We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Ranked #40 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good value for a location close to major freeways. Local markets and retail close by in Sherman Oaks and Encino. Costco is just up the street. Rooms adequate. However, on prior stays the king beds are too soft.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

The room was dirty, something (maybe cheese sauce??) was wiped all over the table and the dresser with the tv on it. The were cracker type crumbs everywhere. No parking anywhere near our room. Carpets were filthy. This looked to be two old hotle made into one, the pictures on the website are not from the side of the hotel that we were stuck on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank tiktiiki95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericybw, Manager at Best Western Plus Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent visit to our hotel which brings to our attention the issues you had experienced during your stay. The issues you had brought up is taken very seriously and are being addressed with the proper staff members to ensure we are able to provide quality accommodations for all guests. I apologize that you had this experience and hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

-Our request for a room on the main floor near an entrance was honored.
-Prompt, VERY courteous clerks.
-Check-in and check-out were prompt.
-Spacious, very clean room
-WI-FI worked well and was free
-Denny's Restaurant which served super food and provided very reasonable priced meals is next door and a 10% discount is given to hotel guests.
-excellent value

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Actually, would have loved to have given this place the big thumbs up but had a fruit fly infestation in our room that was grossing us out. They were crawling on the bedspread, it was freaky. No obvious point of origin, just...everywhere.

There were no other rooms available, and while the manager was sympathetic he was unable to do much more at that moment than offer to make things right upon check-out...

Very well-intentioned, but not adequately communicated, so two days passed before all the communication got back on track. Yikes.

However, once everything was understood, a subsequent manager did go out of his way to make things right and that was truly appreciated.

The grounds were very nice and the room itself was perfect except for that one tiny detail. Ew.

Other rooms probably don't have that problem...in which case that accounts for the many high reviews, because otherwise the place is very nice and the staff great.

:-/

Room Tip: Ask for the one with no flies in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody_N_Tchuliktano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

-fast, easy, and pleasant check-in due to courteous clerks -spacious, clean room -our request for a room on main floor near entrance was honoured -WI-FI access worked well -excellent location -excellent value -next to a Denny's restaurant which had super service and reasonably priced meals (10% off if staying at BW Carriage Inn) -large flat screen TV -will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank worldtraveller200753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This Best Western was recommended by AAA, the worst place ever! Parking was terrible. Rooms were hot! Lobby had no bathroom. Front desk was telling guests to change at Dennys because the pool area had no changing room. I will never stay there again and told them so. Also way overpaid, 160.000 per night. Don't go here unless your really desperate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zonie0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericybw, Manager at Best Western Plus Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I am concerned about the problems you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention. The principle goal of our hotel is to provide safe and dependable service to all of our guests. Consequently, it is disappointing to learn that you are unhappy. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously and your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ideal location to use as a base for touring, but not many amenities around if you wish to have a walk.
Well appointed rooms with two queen beds, fridge and TV.
Beds very comfortable, giving very good nights sleep. However, try to ask for room not facing main highway as tends to be noisy through the night.
No breakfast, but 24 hours Denny's adjoins the hotel with a god range of food with friendly service.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tazmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airtel Plaza Hotel
#110 of 355 in Los Angeles
555 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#146 of 355 in Los Angeles
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carriage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carriage Inn

Address: 5525 Sepulveda Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91411-3438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#46 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $121 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carriage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Carriage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carriage Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing