We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love it!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Ranked #63 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Vallejo, California
1 review
“Love it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is my all time favorite hotel. I love the old time charm - like the elevator and the exposed bricks in some rooms. I especially love being able to walk out the front door and I'm right in the middle of the beachfront walk. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean and well maintained. We've even seen a few upgrades (shower stall, for one) since we've been going there. If you want to experience all that Venice Beach has to offer, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views. The rooms on the south also have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    153
    56
    23
    23
See reviews for
90
214
52
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good location on the beach front in the middle of a VERY lively places ,hotel had all you need even boogie boards & buckets & spades too! Also the staff were friendly & very helpful too ! Santa Monica is walking distance to bubba Gump is great on the pier if you like Prawns (shrimps!) too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. We didn't expect anything fancy as we had tried to find a cheap but clean hotel in the LA area, but we were pleasantly surprised! Our room was little but very clean and has everything we needed (bathroom, cooktop, microwave, coffee pot etc). All of the staff were incredibly helpful with anything we asked for. The hotel is situated right on Venice beach, which is an amazing place. It is full of colorful and eccentric folk, all of which you find as soon as you step out the door. Although the hotel is not directly in LA the bus stop just down the road is very convenient, and you can catch a bus from there to anywhere really, Hollywood, LA, Santa Monica. Just ask they hotel staff and they'll help you out! The only down side was that the TV was not working while we were there as they were upgrading something, but it wasn't a major problem as we were out most of the time anyway. Overall we were very happy with this hotel and loved the price!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fuzz_buzz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Firstly don't come here expecting some "Hotel Chain" type experience in a clinical location. It's a individual experience set in a bohemian neighbourhood. Come here expecting that and your going to have a great time.

My room 107 which was ground floor at the back of the hotel, was larger than I thought it was going to be. A decent shower room and a small but useful kitchenette with fridge, hob and microwave was also provided.

Memorial Day might have not been the best time for me to have visited as Venice Beach could not have been busier, in fact I'd go so far as to say I've never ever seen it so busy, but I can see through that and recognise what a nice hotel this is. If you want somewhere to stay right on the beach, this should be in your list of choices.

As some people have mentioned, are there some homeless people and drunks walking around outside in the neighbourhood? Yep they are, but you have to realise that this is Venice Beach. Memorial Day weekend was noisy here but I can well imagine that a "normal" day here would be fine, but still you have to realise and accept where you are.

One point of note, the staff could not have been more welcoming and are a major asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rinkydinkpinkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

First off, the staff have been wonderful and incredibly helpful. The room we stayed in (2nd floor by the back) was larger than we expected. The red brick gives it a real nice feel and the kitchenette is sufficient enough to cook small meals with. We didn't mind not having "a view", as we were out pretty much most of the day and evening. The TV was a little hard to figure out and didn't work half the time, and definitely should be installed by the ceiling. Makes it hard to keep glancing at the screen for a larger amount of time.
The suites are perfect for couples who want to explore the city by public transport. Definitely would recommend getting the Hop on Hop off Bus from Santa Monica, which will bring you all the way up to Beverly Hills and Hollywood. Another plus for those who don't have a car: the cab fare to and from LAX.
My only real concern were the homeless people out front (especially after 7pm) - felt a bit unsafe, but they do tend to keep to themselves and leave you alone. Wouldn't recommend for girls only trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Price: About $200 a night

Pros: Excellent staff, very helpful, friendly and accomodating. The location was fantastic, right on the beach, in about the middle of the boardwalk. Room was clean, and had adequate amenities.

Cons: Bed was pretty uncomfortable, didnt bother me but my husband had a sore back. The TVs were being upgraded and were unavailable during our stay.

Bottom Line: Recommended. Would definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 403 is the best in the place. Top floor, and central view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soakupthesun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Not an original quote but this place certainly is, quaint but classy and a fabulous location. The red brick walls in the suites feel like you are on. TV set, well equipped kitchenette and an incredible view across the beach. Neighbourhood full of character, and characters, not far to excellent restaurants and I feel safe here, will definitely return. The sign on the elevator reads 'I'm Betsy, over 100 years old so please be gentle with me', pretty much sums up the character of this place!

Room Tip: Side or front the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MicheleBunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#50 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#14 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#12 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#229 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Property: Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#84 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned historic, boutique hotel has the BEST roof-top deck at a beach-front hotel in L.A. and the ONLY beach-front balconies on the Boardwalk. All 24 of our fully-furnished studios feature a mini-kitchen, private bathroom & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing