We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Checks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
Ranked #53 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Merida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Checks all the boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at this Best Western twice with my mother before an early morning dentist appointment nearby (neither of us live in town). The rooms are impeccably clean, the beds are very comfortable. Each bed has four big pillows, though I would have liked at least one of them to be lighter and down-filled (but that's being awfully picky...). Parking is easy. We found our rooms quiet both nights. Easy check in, check out. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YucatanLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    407
    176
    67
    49
See reviews for
407
234
87
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

During our road trip through California we have picked this hotel for our two night stay in LA. This hotel being located next to the Highway offers good access for driving to Hollywood/Beverly Hills/Santa Monica etc. due to its location. However, the other side of the coin is that it's very noisy!!!

Due to some positive reviews (also on noise level) on Trip Advisor we still opted for this hotel. As the hotel was fully booked, we only got a ground level room facing Selpuveda Boulevard which is not the Highway but still very busy. Otherwise, the room was decent and clean but very dark. Breakfast was not included, but a "Denny's" diner is next door where you get a discount of 10% as a hotel guest.

If you could get a room facing the parking lot, the experience is probably better. Nevertheless, we can't give more than two points for this hotel.

Room Tip: You should get a room facing the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler1982222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericybw, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I am sad to hear you had issues with some of the traffic noise you had endured during your recent stay. The location of the Best Western Plus Carriage Inn is in a great location to be able to get around different areas of Los Angeles, however we are surrounded by the big city. We have taken measures to minimize the noise inside guest rooms with double pane windows and solid exterior doors. We are always willing to honor any requests that you might have to be in a less affected area with regards to the nose. I am pleased, however, to hear that you had found the accommodations satisfactory.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide quieter accommodations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here as part of a tour. Very pleasant rooms with good amount of amenities in the rooms which were nicely furnished. The only bugbear was the fairly noisy air conditioning ( which we found was common in the hotels we stayed in during our tour ). The staff on reception were very helpful and pleasant. There is a Dennys diner next door and guests at this hotel get 10% discount if they show there room key. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatobealive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericybw, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay during recent visit. I am sorry about the noisy air conditioning unit, we will definitely take every measure to assure all units run as quietly a possible. I hope you stop by and stay with us again during your next visit to Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place backs up to the 405, it faces busy Sepulveda Blvd, and Burbank to the north is also noisy. We asked for a quiet room, and the Sepulveda Blvd was the best they could do. So be aware of the din in the background and how you would handle that. We slept better the second night--I guess we got used to the traffic noise.
That said, the room was comfortable, with a good mattress, fine a/c, nice bathroom, free internet, and a large in-room fridge. There was a safe you could use for an extra $14 a day. The pool, though small, offered a respite. We took a walk in the Sherman Oaks neighborhood directly east, some nicely gardened homes that showed pride of ownership. On Sepulveda Blvd, there is a Target store within walking distance, and a good roasted chicken fast food place. Not really a nice street to walk on, though. The Denneys appeared to be very crowded-- we avoided it.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms seem to be facing the side street on the south. 516-528, 416-428, 316-326.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WideEyedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericybw, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I am glad you had enjoyed your accommodations at our hotel other than the traffic noise you had to negotiate. The location of the Best Western Plus Carriage Inn is superb with respected to being close to two major freeway systems than can get you to just about any part of Los Angeles in a matter of minutes. However, this does bring us some traffic noise near our location which is why we have installed double pane windows and solid doors to the exterior to minimize the traffic while inside the rooms. We always do attempt to locate our guests in a preferred location to make sure your stay is comfortable and a satisfying one.

We hope to see you again in the near future so we may be able to provide another superior customer service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at during our three week trip to California and I don't think we could have chosen any better. We didn't want to stay in LA and Sherman Oakes proved an ideal base to travel back and forth into the city. The hotel it's self is very, clean with plenty of amenities (laundry, swimming pool, parking etc), all the staff we encountered were really friendly and happy to help. The area around the hotel seemed really nice, safe enough to walk around with plenty of restaurants and shops close by. The perfect start to our vacation:)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I love this hotel, I have stayed here twice and I enjoyed both my stays immensely. It is located just 15 minutes from many of the main attractions in LA. The location is perfect for those who want to visit LA and see the sights or spend a day at the Beach. The rooms are a decent size and clean and have very comfortable beds. The staff was friendly and always happy to help when I needed anything. I made my reservations with Anne and she was wonderful. This really is one of my favorite hotels to stay in and we will always stay at this location when we are in the LA area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn
#86 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Westside
BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
Address: 5525 Sepulveda Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91411-3438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#60 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carriage Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing