it's another step to go through. If you are arriving by taxi, make sure you take the address and ideally driving instructions printed out from mapquest or similar -our driver had problems getting to the hotel and he had GPS! Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAJAToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

This eclectic little gem is the perfect place to stay if you like the Venice Beach ambience. When you step out the front door, you're on the Boardwalk, ten steps from the sand and right in the heart of all the fun. The rooms (ours included a kitchenette) are comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and incredibly helpful. Whether we needed a taxi, a restaurant recommendation, or a boogie board, they were delighted to make sure we were well taken care of. And all this at the best price we found anywhere in the area. It was a great experience on every level.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AtHomeInLittleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

fully recommend this hotel: nice rooms, friendly people, direct in the "venice-beach-live"; we stayed 3 nights and would definitly come again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erdbeerkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We (my husband and I and our 13 year old daughter) came to Venice Beach never having been before and immediately fell in love with the area as well as the hotel. The room was indeed small but having traveled in Europe, it wasn't anything we weren't used to. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Doors were looked at 9 PM and reopened at 9 AM so we felt very safe. Homeless folks in the area were harmless and never approached us. Plenty of inexpensive places to eat in the area and the kitchenette was a great thing to have. Free bottle of 2-buck Chuck in the room was a nice touch. Board walk and long walking path was perfect for an early morning jog. Will definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mmbb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#58 of 355 in Los Angeles
553 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
798 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#259 of 355 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,419 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3684
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#83 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $203 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned historic, boutique hotel has the BEST roof-top deck at a beach-front hotel in L.A. and the ONLY beach-front balconies on the Boardwalk. All 24 of our fully-furnished studios feature a queen bed, mini-kitchen, private bathroom & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing