We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Ranked #146 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Check in was easy and fast. Rooms are nice. We had a king suite.. not super big not to small. The bathroom is very small. Not a lot of room to move a round and get ready. Rooms are very clean and we did get a great night sleep. There was not a fridge in our room, but with a call downstairs, we had one within minuets. There is not a microwave in the rooms, which is odd of an express, but oh well.
All in all a nice place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahtots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
The staff and management would like to extend the appreciation of what was said regarding our hotel and staff. Thank you so very much for noticing the fast service and caring of our people. It was our pleasure to comply with your needs and request. We also would like to apologize for not having a microwave in the room, the only place we have it is in the breakfast bar.
When you happen to be in the area again, please do not hesitate to call us directly or email us for your next stay.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    73
    30
    17
    18
See reviews for
55
22
15
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

In town for few days and found this hotel very relaxing and very clean. Did like the closeness to the 405 and lots of places around for late night dinner if you like fast food. Did find a BBQ place few blocks away that was good as well. Arrival was quick and was greeted and welcomed as a IHG elite member. Room was very nice and clean and I enjoy having a sofa in the room to relax on after driving all day up and down the 405. Overall love my stay and everyone on the staff was very polite and friendly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdogishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We were all very glad to hear that the service provided was appreciated, again thank you so very much. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Conveniently located right off the I-405, but not close enough to hear highway noise. The room doors at this location don't seem to slam as they do at other locations.
A little pricey for what it is and where it is, but a decent night sleep shouldn't be a stretch for anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We appreciate your time filling a guest review for our property, and thank you for spreading the good news.
Hoping to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here Saturday night as we were in town for a family event. It was Labor Day weekend and we didn't book ahead online. Everything descent in San Fernando Valley was sold out. Luckily we were able to get the last of two rooms at this hotel. The price was higher than the previous times we have stayed her. Rooms have been remodeled since our last stay. We got room 300 which was a little larger than the other rooms we have stayed at before. Everything was clean, from the bed sheets to the carpet and bathroom. Breakfast was the usual. I guess not any worse than Mc.Donalds and probably better. My only complaint is that my daughter left her pillow in the room and I called Sunday to ask if they can put it aside for me and someone would go pick it up. The person who answered told me someone from lost and found would contact me. It is now Tuesday night and I am still waiting for the call. It is her favorite pillow and I doubt anyone would be interested in keeping it so I don't understand why they didn't return my call, unless they threw it. If it wasn't for that I'd give it a 5.

Room Tip: Corner rooms tend to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFU1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We would like to apologize for not getting back with you sooner, but rest assured once we see the lady in-charge of lost and found will definitely ask her to call you right away.

Please accept our sincere apology.

The whole staff and management appreciate your very kind and very warm review.

Hope we can be of service to you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great location, excellent staff and service, definitely will use this hotel again, recommended if you prefer a great vacation.
Thank you to all that made our stay memorable.
Breakfast was clean and the breakfast lady was always with a big smile.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It was a pleasure to be of a service to such a wonderful guest like you, and hope to see you again.

Thank you so much for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We love the accommodations and breakfast. It was so nice that they could give us kosher food. We also really like John, the owner of the hotel. The only problem we had was not being able to go swimming in the pool because it was out of order. Otherwise, it is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We all will wait for your come back. Greatly appreciate the good comments.

Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel twice within the last 60 days. After the first experience I thought they were just having a bad few days, until this time. The first visit was 4 days. This pre-paid stay by my business was 5 days. The staff's persona seemed to have a not to care attitude. Pillows terrible. Breakfast presentation was less than acceptable; ie, cold processed ham sandwich meat folded in half for the breakfast meat on multiple days, pancake machine didn't function properly, cereal labeled incorrectly, the layout/flow and presentation was unlike any other HIE I have stayed. Finally, the coffe in the urns was luke warm to cold on more than one occasion.

At $154 per night the price for the value was way overpriced. Only stayed the whole time because of prepayment and proximity to the business I was conducting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
The whole staff and management would like to extend our apologies for your inconvenience. We all are striving to deliver a great service that our guests would love us, unfortunately we missed on your expectations, and would like to be able to correct them by hoping to be able to be of a service to you the next time.

Thank you for your comments and appreciate your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
North San Fernando Valley
No photo provided
Econo Lodge
#258 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Airtel Plaza Hotel
#114 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North San Fernando Valley
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Northridge
Extended Stay America - Los Ange...
#210 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
#54 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys

Property: Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Address: 8244 Orion Ave, Los Angeles, CA 91406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > North San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 7-storey Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys has 132 newly-renovated rooms with wonderful pillow top beds and granite bathrooms, it has spacious work area with personal voice mail service. The hotel offers a dedicated floor for smoking-rooms only. One of the best location in the Los Angeles area, off the 405 Fwy at Roscoe Blvd exit in Van Nuys, 20 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive and it s great shopping and restaurants, UCLA, Getty Museum, Hollywood for star-gazing, LAX, Burbank Airport and Van Nuys Airport. You will be greeted by our friendly staff in our granite and crystal chandelier lobby which offers complimentary 24 hours coffee. We offer a free business center, with internet connection, complimentary local calls, complimentary parking, complimentary full hot breakfast. Our Olympic sized outdoor heated pool is surrounded by a gated-garden. The exercise room is available 24-hours with state-of-the-art equipment. We offer pay-per-view movies, complimentary coffee maker with coffee and tea, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and hypo-allergenic rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Van Nuys
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing