We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations Complete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Ranked #159 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I've stayed here a dozen times before. They have just completed the renovations and the hotel is back to full working order. The last thing accomplished was the entrance ramp. They did a nice job. My wife accompanied me on this trip and she thought the hotel was clean and also like the renovations. Don't forget to try the cinnamon rolls and pancakes from breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dos7940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

The renovation of the front of the hotel wasn't much of an issue, and I didn't notice any issues inside. The front desk staff was helpful when I stopped by. One odd thing about the layout of the floors is that the elevators are on one end of the hotel, so it makes for a long walk if your room is at the opposite end (and if you take the stairs down, you can't get back into the lobby). My room was alright, but I was disappointed to find that it didn't come with a mini-fridge (that is available for an extra $5/night). There were also a number of spots that needed some TLC (the bathtub had some chips in the floor, and the mirror needed some touch-up paint in a number of spots). There was also a good size gap under the door to the room, but that was fixed with a towel. The A/C worked, but I found that it quickly got hot when the air wasn't on (during the night). The breakfast was okay, but apparently the buyer doesn't like Maple & Brown Sugar oatmeal or Strawberry yogurt, as there was neither. But my biggest disappointment was with the pool: it was very dirty (lots of "floaters" on the surface), and was in need of a good skimmer (or two). On a side note, there is a Taco Bell, a Burger King and a Denny's all next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DallasC644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Front desk and staff was outstanding. Hotel was under renovation at the time but it wasn't a bother. My room had new furniture and nice size flat screen t.v. The place was quite at night and the breakfast was better than i expected. The pool looked clean but i didn't get to go swim. I got a good workout in the gym though. I would recommend this place to friends mainly because the people that worked there seemed to care about how my stay was and always asked if everything was O.K., It was!

Room Tip: top floors are the best. looks like they were ready for v.i.p
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micheal f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I couldn't have a better stay than the one in this hotel. The employees were very nice and met all our wishes and expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaK7605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

The hotel staff and management appreciates the responds you've posted. Thank you..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I was a bit concerned after reading some reviews and of the location, but to my surprise, it was a great 2 night experience!!! I would definitely stay here again!! Parking is secured and easy-even reserved spots for Priority Club Members-never have seen this before. The hotel is almost done with a renovation and it is very nice! The hotel is definitely an older property, but again, it is up to par with the "new" holiday inn look after this renovation. The rooms are large (except for bathroom) and spacious and come with all the modern Holiday Inn (IHG) amentities. Very Very Clean hotel!!! Great AC, very comfy beds, and VERY VERY good strong water pressure. The staff is very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. From the service stand point, it is that of a four star hotel. Finally, the breakfast buffet is better than average-a full buffet. If you are in the Valley, this is the perfect place as it is in the center of it all. Save your time from searching and stay here, even though it is a bit more than other properties in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VPNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed here for one night for business I was doing just down the street. This place is definitely not as nice as the average Holiday Inn Express. The beds are comfortable but it's clear they did the minimum amount of renovations to stay competitive in the area. The rooms are kind of cramped and the walls were sort of dirty. Also, the west and northern exposures face the 405 freeway so auto noise can be heard if the room fan is off. The wifi worked good, breakfast was fine and I slept well which is all that matters. I also think it's important to remember that this place is significantly cheaper than nicer options in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbcoop2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear dbcoop2003,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the breakfast options. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We are very sorry the room accommodations fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27752807

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

will charge you FULL AMOUNT ($372.89) if you canceled your reservation or try to change. I had gone to the BBB of CA., NYS AG. They said, I will have to take them to court with my owen attorney.
THIS IS INTER CONTINENTAL HOTEL GROUP GREED !!!!!!!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank LLG259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

LLG259,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Airtel Plaza Hotel
#113 of 355 in Los Angeles
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#43 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,186 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys

Address: 8244 Orion Ave, Los Angeles, CA 91406-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > North San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $165 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 7-storey Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys has 132 newly-renovated rooms with wonderful pillow top beds and granite bathrooms, it has spacious work area with personal voice mail service. The hotel offers a dedicated floor for smoking-rooms only. One of the best location in the Los Angeles area, off the 405 Fwy at Roscoe Blvd exit in Van Nuys, 20 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive and it s great shopping and restaurants, UCLA, Getty Museum, Hollywood for star-gazing, LAX, Burbank Airport and Van Nuys Airport. You will be greeted by our friendly staff in our granite and crystal chandelier lobby which offers complimentary 24 hours coffee. We offer a free business center, with internet connection, complimentary local calls, complimentary parking, complimentary full hot breakfast. Our Olympic sized outdoor heated pool is surrounded by a gated-garden. The exercise room is available 24-hours with state-of-the-art equipment. We offer pay-per-view movies, complimentary coffee maker with coffee and tea, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and hypo-allergenic rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Van Nuys
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing