We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff; some drawbacks.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Ranked #83 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location and staff; some drawbacks.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This property is convenient to the beach and within walking distance of bars, shops and restaurants, and the canals. We even walked the two miles each way to Santa Monica pier. That was the best part. The staff is extremely polite, helpful and friendly. They directed us to excellent local restaurants and it was nice to get free use of beach chairs so we didn't have to bring our own. They also have a keurig so you can get yummy coffee in the office from 9:00 to 9:00 when they are on-site. We were glad to have coffee maker and coffee in the room. And yes, there were a few downers. The advertised "unloading" zone really isn't one at all. It's actually a commercial alley really busy and narrow - beware the hotel has no driveway or roundabout - you are at the back steps of the hotel in a strictly signed "no-parking zone". Although the hotel advertises being a member of the local chamber of commerce, the local authorities apparently cut him no slack to allow his customers to check in and out. We had two people and he was adamant that one person stay with the vehicle at all times or we would risk being ticketed. Seriously it seems like no way to welcome tourists to me. The other person has to carry all the bags in to the room and/or the office if your room is not ready. Then you have to fight for street parking which is also limited particularly on Monday and Tuesday mornings where street cleaning is done - we arrived on Monday and didn't know this. It's best not to arrive before 1:00 p.m. because that's when the street cleaning is done and more parking opens up. Not knowing about any of this and arriving on a Monday it was very stressful. Took us nearly an hour to unload, check in and drive around to find a spot. They also advertise maid service as "available" on the website. Upon arrival we learned that this is an extra fee. It wasn't that big of a deal but we thought it was a bit unclear. We had to take our own trash out each day and gather up our towels and exchange at the office, sweep the sand up and make the bed. This hotel is not inexpensive so a bit more service in the room would have been nice. Then there is an envelope in the room implying guests should leave a tip. That's a bit over the top when I'm servicing my own room. That said, the hotel's common areas are constantly being cleaned and maintained. Also, we didn't mind that the hotel doesn't have air conditioning...but if you leave the windows open which feels great, the blinds make noise all night banging on the window frame. Hotel has charm, but also drawbacks. Also the bathroom window has no screen so if you open it for ventilation in there flies come in.

Room Tip: Glad I didn't pay extra for the straight on ocean view. We didn't spend much time in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for the detailed review of your experience!

I want to highlight two things here for prospective guests: 1) This property does not have an on-site parking lot; this reviewer is right about that. There are both paid lot & free street parking options locally. Call ahead for suggestions or, better yet, take a taxi from LAX if you can! ...and 2) We do not charge for daily housekeeping. It's available for each and every guest, each and every day; complimentary!

Thanks again for the helpful review and thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    157
    56
    24
    25
See reviews for
96
223
53
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

After staying in 5 star hotels such as the Roosevelt & the Standard in Hollywood during our LA trip I was concerned about staying in a small hotel at Venice Beach. What's a girl to expect?

No parking but the staff were very helpful.
Rooms were small but clean & it's by the beach!!! Plenty of awesome eatery around the area as well!

Would stay here again, definitely! Seriously, just keep calm & let the handsome Jasper check you in & give you plenty of tips about the area!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lelal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife booked this hotel for the labor day weekend. When I checked it on TripAdvisor I became concerned. But the bad reviews were tossed once I got there.

The hotel is very old but everything is clean and comfortable. The room we had was a bit on the small side, but hey, 100 years ago, that's the way hotels were. I could find nothing to complain about other than "if it were a brand new hotel I would do this". If you stay here knowing rooms will be smaller than the Ritz Carlton, you will have a great time.

My only complaint was the hotel had no ice machine. That may not have been needed 100 years ago but I think any traveler would expect to be able to get free ice from any place they stayed..

No pool, fitness center or complimentary breakfast but it was an enjoyable hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dadroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Perfection! Charming rooms with everything you need kitchens, exposed brick, the absolute best location and warm friendly staff. Never need to use the public restrooms or lug your beach/shopping bags around, your room is right on the beach in the heart of it all.
Walked straight out from our hotel to see dolphins playing in the surf...
Couldn't have been better!

Room Tip: We stayed in two of the rooms and they were both great! Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our room was quite big with a kitchen area. It wasn’t all shiny and new, but it definitely had charm. We didn’t have any trouble getting things to work, but the hotel info folder told you what to do in case of trouble with things like the shower or the TV. The staff was super friendly and gave us lots of tips about places to go and how to get there. Since the hotel is far from downtown LA, we had to rely on taxis to get around outside Venice and Santa Monica, and the staff was happy to order for us every time. If you’re going to the beach, the office has beach mats and boards you can borrow. The hotel is right at the Boardwalk, a lively place during the day but a bit dead after sunset. If you want to eat locally you should either go before the sun goes down or go a couple of streets up from the beach. There are lots of things to do nearby if you don't want to go to the beach. Venice Canals is a beautiful place, and Santa Monica is within walking distance. If you don't mind a walk before breakfast, I'd recommend trying the Terrace Café! We had a great stay at this hotel and would be happy to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arzignano, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived few days ago, and will stay for another 2 weeks.
Well, let's spend first few words on Venice Beach... a lot of fancy and funny people... If my collegues Italians would see, they would probably not stay 1 more night... BUT if you just understand the easyness of this place, you will love. Somebody ask for 50cent or talk you ? Just a good smile and walk away, nobody will follow you.
Said this, the hotel is right in front of the WALK (no cars running here), in front of the beach, side of many restaurants, in the heart of the Venice Beach Life. People of the management is kind, gentle and present quiet all day long. Parking is 2 blocks from here and free, not very confortable... but Gosh we're on the beachfront! There are no air conditioning, but you don't need it... the ocean breeze is doing well :)
We are 3, me, my wife and a 10 months old baby, we rented a ground floor studio for 130 bucks plus tax, we're staying well, and inspite what others say, the cleaness and the hotel quality is on the average (i don't say it's a 5 star hotel but even the price is not like that!).
For sure SantaMonica has better beach and better nightlife (here after 8.30 it's quiet a desert) they are 20 mins walking from here anyhow...
We're enjoying, and sure that for the price we paid, we cannot find anything similarhere in the front.
The pier at Santa Monica is a small Gardaland (Italian of my area knows).
Resuming, we are enjoying the stay ...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank enigm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you like Venice Beach, this is the place to stay! It is on the boardwalk in the middle of all the action. The staff were delightful - helpful with directions, bus schedules etc, and seemed generally happy to have you around. The room was super clean and bright. Our room was not huge, but it was the last one available so we took it and so happy we did. Next time we will book earlier.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room. I assume the upper floors had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,287 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#39 of 351 in Los Angeles
532 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#242 of 351 in Los Angeles
657 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Property: Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#84 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned historic, boutique hotel has the BEST roof-top deck at a beach-front hotel in L.A. and the ONLY beach-front balconies on the Boardwalk. All 24 of our fully-furnished studios feature a queen bed, mini-kitchen, private bathroom & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing