We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Sushi Go 55

Sushi Go 55
Ranked #1,314 of 9,944 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Downtown
Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Sushi Go 55 is on First st. in Los Angles in a Mall. It's in a corner upstairs so you will miss it if you aren't actually looking for it. It has the best sushi and tempura I have eaten (and I have been eating Japanese food for 45 years). Their prices are reasonable, their food is fresh and very delicious, the staff is very friendly and the restaurant is clean. Over all an excellent place to eat that is an undiscovered gem except by those who live in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimples07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi at reasonable prices”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Get the chirashi. It's fresh, tasty, and plentiful. Enough said.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jephyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent Food. Surprised me nicely!”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just plain awesome. AMAZING unagi. AMAZING spicy yellowtail rolls (got two to go for airplane ride home next day!)

Only thing we didnt like was the fried oysters. They were... kind of.. umm. dont really know- jusy weird. Wayyy too heavy on the breading, and not fresh tasting. Not rotten, just funy.

Other bummer was $15 for himachi kama- small and more than double what I would pay at mose other sites.

But for the quality of the fish absolutely aweomse.

Atmosphere- small, close tables, so definitley not upscale, but food makes up for it.
Also, its upstairs inside a shopping mall in a fairly industrial part of town.

If u like good fish, Go!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic and absolute BEST”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We've been going there for YEARS. And we've been trying tonnes of other Japanese restaurants in LA and its surrounding areas, and none (even the snobby ones that tell you its a chefs menu only. Yes that one with the crazy price!) beats the quality you get in Sushi Go 55!

It's the absolute best. My fav is the ankimo and the unadon. The eel is cooked to perfection. Juicy, sweet and a little fatty. Finger licking good. The sushi/sashimi is always fresh. And they also have a really good and reasonable fresh lobster sashimi. (not for the faint hearted)

Service is also really good (they know us by name now). It's a small little hole the wall place.. love it. Will always love it! :)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aliku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best (and oldest) sushi restaurants in Los Angeles. Great price, friendly service and no crowds (awesome...”
Reviewed December 27, 2008

One of the best (and oldest) sushi restaurants in Los Angeles. Great price, friendly service and no crowds (awesome!) Try the sampler sushi offer - it's a great value.

Helpful?
Thank asianbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Go 55 also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Sushi Go 55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing