We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Many Hidden Costs”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Airtel Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airtel Plaza Hotel
Ranked #113 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too Many Hidden Costs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

As a business traveler, there were too many costs outside of the hotel rate. $10.00 per day for parking. They own their own parking lot. It is not shared. $5.00 minimum to use the business center. $50.00 hold for incidentals. On top of that, the so called "high speed internet" was extremely slow. The rooms and carpets needs to be refreshed to a more modern decor. TV in room is old and has only a few channels. Coffee they use in the rooms is generic and tasted nasty. When you get to the bottom of the cup, there is all kinds of sediment. The cheap coffee cups they use makes the coffee taste like paper. Don't expect anything extra from the General Manager. The staff at the front counter has to go through him for everything and the answer is always "no". I have stayed here a lot in the past 5 years and have seen this place get worse by the year. I stay here for the location and put up with everything for that reason. The restaurant and bar is excellent. Great service, friendly people and high quality food. A little pricy though. The staff at the from desk is extremely friendly and so are the drivers.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    135
    81
    44
    33
See reviews for
117
63
50
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

They're celebrating their 25th anniversary, but the place could pass for much older. Doesn't look well cared for and is located in a rough neighborhood. Consider your decision carefully if venturing out at night on foot. The restaurant staff seems to be aware that they have a captive audience. Desk clerks are all very nice, as are shuttle drivers. Computers in the business center can be accessed with your credit card. The workout room seems marginal--machines are creaky and most of the dumbells are missing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatmisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airtel_Plaza, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. It’s through honest guest feed back like this that we are able to correct unknown challenges that we may have, and work towards improving them for the future. Our only goal is to exceed our guest expectations and while certain things may be beyond the hotels ability to control, we can however, always make sure that the services we offer are always above average, and consistently address needs of our guest. I am happy to say that we are currently looking into remodeling our lobby, hallways, and fitness facility, and updating all of our exercise equipment as well.

Once again, please accept my deepest apologies for you’re disappointed with our facility, and I thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feed back.

If you should have any questions, request or suggestion, please feel free to contact me at (818) 263-8315, or email me at: JPease@Airtelplaza.com.

Sincerely

John Pease
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed for 5 1/2 days on a Road Scholar Rose Parade tour. It is a very fine hotel. Front Desk friendly, efficient, and helpful. Same for the restaurant and catering staff. We had 13 meals, all were good and menus varied. Terrific room in the tower, cleaned daily by a very conscientious maid. The room faced north overlooking the airport with the mountains in the distance. What a relaxing setting, no problem with aiport noise, quite the opposite. Everything was clean and worked. Unlike many hotels, especially older ones, there were multiple sockets to plug computers and cell phones into. Really enjoyable airport theme throughout. Terrific 747 model, read about its history, in the lobby. A warm friendly placed with a happy helpful staff

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-in-Monument
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airtel_Plaza, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our staff, and hotel during your stay. We always try to exceed our guest expectations and I’m glad that we were able to meet yours. I can assure you that we will continue to try and raise the bar, and think outside of the box.

Thank you once again for your comments, and please feel free to contact me directly at (818) 263-8315 or email me Jpease@Airtelplaza.com for any future stays, questions, or suggestions.

Warmest Regards,

John Pease
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

If you are coming to the Valley for a business trip or sight seeing, this is a great place to hang for a few days. The place has plenty of charm and historical tidbits throughout the lobby of hotel from the owner of the hotel who saved the originalhangar from the movie "Casablanca" to the 747 Pan Am hanging from the main lobby, which they also put a photo history on how it was transported, which answered my question when I saw the plane. When we walked in - my first impression was "wow, omg". Look for the snapshots of how they raised it up to the ceiling, the plane was in a movie too. It's an older hotel but a hidden gem in the middle of the Valley.We appreciated the free coffee they had in the lobby when we left at 5:30 am to fly home. For what its uniqueness and bargain, it was hard to beat. We glad we found this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtom1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airtel_Plaza, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write us and tell us about your experience here at our hotel. It was truly pleasure having you as our guest and I am pleased to know that our services either met with, or exceeded your expectations. I hope that you will continue to stay with us in the future, whenever you’re in the LA area.

Thank you once again for your kind words, and please feel free to contact me at (818) 263-8315 or email me Jpease@Airtelplaza.com for any future stays, questions, or suggestions.

Warmest Regards,

John Pease
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Positives: location, large well-laid out rooms, fitness room, maid service, balcony.
Negatives: very uncomfortable bed, strange odor in room, dinginess of room.

It just struck me as old. Carpet dirty, furniture and drapes heavily stained, bucket in hall to catch drip from moldy air vent. Graffiti in elevator. Management needs to spring for some refurbishments. Photos on website do not match outdated rooms, and rooms too pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmcneil127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airtel_Plaza, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am truly sorry for any inconvenience you experience during you stay here with us. All of the issues that you mentioned from the carpets to the elevator have been corrected, and repaired, and without your feed back they may have gone unnoticed a little longer, and for that we are grateful for your comments, and I would like to thank you once again for bringing this to our attention, and giving us the opportunity to address the issue, and correct the problem.

Once again, I am truly sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and if you should have any additional questions, request or suggestion, please feel free to contact me directly at (818) 263-8315, or email me at: JPease@Airtelplaza.com.

Sincerely
John Pease
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

I was doing business in the area and picked this hotel as I noticed they had a Free Shuttle Service from the Van Nuys AMTRAK Station, which was about 7 minutes from the hotel. Took train up from San Diego, so it was nice touch and their hotel was cheaper as I shopped around than the others nearby. The Subway sandwich around the corner from the hotel was real handy too, as I was able to grab my sandwich before I took the train back. The hotel was neat and clean, no complaints. The hotel staff was helpful in offering assistance to any little thing I needed. If the company sends me this way again, I will definitely come back to the Airtel to overnight.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

Honestly rooms are great clean and workers are nice...but doing online booking in cheaphotel.com or expedia.com maybe made the difference coz I booked online.
Negative comments:
:You have to pay extra for a request for a refrigerator if request for, refrigerator is an option not included with the deal.
: You have to pay $10 per day for a parking permit to get in the parking lot.
: Its an option and a different rate if you add breakfast. First time in my life a great hotel like this will pay for extra for a breakfast or not part of online booking.

I dont know why people who booked give a good rate for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetCND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airtel_Plaza, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback. It is true that depending on the type package you select, there may be additional cost associated with some amenities, like breakfast or refrigerators when you use a third party web sites like the ones you mentioned. The Hotel website also offers packages that include the amenities you mentioned at a reduced price as well, which allows you to make request, or changes as needed to insure all your needs are met at the time of check-in, and through out your stay.

I am truly sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your time here with us and if you should have any additional questions, request or suggestion, please feel free to contact me directly at (818) 263-8315, or email me at: JPease@Airtelplaza.com.

Sincerely
John Pease
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
#53 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#114 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#98 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
North San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
#147 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airtel Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airtel Plaza Hotel

Property: Airtel Plaza Hotel
Address: 7277 Valjean Ave, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406-3425
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Airtel Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the modern, hangar-inspired architecture to the 24-foot Pan Am 747 suspended in the lobby, everything about the Airtel Plaza Hotel feels fresh and exciting, perfectly capturing the "in the moment" spirit of visiting someplace new. Access is everything in Los Angeles, conveniently located next to Van Nuys Airport, there's only one hotel -the Airtel Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airtel Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airtel Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Airtel Plaza Los Angeles
Airtel Hotel Van Nuys
Airtel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing