We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff--Hotel with a lot of potential”
Review of Airtel Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airtel Plaza Hotel
Ranked #113 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Airtel borders the Van Nuys Airport so make sure you ask for a room that is not next to the runway. The hotel and conference center is a huge campus, with meandering hallways that never seem to end as you are trying to find your room. Wear comfortable shoes, as you will walk a long distance to get to your room from the parking lot. It's an old hotel and is in the process of being updated. The rooms and furnishings are older and definitely nothing special. But it was clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable and the shampoo, etc. was good quality. The housekeeping staff left plenty of towels and cleaned our room beautifully each day. Every single employee we met--from the receptionists to the restaurant servers, to the housekeepers--were extremely friendly and accommodating. We asked for extra pillows and hanger and had them within 5 minutes.

The restaurant and "cafe" are good (although the breakfast buffet was just mediocre), although the very large restaurant was usually empty, so I wondered how many people eat there.

It has a lovely pool and hot tub.

I would stay here again if we could get it cheaply through Priceline.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the north end next to the airport runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dramagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Dramagurl:

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience to Airtel Plaza Hotel; we truly value and appreciate your feedback.

We wholeheartedly apologize for not meeting and exceeding your expectations; our location is distinct and unique and often times the primarily reason for staying so conveniently located to Van Nuys Airport.

We hope that on your next stay in Van Nuys, you choose to stay with us again and we’ll show you a more comfortable side to our accommodations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 544 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay. It was right next to the Van Nuys airport. That was kind of miserable in the mornings but I did not notice it after my second day. A nice, cute hotel to stay if you are looking for something off of the 405.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethmahoney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear bethmahoney2013,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel regarding your recent stay. We strive to ensure that each of our guest’s expectations is completely met.
We hope to see you on your return visit to Van Nuys and look forward to exceeding your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was my first time to visit Airtel Plaza Hotel with my family to attend a function, we stayed there over night cuz where from Morgan Hill. I find the room spacious and clean, staff were very friendly. I was extremely impressed with everything most specially with the courteous and very polite Manager by the name of Gerry, he made us feel special with his warm welcome. im pretty sure that will come back and stay in this hotel again. Well done with all the staff your management team should be proud of you. Thank you for making us feel at home. Ms. Babes Perello

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank December1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hello December1206

Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience on your recent stay to Airtel Plaza Hotel.

Our entire Team is delighted to know we provided you with all that we strive for. Our accommodations are ‘’ above all’’ in the San Fernando Valley and we work hard to make sure guests like yourself are always taken care of.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to our next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great customer service and an excellent place to stay. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Enjoyed the walk in shower. Employees went above and beyond to ensure we had all our needs meet. Employee, Edwin, was thoughtful and participated in conversation every morning at a very early hour. Also the guys in the evening recommended the "Taco" truck one block away.

Restaurant breakfast bar was great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hello David E.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful recent experience about stay at Airtel Plaza Hotel.
We strive to ensure each gets has a personalized experience along with clean and comfortable accommodations.

Your experiences highlight our handwork to ensure all of our guest’s experience Airtel Plaza Hotel at its best; from our acclaimed chef at “Landings Restaurant” to our beautifully appointed Preferred Rooms.

We hope to see you soon and thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was at the Hotel for an event and I just wanted to write a review about what a great staff they have at this hotel. To me that's what makes a stay worthwhile and worth returning to - the service. They were friendly - so much so I was caught off guard - since this isn't the norm when traveling. They were alo very helpful from the girl who worked the coffee shop to Gary & Philippe who worked the front desk.

Looking forward going back again. I did not eat there but will next time as the food in their restaurant looked good.

Room Tip: I did not stay there as I was only there for an event hosted at the hotel - but I'm sure there n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hello Chris G

Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel regarding your recent meeting held at our hotel.

We strive to ensure our Team Members are engaging, helpful and above all friendly and accommodating to all hotel guests and anyone attending a meeting or conference here.

I will be sure to share your satisfaction with the Team Members you mentioned. Thank you again for sharing your positive encounters with our Team Members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel, but it is all the basics you need. The hotel is very large. It seems to cater to tour groups and to the airport next door.
The restaurant is ok. Service in the restaurant is casual, sparse and slow so don't be afraid to call for assistance. It is definitely below average for the USA.
Front desk staff are ok and they do offer a great free shuttle service for the surrounding area which is great if you do business nearby.
Rooms are large and have what you need, but they look unchanged from when the hotel was established in 1980's for the Olympics.
I wouldn't stay here with the family, but its fine for transit and business.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hello djfowler,

Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience with Airtel Plaza Hotel regarding you recent stay.

We truly value your business and patronage and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We strive to ensure each of our guest’s has a pleasant experience.
We hope on your next visit, you’ll get to experience one of our newly renovated Preferred Rooms which have an upgraded amenity package. Our Preferred Rooms can be viewed on our newly launched website: www.airtelplaza.com/accomadition
Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

After driving in L A traffic all day and passing through some areas that looked as if they had seen better days I was prepared for a big disappointment in lodging. I was attending a small conference and that usually meant keeping expenses to a minimum. When I drove up to the front I was pleasantly surprised by the overall hotel and grounds. The lobby was large and quite appealing. As it is near an airport the overall theme was aviation. Quite clever references through out the hotel. The front desk staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I was given a large room with every thing you would expect in today's better than average hotel. I had only been in my room about fifteen minutes when the manager who had checked me in called up to see if everything was satisfactory with my room. I was impressed.

Room Tip: My room was a king, on the second floor, western facing. I actually looked out at a wall but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Dunn_1, Guest Relations Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Gayle B.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with Airtel Plaza Hotel. The Airtel Plaza Hotel Team strives to make each guest stay a personalized experience with our spacious guest rooms and an exceptional dining menu.

We look forward to your next stay and thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#123 of 354 in Los Angeles
303 reviews
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#69 of 354 in Los Angeles
648 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#55 of 354 in Los Angeles
3,505 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airtel Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airtel Plaza Hotel

Address: 7277 Valjean Ave, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406-3425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $130 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airtel Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the modern, hangar-inspired architecture to the 24-foot Pan Am 747 suspended in the lobby, everything about the Airtel Plaza Hotel feels fresh and exciting, perfectly capturing the "in the moment" spirit of visiting someplace new. Access is everything in Los Angeles, conveniently located next to Van Nuys Airport, there's only one hotel -the Airtel Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Airtel Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airtel Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Airtel Plaza Los Angeles
Airtel Los Angeles
Airtel Hotel Van Nuys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing