We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love to find these clean nice little hotels”
Review of Tarzana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tarzana Inn
Ranked #118 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2011

check in was easy, clerk was very nice. didnt really care for parking behind hotel, but was ok. hotel grounds appear to be well kept. room was more than expected, shower is dated but clean. remote on tv didn't work real well. will stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wicklesscandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 171 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

I chose the hotel based on location and TripAdvisor reviews. The room had a pleasant decor and was perfectly clean. The shower was exceptional. Reception staff was pleasant and efficient. What's not to like? It doesn't have an elevator to the second floor but that didn't matter to me. They gave me a choice of floors when I checked in.

Room Tip: Avoid second floor if you need an elevator. Otherwise both floors are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank California9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel, for both its appearance, staff, features, and rates. The property, including the pool and area, were spotless, very clean, and had great tiles for flooriing and sidewalk areas. There was NO peeling paint, and the beds were sooooo comfortable. They were plush, the bedding was very clean and fine-lined, and each bed had 5 pillows!!. The breakfast was more than sufficient to hold one over to lunchtime, the rooms featured refrigerators, and we even were able to 'rent' a microwave from the office for just $5/day. (we had microwave popcorn we enjoyed at night.) :-)
The hotel is in walking distance of lots of shopping areas, and many different types of restaurants. (We HIGHLY recommend the Sam's Philly Steak Depot nearby. Look up the address. It was plentiful, delicious, and very reasonably priced. The restaurant was very clean and decorated in the old-diner style.)
This hotel is in a very safe area, too. If you are visiting the Greater Los Angeles area for any type event or trip, it is well worth your time and money to stay here. We are definitely going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room, near to the Breakfast area, and on the same level of the pool. It's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

the room I was given was by the parking lot and was in poor condition. The wallpaper was peeling and the ir conditioner did not work at all. The shower was very old too. I would never stay here again. Also the beds were old and soft.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I picked this hotel on a recommendation, and I'm sure glad I did! Walking distance from a shopping center with some quick and easy restaurants and very safe area. The courtyard was very pretty and pleasant. It was a comfortable and nice room. The breakfast was also good and very convenient. It's on the outskirts of the "Los Angeles" area (in San Fernando Valley) so it's less expensive, less noisy, and safer. I was very pleased with this hotel and I would definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adinarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed 3 nights July 5th through the 8th. Check in was smooth & quick,with requested quiet location provided, room had mini fridge I never used, king sized bed nice & firm with plenty of extra pillows. It was in the 90's during the day so I had to have the air conditioner on full blast at all times. It's dated & noisy but was able to sleep well all 3 nights. Cable TV provided but picture quality bad on dated picture tube (I'm used to HDTV!) Basic continental breakfast consists of plain bagels or toast with cream cheese & jam. Orange juice & coffee with pastries also provided. Shopping & restaurants close by including ROSS just across the street. Rate of $80 per night through Booking.com including all taxes very reasonable for the area. Only complaint was a few tine ants in the bathroom & the towels were on the thin size & no free internet service in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Nothing fancy but quiet neighborhood and excellent parking, as far as commuting to donwntown you need a car anywhere in CA. Overall pleasant experience

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank textiletyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#41 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,196 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#147 of 355 in Los Angeles
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Regency Inn Los Angeles
#93 of 355 in Los Angeles
181 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarzana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarzana Inn

Address: 19170 Ventura Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91356-3111 (Formerly Days Inn Tarzana)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $110 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tarzana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Tarzana, along iconic Ventura Boulevard just off the 101 freeway, our hotel is conveniently situated near several famous Southern California attractions including Universal Studios and the Los Angeles Zoo. We are near the Warner Center Business Park and many other Woodland Hills or Calabasas headquartered companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Tarzana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarzana Hotel Los Angeles
Tarzana Motel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing