We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Business Travel o Family with easy access to the Fwy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks
Ranked #74 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simple Business Travel o Family with easy access to the Fwy”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This place is confortable, clean with easy access to major fwys and only 15 minutes from Univesal Studios. Walking distance to restaurants and movies. IF you are a family or a business traveller this place will do the trick.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCaliAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    138
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
100
52
11
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel between Christmas and New Year's, and I found the stay to be completely satisfactory.

My brother and I arrived about 2 a.m. after long flights from the midwest and a long ride in a thunderstorm from the Ontario CA airport. We were exhausted, and very chagrined to find that our sister had reserved only one room for four of us, expecting my brother and me to share a room with two other siblings, two to each bed. We went back to the desk, booked another room, and bought some food. We were stupid with fatigue and a little grumpy, but the staff made everything better, going out of their way to get us a room and meal as quickly as possible. They were utterly kind and gracious.

The room was nicely decorated, quite spacious, clean and comfortable. Good furnishings. The lobby was not huge but I enjoyed the contemporary decor very much -- very well done. The room rate was quite low due to a "lull" between December 25 and 30, so it was an excellent value.

We picked the hotel based on its location near Encino, where we were visiting family. The hotel is on Ventura Blvd, close to freeway exits/entrances (405 and 101), which made it easy to travel around. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Best 3.5 star hotel on Ventura Blvd in Sherman Oaks/Encino. Located off the 405 fwy at the Ventura Fwy this hotel offers a very comfortable stay for the business or casual traveler or someone wanting to stay on Ventura Blvd in "the Valley". The rooms are clean and the well appointed. Big screen TV but it needs TIVO, coffee maker that should have instant coffee VIA instant instead of cheap coffee drip maker and paper cups. The rooms are not energy efficient.. they should make it so that you have to use your room card to activate lights and have to take the card out when you leave room.. which then turns off the lights....the fridge overheats under the counter so make sure you crank it to high if you want your beer cold.

The gym is nice with a large TV and also individual TV on all machines. There is a large sun splashed deck and pool with a view south of Encino hills and the 405 Fwy. There is secure parking in the building and in/out access. The house staff is very nice,multi-lingual and the great service has the Marriott courtyard touch. The lobby is elegant and attractive, with a business center. The restaurant serves a nice breakfast for about $15. There is a lobby bar with big screen for sports but no happy hour and I would strongly recommend nice jazz music and even dancing in the lounge, because there is no nightlife or fun bars in the area. I saw Jim Simpson the famous sports announcer and his ABC crew. There in internet access. The paintings on the wll have nothing to do with LA life. The higher floors are accessed only with room card. The valley view rooms have a scenic view of the 405 Fwy interchange and in the morning before the smog you can see the entire valley to the mountain ranges.

There is really nothing for entertainment in the Encino wastelands.. it is Ventura Blvd urban sprawl if you know what I mean. There is a Whole Foods nearby and you can easily walk 2 blocks under the fwy to the Sherman Oaks Galleria for movies at the Arclight and great happy hour dining @ Cheesecake Factory (4-6), El Torito Grill (4-8) or PF Changs (3-6). I would say walk because you get charged $10 for each hour you go over your 3 hour movie validation..

East toward Sherman Oaks has many nice restaurants. Marmalade and Mel's diner are great for BK, Fatburger is the best burger in LA, there is an In-N-Out, Izakaya on Ventura Blvd for Sushi is A+. Blue Dog is an excellent sports bar and burger grill... on the side street behind the Whole Foods parking lot.

West on Ventura Blvd. is a Ralphs, high end Farfalla Italian restaurant and the only Starbucks in Encino. I did not like the homeless parking their shopping carts and smoking on the patio.. it messed up the aroma of my Kona Clover. If you have the guts and love seafood buffet.. Highly recommend Hokkaido seafood buffet...that is best buffet I have ever eaten at... just yummmy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamakanuiahailono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Service was prompt, friendly and efficient.
Marriott Gold floor was very nice.
Room was clean and spacious.
Breakfast was good.
Lobby area is clean and inviting.
Parking was fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belvederian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2012

it was very quiet and kept well.the maid service was verr good.i enjoyed ny time in california very much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I visited family in Sherman Oaks and researched the area for a hotel with an ADA accessible room with roll in shower (wheel-chair) for other family members coming from NY. The hotel staff and concierge -Donald- were very patient with all my phone calls and questions. The ADA room has 2 queens and big bathroom with bars and the roll-in shower with fold down seat. My daughter and i has a 2 room suite, king bed with sofa bed. The king is very comfortable, sofa bed good enough for one adult or 2 kids. The suite has a seating area perfect for 6 adults and 2 babies visiting all day. Restaurant is decent but a bit limited. We requested --and got--a microwave. Coffeemaker in the room is like the Hamilton Beach personal pod brewer, i brought Senseo pods from home and they worked fine. Rooms have a balcony with interesting views of the mountains and freeways, doors are sealed for safety and noise reduction. Nice pool/spa area with fire pit and tables. On Ventura Blvd,.lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance, also a bus route. Parking is $15 day for guests, reasonable for this area.

We really liked this hotel--comfortable, clean, attractive, quiet. I would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: higher the room, nicer the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psage728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Calm
Level Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

A little old, noisey A/C and the TV only picked up Analog stations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#115 of 351 in Los Angeles
41 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#49 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
Universal City Area
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
#95 of 351 in Los Angeles
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks
Address: 15433 Ventura Blvd, Sherman Oaks, Los Angeles, CA 91403-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Courtyard
Los Angeles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing