We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why even have a business center??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Ranked #157 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed October 6, 2009

It seems that every one of these low end Holiday Inns that I frequent has a non working printer in the business center. Why bother? Really!!!! This hotel is in desperate need of it's makeover. I have quite enjoyed the "new look" HI but this one has not been renovated, and oh, did I mention that the printer in the business center did not work. Very annoying!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZSoonerOrLater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2009

Cheesy bedspread in room, tv not good-cuts out basic remote with no ‘last’ or ‘menu’ selection. Spacious room. Microwave and fridge in room. Dressers, table are fine. Light system is bad-lights are very bright and in between the beds so person in other bed couldn’t stay asleep once one light is turned on.Beds are clean and comfy, bathroom is fine and roomy. Cedar roof over pool. Jacuzzi was bad-no thrust in jets, just weak bubbles- worthless as therapy pool.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KOSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

I liked the Priority Club parking out front; hadn't seen that amenity before. Front staff was friendly and efficient. Lobby was clean and looked nice. Room looked nice. Bed and bath linens looked new and were quite comfy. Room was fairly quiet; was aware of the freeway traffic noise and the elevator, but neither were bothersome. Bathroom was kind of small, but was clean and otherwise adequate. Only 3 things wrong with the room: drapes had dirty fingerprints which were pretty gross, bottom of bathroom door was "chewed up" (water damage?), and shower drain was a bit slow. I left a note at the front desk about these things, so perhaps they will address them. The inside of the hotel looked recently painted. As for the breakfast in the morning, it was good, tasty, and free. The room itself was $129, which I felt was a bit overpriced. Overall, the place was just fine for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHillTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

This is a very clean hotel - nothing fancy true but to get a clean hotel, with friendly service and accommodating staff goes a long way in my book. We requested an early check-in and they easily accommodated -and were nice about it!
The breakfast is good, and the beds are Very comfortable.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank collegemom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

stayed one night here as a stopover - it does what it says on the tin - it is a HIE - so usual standards: nice room but not fancy, clean, OK pool, reasonable breakfast for little money

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mad_scotty_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

We recently stayed here to attend our son's college graduation from Cal State Northridge (CSUN). While the neighborhood was mostly industrial and in spots, run down, the hotel was clean and comfortable. The rooms had recently been renovated and they were in the process of updating the exterior with not only paint, but granite door frames, etc. The beds were comfortable and felt new as did the pillows. The hotel used bed covers rather than a traditional bedspread - a nice alternative to the germ infested coverings that I immediately remove as soon as i can. The only criticism was the smallish bathroom. But the staff was pleasant and helpful and the daily complimentary breakfast was yummy. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Patty39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

This Hotel was very nice. Great Location for people going to Magic Mountain or Universal Studios. The staff were very pleasant and prompt service. The rooms were great and so was the price. They offered a continental breakfast from 6:30 am - 9:00am. Were a family of 4 and we had two doubles beds which seemed more like queen size beds. I would stay here again.... And I would recommend this hotel .


Deborah
Southern California

dsphiggins@charger.net

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Airtel Plaza Hotel
#114 of 353 in Los Angeles
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North San Fernando Valley
Radisson Hotel Chatsworth
Radisson Hotel Chatsworth
#57 of 353 in Los Angeles
568 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#40 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
North Hollywood
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys

Address: 8244 Orion Ave, Los Angeles, CA 91406-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > North San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $164 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 7-storey Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys has 132 newly-renovated rooms with wonderful pillow top beds and granite bathrooms, it has spacious work area with personal voice mail service. The hotel offers a dedicated floor for smoking-rooms only. One of the best location in the Los Angeles area, off the 405 Fwy at Roscoe Blvd exit in Van Nuys, 20 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive and it s great shopping and restaurants, UCLA, Getty Museum, Hollywood for star-gazing, LAX, Burbank Airport and Van Nuys Airport. You will be greeted by our friendly staff in our granite and crystal chandelier lobby which offers complimentary 24 hours coffee. We offer a free business center, with internet connection, complimentary local calls, complimentary parking, complimentary full hot breakfast. Our Olympic sized outdoor heated pool is surrounded by a gated-garden. The exercise room is available 24-hours with state-of-the-art equipment. We offer pay-per-view movies, complimentary coffee maker with coffee and tea, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and hypo-allergenic rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Van Nuys
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing