We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would rather sleep in the car”
Review of Motel 6 Van Nuys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Van Nuys
Ranked #276 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Motel 6, Van Nuys, CA
1. Creepy guy just outside office tried to sell us things he admittedly found in a dumpster. I actually reached for my pepper spray.
2. Toilet wouldn't flush unless we removed the tank lid and literally lifted the mechanism.
3. Refrigerator flooded us when we opened the door. We had to bail out water and clean it. When we plugged it in, it did work, but had no shelves. Reported to manager and was told nothing could be done about it now, but he "would leave a note for them in the morning."
4. Bits of debris all over carpet, definitely not vacuumed. Bath tub had an unsightly layer of water deposit and soap scum...last scrubbed when????


We have stayed at many Motel 6's, most of which were OK to excellent, but this was definitely the absolute worst. Upon leaving,we advised the day person about the toilet, etc. and he just said, "OK."
This was definitely the worst. We will never be back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KizzysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie L, Owner at Motel 6 Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry your experience with us did not meet your expectation. We are looking into the issues and are taking proper steps to ensure they are fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 46 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

The room was very stuffy and smelt like it had recently been fumigated. Decor was cheap and nasty. The room might have been clean but I didn't want to touch any of the surfaces. The number of security staff on site suggested that this is not a safe neighbourhood. This was one of the more expensive places and definitely the worst (by some margin) in seven weeks away.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GibletsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie L, Owner at Motel 6 Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectation. We try to ensure the best kept rooms we can and are working to maintain quality standards for our guests to experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This neighborhood isn't exactly charming. A lot of dumpy looking hotels and motels all up and down the street. But for $60-something a night, this hotel is perfectly fine for a cheap, short stay if you have to be in this part of town for whatever reason.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah5678_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After driving down from Las Vegas, I Stayed January 16th evening after picking my friend up from the airport. We were tired, and figured that since the parking spaces were like little garages, our bikes would be safe inside the van...

Nope.

Apparently their security cameras were 'not on', nor did the clerk hear anyone popping our hood, disconnecting the battery and running off with over $6,000 worth of our gear.

Lessons learned: don't leave stuff in cars anywhere, and never stay at Motel6 again. Oh yeah - I forgot about the cockroach on my pillow when I peeled back the covers... Damn! I'll never be so cheap again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TrevRevCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel states rooms have been refreshed but only the carpet and possibly the bedding was new. Walls were dirty with hand prints all over and holes. Holes in doors as well.
Bathroom ! The ceiling was caving in over the shower and the water from the upstairs shower was dripping heavily down on us in our shower.
We stayed because I was traveling with 3 teen ages girls and we came in very late. The hotel manager said he wasnt aware and only offered to comp us at HIS motel again. NO WAY !
Pillows were flat and the size of an airline pillow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nancy831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stay at the Van Nuys, Sepulveda Blvd Motel 6 from time to time because if I have a very late arrival into Van Nuys, and an early departure on the Fly Away all for work. It is always my very last choice. The rooms are filthy, the hotel clientele is bottom of the barrel.

So far I have had no security issues with parking inside the compound, so the place serves its purpose for a quick shower and a short sleep close to the Fly Away and the LA/Valley/Hollywood area hell-hole. The desk clerks however have always been very nice.

This motel is last choice - if you stay at Motel 6's go for Canoga Park or even Sylmar if you can.

Know before hand that it is a dump and that's what you are getting for $60/night plus or minus.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank turbine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We booked this place after a long and tiresome flight without checking the reviews first and regretted it the moment we stepped into the facility. The rooms where dirty, worn and reeked of sweat and cold ashes. The bed board was covered with greasy fingerprints, the chair's cushion had bloodstains on it and there where insect excrement on the window. I slept with my long pajamas on and a towel on the cushion as the bed was so dirty. It was very loud and noisy during the whole night (lots of loud voices and constant dripping sounds from the aircon), and we only caught 1-2 hours of sleep. Avoid that place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank meigetsu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
North San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
#156 of 354 in Los Angeles
189 reviews
North San Fernando Valley
No photo provided
Econo Lodge
#264 of 354 in Los Angeles
2 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#143 of 354 in Los Angeles
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Hollywood
Super 8 North Hollywood
Super 8 North Hollywood
#216 of 354 in Los Angeles
223 reviews
North Hollywood
Best Western Burbank Airport Inn
Best Western Burbank Airport Inn
#87 of 354 in Los Angeles
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Van Nuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Van Nuys

Address: 6909 Sepulveda Blvd, I-405 San Diego Fwy at Victory Blvd Exit, Los Angeles, CA 91405-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $105 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Van Nuys 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Motel 6 Van Nuys in Van Nuys, California. Motel 6 Van Nuys is situated in the heart of San Fernando Valley just minutes from Universal Studios, Six Flags Mountain, and many other local attractions and restaurants. This Motel 6 offers an outdoor pool and free WiFi in all guest rooms. Local Business / Attractions: Valley Presbyterian Hospital: 0.4 mi, Promenade Shopping Mall: 8.9 mi, NBC Studio Tours: 9.4 mi, Universal Studios Hollywood: 9.4 mi, Hollywood Bowl: 10.9 mi, Hollywood Walk of Fame: 11.8 mi, Los Angeles Zoo: 12.1 mi, UCLA: 15.5 mi, Los Angeles Convention Center: 18 mi, Six Flags - Magic Mountain: 18.6 mi, Airports: Van Nuys Airport: 1.8 mi, Burbank - Glendale - Pasadena Airport: 7.1 mi, Los Angeles - International Airport LAX: 19.5 mi, Camarillo Airport: 39 mi. Motel 6 Policies: Check-in age is 18 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Motel-6, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Van Nuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Van Nuys Hotel Los Angeles
Comfort Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing