We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasantly surprised!”
Review of Airtel Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airtel Plaza Hotel
Ranked #111 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked our room thru hotel.com. Needless to say we were very disappointed. Were do I start. The room wad old and not at all as described as the picture or the agent! There wasn't a microwave or a refrigerator! There were stains on the bedding, and carpet! The tv was an old school style that took forever to get the picture up. When we called down to the front desk for extra towels and toilet paper. It took 30- 35 minutes. Then a second a third call finally did the trick. By that time the staff was rude. The plumbing was terrible! The only positive thing about staying there was the swimming pool! We booked this room solely do to the ratings. 4.5. Clearly not!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkytwin1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Director of Rooms at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear, twinkytwin1970,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with Airtel Plaza Hotel Management. Without your valuble feedback, we cannot improve our operation for all of our Guests.
Your concerns have been addressed within the last few weeks; we have re-carpeted many of our rooms, added new lighting fixtures and enhanced our public spaces. We truly strive to ensure that all of our Guests, no matter what booking method is used, has the opportunity to experience our service and accommodations at its best.
We do hope you offer Airtel Hotel another opportunity in the future to the deliver the above and then some to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 558 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

The only problem I had was there was no refrigerator or microwave! I like to eat leftovers and there was no microwave to warm my items up. I had to go to a local convenient store. I also like to keep my drinks cold and I had to keep getting ice to keep them chilled. Overall the trip was Wonderful A+ Hospitality! I will return!

Room Tip: It is very quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamiga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Director of Rooms at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Tamiga P,
The Airtel Plaza Hotel Team is pleased we were able to deliver a “Wonderful A+” stay on your recent visit to our hotel. We truly strive to ensure that each one of Guests like you has all accommodations, service and dining expectations met and exceeded.
Please know that we do have refrigerators and microwaves available by request (a nominal fee may apply.) We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Adorable place. My husband and i were very please with this hotel. Perfect location..not to far from famous places. A hotel to enjoy some peace and quiet ambiance. It was very clean but don't have enough towels and linen to use. It was so great to meet front desk staff Gary and Gerry who welcomed us with huge smile and full of laughter. We will definitely stay here again! A++++ is our rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank December1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Director of Rooms at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear December1206,

The Airtel Plaza Team appreciates your valuable feedback and most importantly, we are happy to know that we met and exceeded your expectations during your most recent stay.
Airtel Plaza Management will be happy to share your positive feedback to those mentioned in your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Let me start by saying I have traveled to over 25 countries, stayed in 1 star hotels and stayed in glorious 6 star hotels, this hotel is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my entire life. Everything from service to cleanliness is absolutely horrific.
The hotel staff is the rudest I've ever encountered, from the front desk people to the managers on duty. I was there for business and was supposed to be there for 6 days, ended up leaving after 1. Lets get to the room part, it was extremely dirty, with stains, and cockroaches walking around (yes i saw 2 cockroaches one in bathroom, one under bed). I had an asthma attack after 2 hours I was there with how much dust was accumulated in the room. The next day after "room service" came to do our room, I went back in and it seemed more dirty then when i left it.
Last but not least, after I tried telling the manager on duty about the problems I was encountering he answered me extremely rude and arrogantly: "Thats weird, we have the best reviews on tripadvisor".
Absolutely unreal. Trust me and DO NOT stay here. I rather sleep in my car then there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lan-Donia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, David Gutierrez, Director of Rooms at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Lan-Donia,
Thank you for sharing your experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel; we are regretful that you experienced and highlighted the service shortfalls on your recent stay with our hotel.

We consistently strive and work hard to earn the chance to be your first choice in a Los Angeles hotel. We have already addressed the issues you experienced and will have them correct immediately. Should you wish to contact hotel management, you may reach David Gutierrez, Director of Rooms at ‘’david@airtelplaza.com.” Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Lot of problems with the hotel. Our room was dirty and run down, all the doors on the 3rd floor have water mark, seems there was a water leak long time back and they never cared to repaint. The bathroom was dirty and carpet was smelly. We booked through priceline and it seems they don't give updated rooms for booking done through Priceline, Expedia etc.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room, seems there is a very big difference between the updated ones and older rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PANDWalnutCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, David Gutierrez, Director of Rooms at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear PANDWalnutcreek
Thank you for sharing your experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel; we truly strive to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Priceline, Expedia and all third-party reservation centers are offered a base rate and choice of Traditional, or upgraded to Preferred (for a small fee.) We strive for cleanliness and service and regret we were unable to meet your expectations.
We do hope you offer Airtel Plaza Hotel a second chance on your return trip to Los Angeles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Booked our room thru expedia. When we arrived, the room that was given to us was next to the nearby airport. Right away we knew it was going to be very noisy. Since we had to wake up early for a flight out of LAX we went to the front desk and asked if we could change our room to the other side of the hotel that wouldn't be so noisy. Right away the manager of the hotel accomadated us and gave us a room, actually an upgrade, for the same price that we booked it.
Very nice room, quiet, clean, and comfortable. Had a drink in their lounge, dinner in their dining room and I must say, excellent service and great meal. I would deffinately stay here again. The service was exceptional.
This hotel is close to the Van Nuys flyaway terminal, great for us because this is what we use when we make our trips to Canada.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter. Too bad this hotel is right next to an airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, David Gutierrez, Director of Rooms at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear jmullins762
Thank you sharing your experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel; we are thrilled that met and delivered on your service and accommodation exceptions.
The Airtel Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of the San Fernando Valley and has established great customer base because of the proximity to Van Nuys Airport.
All “third party reservations” are treated with the same service level as a direct-hotel reservation would be; the exception is, direct reservations are eligible to earn points based on your stay as being a member of the “Captain’s Club.” We hope to see you on your next stay and book directly with Airtel Plaza Hotel reservations at (818) 997-7676 and we look forward to enrolling you in our “Captain’s Club” membership program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as the result of a Priceline deal. I was a bit unsure of the hotel given other reviews, but it turned out to be a great stay!

I had a traditional king room, in the main building, second floor. My room faced the walkway to the pool/jacuzzi area and was opposite the restaurant, The room was comfortable, though the bed was a bit low to the floor. I know the hotel is in process of upgrades, at least that is what I get from other reviews. I was in a room with one of the older type tvs, but it wasn;t a big issue, it's just a flat screen would have been nice.

The bath amenities were of a good quality, as well as the towels. I enjoyed the single cup coffee maker, though I wished I had remembered to ask for more creamer!

I was concerned about noise from the Van Nuys (VNY) airport, but it turned out to not be an issue at all. The grounds of the hotel are pleasant, especially the midway garden area between the main building and the Tower building.

I did not eat at the hotel, but did go to the bar about 8:30 (after the restaurant closed and got some decaf coffee. I have to admit, I was surprised by the price for a cup of coffee-over $3.00! A bit high, since I know I can get Starbucks same size for about $1.65.

I did not use the pool or spa, but it was well used by other guests when I was there.

I was aware of the $10 a night parking rate, and given hotels I have stayed in around LAX that charde more than twice that much, it wasn't a big issue. I felt my car was secure. .

As far as being a third party reservation, I don;t think that I was treated any differently than any other guest, I was actually given a choice of rooms, given my preference to be located away from the airport side of the hotel and a lower floor room. I eventually chose the second floor though..

I would most definitely welcome the opportunity to stay at the Airtel Plaza Hotel again!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the airport runways! Be prepared fro the $10 a night parking, so it won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmullins762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Director of Rooms at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear jmullins762,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and we look forward to seeing you again. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure that the areas of improvement you mentioned are reviewed.
We Thank You and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#138 of 355 in Los Angeles
313 reviews
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#64 of 355 in Los Angeles
693 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#43 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,196 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airtel Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airtel Plaza Hotel

Address: 7277 Valjean Ave, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406-3425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $129 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airtel Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the modern, hangar-inspired architecture to the 24-foot Pan Am 747 suspended in the lobby, everything about the Airtel Plaza Hotel feels fresh and exciting, perfectly capturing the "in the moment" spirit of visiting someplace new. Access is everything in Los Angeles, conveniently located next to Van Nuys Airport, there's only one hotel -the Airtel Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airtel Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airtel Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Airtel Plaza Los Angeles
Airtel Los Angeles
Airtel Hotel Van Nuys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing