We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airtel Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Airtel Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Airtel Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7277 Valjean Ave, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

5 stars for the staff! They are such dedicated,hardworking and generous people! Without them my rating would be a 3 for sure!

4 stars for the hotel itself. I stayed here for work, so I had a basic room on the first floor near parking lot. I didn't pay, so I can't complain, but I would not have been as impressed with my room if I paid. Not sure of its truth, but I heard they are in renovation stage? I saw pics of others rooms, much nicer than mine. BUT the silver lining for me is the staff! They REALLY took care of me like family. From bell man to front desk, their customer service blew other major "elite" hotels I've forked over fortunes for. They really try very hard to make you happy here at the Airtel. I didn't feel like a number, I felt like a guest.

At the end of the day, I had everything I really needed.

My ONLY gripe is my bed. I'm not sure if its just me, but I had a 5 day stay and I never got a goods night rest:( I just couldn't sleep well?

I hope to visit them again and get to sleep in another( renovated hopefully?) bed.

Room Tip: Be nice to the front desk, it goes a long way! Gary is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear SB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel. It is truly enjoyable to know that we have delivered the service that we work hard to provide.
Our entire Service Team, from our Guest Service Desk to Housekeeping and our Landings Restaurant work diligently to deliver a first class level of service and we are happy to hear we met your expectations.

We truly hope you return on your next visit to the San Fernando Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    125
    70
    37
    32
See reviews for
104
52
48
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The stay at your hotel was a very good experience. We enjoyed all the amenities and the staff there was very friendly and helpful. When we return to Van Nuys, the Airtel Hotel Plaza will be where we stay. I would recommend the Airtel to anyone who's travelling in that direction.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Ronald A,

Airtel Plaza Hotel is very pleased to know that we met your expectations and went above and beyond with the service we provided on your last visit. We are a very dedicated team and appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you on your next trip to the San Fernando Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a recent stay at this hotel and was very pleased. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The rooms are a bit outdated, by large and clean. I was most impressed with the bartender named Red in the hotel lounge. She was very friendly and made her guests feel welcome by asking your name and actually remembered it while serving you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Don A,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel. Your description of the service, accommodations and value is what we hope to deliver to our Guests.

We’ll be sure to pass on to our Team how pleased you were and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We ended up at this property because a pageant our daughter was competing in was held here. Our room was very out dated and unimpressive (room 173). The property looks to need an update in general and it took 4 calls to get extra towels. We ate at the hotel restaurant and the service was very poor and food quality for the price was disapointing as well and they only have 2 high chairs so we had to hold our 2 year old as we ate. After competing on Saturday our daughter wanted to go swimming so we changed and walked down to the pool and after 5 minutes ended up leaving. Pool was not heated nor clean. Was full of bugs and debris and no towels. It really seems to me that no one takes pride in this property and it shows. My recommendation would be to stay somewhere else if you have the option.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greggfi626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear greggfi,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel; your feedback is truly appreciated. WE currently have 42 Preferred Rooms that have been complete renovated. We are in the process of starting other renovations on 6 Terrace Suites. We hope you would visit us and give Airtel Plaza Hotel another opportunity in the near future.

Our service is unmatched in the San Fernando Valley. Our Team strives to ensure that each guest request and interaction is met with the highest of expectations. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations over your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Left late for a trip to the Bay Area when tired hit. We were diving on the 5 North and the GPS took us the long way around. Located by the Van Nuys airport, was not a short trip from any direction. That was the annoying part.

Older hotel but was quiet & allowed a nice nights sleep. Price wasn't bad, could've been a few dollars less just for the length of the drive so far from freeway.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Rico517,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel; we truly value your feedback and strive to ensure we meet and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel I did not have a rental car. I really needed to go to the nearest drug store, One of their staff member "Felipe" went out of his way to take me there and bring me back. His personality was great and extremely easy going. It may not sound like such a big deal but after flying all day I was just looking for someone to help me resolve my issues. Felipe did just that. Good job!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Steve R,
Thank you for sharing your experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel. Our Guest Service Agents truly strive to make each Guest’s experience something special and we are happy to hear we did just that.
We hope to see you on your next visit and look forward to offering our first class service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Airtel was selected solely on location (i.e., closest to where my husband needed to conduct some of his business), because seriously, when people travel to L.A., Van Nuys is most likely not on the itinerary. We drove up with some trepidation (surrounding area is very industrial) - but encountered a well maintained building with manicured grounds. Stepping inside was another revelation. The lobby area is huge, attractive and inviting - and very clean. The aviation photos / memorabilia / history are interesting and enjoyable. Desk staff were welcoming and efficient. So far, so good. We requested a renovated room and hoped that meant it would be up to date. Opened the door to our first floor room and were pleased with the decor, size, and cleanliness - definitely renovated. Bathroom had a walk-in shower with good water pressure. Ordered extra towels and then headed off to the Landings restaurant for lunch - it was quiet but service was good as was the food. (Towels were in our room when we returned from lunch.) Later that day we headed to the Clipper Club bar (as we would for 4 consecutive days!) to have a beverage, eat, and banter with the SUPERB bartending staff and other guests - all in a comfortable, well designed bar that has lovely ambient lighting (not harsh, bright lights). (There is also a relaxing patio area to eat/drink if you are so inclined, as well as a pool and inviting outside seating areas to enjoy the weather or read a book.) The Airtel obliterated any negative thoughts we had about staying in Van Nuys. Since you have to drive everywhere in L.A. anyway, why not stay in an affordable, clean, hotel with great service (it's right near the 405 so was easily accessible for our travels to other cities for business). Also, the Galleria in Sherman Oaks is a short drive, as is Ventura Avenue for shopping and restaurants.) If I lived in L.A., I would be a regular at the Clipper Club. Who needs overpriced, trendy bars when you can enjoy a top-notch drink at a decent price, served by the friendliest, most welcoming bartenders in L.A.? Can't believe the locals aren't fighting for a spot at the bar! Being right next to the Van Nuys airport was fine with us - we rather enjoyed hearing and seeing the aircraft. It's not as if jumbo jets are landing out there (btw - don't people travel with earplugs just in case they encounter noisy travelers or a busy area? We always have them with us but didn't use them at the Airtel). Paying $10 a day to park was not an issue for us. We were pleased to have off street parking with unlimited in-out privileges. We stay in a lot of hotels - the Airtel is not a 4-star hotel by industry standards, but it was 4-stars to us for comfort, décor, service, and friendliness. The Airtel turned out to be our oasis in the midst of Van Nuys.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear wisnat,

Thank you for sharing your wonder experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel. Your details of the service, quality of food and accommodations is what we strive to deliver with every one of our Guests.

Your valuable feedback propels us to offer the best value in the San Fernando Valley. Our service, accommodations and Landings Restaurant sets us apart from neighboring hotels.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we can be your first choice in accommodations on your next visit to Van Nuys, California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
#48 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
North San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
#156 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harbor
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Harbor
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airtel Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airtel Plaza Hotel

Property: Airtel Plaza Hotel
Address: 7277 Valjean Ave, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Airtel Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the modern, hangar-inspired architecture to the 24-foot Pan Am 747 suspended in the lobby, everything about the Airtel Plaza Hotel feels fresh and exciting, perfectly capturing the "in the moment" spirit of visiting someplace new. Access is everything in Los Angeles, conveniently located next to Van Nuys Airport, there's only one hotel -the Airtel Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Airtel Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airtel Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Airtel Plaza Los Angeles
Airtel Los Angeles
Airtel Hotel Van Nuys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing