We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Ranked #157 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stay here several times each year for the past twenty five years years, always super clean and all the staff is GREAT ! This location is right off of the 405. at Roscoe blvd. the parking area is well lighted, never any problems leaving my vehicle unattended. When I have to travel to southern California for business, I choose the Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for noticing the cleanliness of the hotel.

Appreciate your great surveys/review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 188 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Walked in and took available room. Desk staff was pleasent and check in went smoothly. The room was large, clean and the bed comfortable. The remote for the TV was somewhat problematic and took several clicks for the receiver to respond.

The bathroom was very small. When using the sink my leg was braced against the commode. The bath/shower was quite large. The bath towels were like sandpaper, but clean.

At breakfast the decaf coffee which I drink black was so weak that I chose to eat elsewhere. The rest of the breakfast items were the standard of the HIE locations.

Room Tip: I have been to this HIE several times. It is dependable and in spite of a an industrial type area, m...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We would like to apologize for some inconvenience you've experience while staying at our hotel. And would like to extend our appreciation for sharing your review.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has been renovated recently and was nice overall. I've stayed here many times in the past as it is very conveinently located to Anheuser-Busch brewery. The neighborhood is not the greatest and would not recommended walking around the area after dark. The rooms are very nice. The only real negative is how small the bathrooms are. I think they needed a shoehorn to insert the toilet between the counter and the bathtub.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing and appreciate your respond. We would love to accommodate you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The area around made me nervous & when I heard the gentleman at the front desk say they have 24 hour security I did wonder where. The gentleman that evening checking us in was super nice, greeted me properly & just had a wonderful smile. The view was that of an industrial area, the rooms were nice. Appears the halls were recently remodeled but the way it was done seemed of poor quality. The beds were COMFORTABLE. Bathrooms clean and with the exception of a light we said had a ghost everything worked. Breakfast while free was sadly cold. The coffee was also cold which was odd. Good selection just wish it was not ice cold. Front desk clerk when checking out & leaving was not very personable. Overall worked for a last minute decision and would stay at the location again if price was still good. Better than other known brands.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomofKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently stayed here for two nights while doing business in Encino. Although my room could have used updating (worn carpet), it was in reasonably good shape and clean. The front desk staff and breakfast room staff were very friendly. I accidentally left my watch in the room (an anniversary gift from my husband). I called soon after checking out of the hotel and they went immediately to the room to find it. They held if there for me in safe keeping for three days until Fedex could pick it up and return it to me. During the process I spoke to several people who were pleasant and reassuring. They were very trustworthy and honest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qzrx1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked a room at this hotel for my boss, and the location for the event ended up changing. I called the hotel 2 weeks prior to the date of the stay and I was informed that I cannot cancel the reservation as it was booked on a "book early and save" special. Granted I should have paid attention to the fine print, I did not as I've made this mistake before and other hotels will allow me to cancel the room without being penalize, but they value our business. After the hotel employee informed me I could not change it, I asked to speak to the manager. Eventually, I spoke to the general manager and she informed me that they would not cancel the reservation and I should have paid attention to the fine print. I was appalled by the way she spoke to me and I left her know that we (Kaiser Permanente) would not use their establishment ever again. She said "that's fine". I've worked in customer and I am floored a general manager would speak to customer in the fashion. I have let anyone who will listen to me know what happen to me, and ask them not to book at this establishment!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cocodior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was driving through Los Angeles heading to Oxnard, CA. I decided I was too tired to drive any further, so I got a room at this Holiday Inn Xpress. It was very comfortable and I had a great night's sleep. It might not have been the most "scenic" place in southern, CA. but honestly, all I was looking for was a comfortable bed and a nice hot shower. It was conveniently located just a couple of blocks off of the freeway that I needed to be on, and yet it was free from traffic noise. That was another plus! The only thing that I would say was missing was that I wasn't able to find a good restaurant nearby. I ended up going to a grocery store and buying some snacks and then went to bed early.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Airtel Plaza Hotel
#111 of 353 in Los Angeles
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Hollywood
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
North San Fernando Valley
No photo provided
Econo Lodge
#259 of 353 in Los Angeles
2 reviews
North San Fernando Valley
Staybridge Suites Chatsworth
Staybridge Suites Chatsworth
#128 of 353 in Los Angeles
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys

Address: 8244 Orion Ave, Los Angeles, CA 91406-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > North San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $165 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 7-storey Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys has 132 newly-renovated rooms with wonderful pillow top beds and granite bathrooms, it has spacious work area with personal voice mail service. The hotel offers a dedicated floor for smoking-rooms only. One of the best location in the Los Angeles area, off the 405 Fwy at Roscoe Blvd exit in Van Nuys, 20 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive and it s great shopping and restaurants, UCLA, Getty Museum, Hollywood for star-gazing, LAX, Burbank Airport and Van Nuys Airport. You will be greeted by our friendly staff in our granite and crystal chandelier lobby which offers complimentary 24 hours coffee. We offer a free business center, with internet connection, complimentary local calls, complimentary parking, complimentary full hot breakfast. Our Olympic sized outdoor heated pool is surrounded by a gated-garden. The exercise room is available 24-hours with state-of-the-art equipment. We offer pay-per-view movies, complimentary coffee maker with coffee and tea, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and hypo-allergenic rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Van Nuys
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing