We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREEN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Ranked #148 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREEN”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Overall, my stay was more than satisfactory.

However, I am confused as to why you have a "green" policy as it wasn't followed during my stay. I not only hung up my used towels/bath mat, but I made my bed. I also left a note for housekeeping stating that I needed no change of towels or bedding during my 4 day stay (and stated the date I was checking out).

But they kept on changing/washing!?!?!?

I support your "green" policy ... let's use it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words and great review.

Appreciate your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    74
    30
    18
    18
See reviews for
57
22
15
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel was great to stay in, the area is not the greatest, but it is surrounded by car dealerships which is not that bad as others mentioned. The hotel just got remodeled and the rooms are nice! Check in was fast and Ali was very helpful! Was there for one night, but will definitely stay here again! The rooms are quiet and with clean sheets. This hotel is your best option compared to the other horrible hotels around! Parking and breakfast is free!

Room Tip: Request room away from the 405. Did not stay on the 405 side, but ill recommend you to
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for spreading the good news. We all greatly appreciate your kind respond, and hopefully you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel wasn't bad overall but there was a plastic sheet underneath the bottom sheet on the bed. Did they think I was a bed wetter? I've never been to a hotel that had a plastic sheet. It was uncomfortable to sleep on. A pretty dicey neighborhood, homeless people wandering around. But the hotel itself did seem safe. I picked it because it was close to where I was working but I'm not sure I'll stay there again. The staff was very nice, no complaints there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
The entire staff and management would like to extend our apologies if you thought that way. We didn't mean anything, those are brand new pillow-top bed. And we are all hoping that we would be given a chance to meet with you and stay with us again. Please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I was stuck in traffic and needed to get the heck out of it. And there it was, a holiday inn express. Great service at the desk. 5th floor room. Pretty sweet view. The room was big. But skinny. Restroom was a tad cramped. I can see why a lady would be a bit cramped doing make up and all. Overall. A good stay. Will be back my next time in.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinAgain10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
The whole staff and management were so happy to receive such wonderful respond from our guests especially the one you left for this property. Thank you very much, and hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, CA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Roscoe Blvd.ambience w/405 Freeway, helicopters(very brightly lit)-however this is prime location for tired travelers like me who need to return to work. rate 2X no-tell motels on the nearby strip, and it had nice elevator, quiet room, drapes insulate against noise, same as "nicer" downtown hotels. It is the "barrio", if you consider Galpin Ford, the offramp and Dennys a neighborhood...but where isn't, in LA?This pejorative is infuriating, as it spotlights a heritage that is irrelevant. If you cannot drive in, park, register and go to your room, stay out of the Valley.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away form the stret quieter but there is a freeway nearby, use insulating curtains. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugnurse56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
The hotel and staff appreciate your respond. Thank you and hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stay here several times each year for the past twenty five years years, always super clean and all the staff is GREAT ! This location is right off of the 405. at Roscoe blvd. the parking area is well lighted, never any problems leaving my vehicle unattended. When I have to travel to southern California for business, I choose the Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for noticing the cleanliness of the hotel.

Appreciate your great surveys/review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Walked in and took available room. Desk staff was pleasent and check in went smoothly. The room was large, clean and the bed comfortable. The remote for the TV was somewhat problematic and took several clicks for the receiver to respond.

The bathroom was very small. When using the sink my leg was braced against the commode. The bath/shower was quite large. The bath towels were like sandpaper, but clean.

At breakfast the decaf coffee which I drink black was so weak that I chose to eat elsewhere. The rest of the breakfast items were the standard of the HIE locations.

Room Tip: I have been to this HIE several times. It is dependable and in spite of a an industrial type area, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We would like to apologize for some inconvenience you've experience while staying at our hotel. And would like to extend our appreciation for sharing your review.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
North San Fernando Valley
No photo provided
Econo Lodge
#260 of 351 in Los Angeles
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North San Fernando Valley
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Northridge
Extended Stay America - Los Ange...
#212 of 351 in Los Angeles
86 reviews
Airtel Plaza Hotel
#114 of 351 in Los Angeles
514 reviews
North San Fernando Valley
Staybridge Suites Chatsworth
Staybridge Suites Chatsworth
#130 of 351 in Los Angeles
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys

Property: Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Address: 8244 Orion Ave, Los Angeles, CA 91406-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > North San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 7-storey Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys has 132 newly-renovated rooms with wonderful pillow top beds and granite bathrooms, it has spacious work area with personal voice mail service. The hotel offers a dedicated floor for smoking-rooms only. One of the best location in the Los Angeles area, off the 405 Fwy at Roscoe Blvd exit in Van Nuys, 20 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive and it s great shopping and restaurants, UCLA, Getty Museum, Hollywood for star-gazing, LAX, Burbank Airport and Van Nuys Airport. You will be greeted by our friendly staff in our granite and crystal chandelier lobby which offers complimentary 24 hours coffee. We offer a free business center, with internet connection, complimentary local calls, complimentary parking, complimentary full hot breakfast. Our Olympic sized outdoor heated pool is surrounded by a gated-garden. The exercise room is available 24-hours with state-of-the-art equipment. We offer pay-per-view movies, complimentary coffee maker with coffee and tea, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and hypo-allergenic rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Van Nuys
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing