We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a pre-cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Ranked #138 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great place for a pre-cruise stay”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located to the Cruise Ship Terminal in the Port of Los Angeles (San Pedro). It is about a 40 minute ride from LAX. The hotel provides a free shuttle to/from the Cruise Ship Terminal which is about 5 minutes away. The hotel is only a few blocks away from many bars/restaurants in downtown San Pedro as well as the restaurants at Port 'O Call Village. The hotel is very clean (both rooms and public areas) and very modern. The service is excellent. They have a bar/restaurant on the lobby level. We ate breakfast at the restaurant - they had a pretty nice breakfast buffet (but no eggs/omelets to order). The cost is typical hotel restaurant breakfast pricing - not cheap! When it came time to go to the Cruise Ship Terminal, a bellhop came to our room, loaded up our luggage, then took it right to the shuttle. Great place to stay - we'll definitely stay there again when we cruise out of Los Angeles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1aCruise4wks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    198
    129
    49
    47
See reviews for
131
225
23
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here prior to our cruise out of LA and it was a great hotel for that purpose. The check-in staff was friendly and efficient, as was the bell service. The hotel lobby is both nicely decorated and comfortable, and during our stay, it was all decked out for Christmas. Our room was large and clean, with nice furniture that looked pretty new. The view of the parking lot and street was not much to speak of, but there are worse things in life. The little welcome gift bag on the bed with lavender spray for your pillow and a sleep mask is a nice touch that we appreciated. The bathroom featured a full-size hair dryer, which was another plus. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but it looked okay, although on the pricey side for dinner and breakfast. Our travel companions had breakfast there and said the food was just okay and over-priced. There are way better options behind the hotel on 6th street (Mishi's strudel!) and 7th street, so I'd head there if you're in search of sustenance.
The strangest thing for me was how empty this hotel felt. Every time we passed through the lobby or other public areas, you could have rolled a bowling ball through them. We hardly ever saw other guests. It's primarily a conference hotel, so maybe that was why. In terms of amenities, it has a whole slew of ballrooms and conference rooms on the first floor, all of which were empty. There's an outdoor pool and a pretty pathetic gym (which consists of a rowing machine, stepper, and weights) and sauna.

Negatives about this hotel? The rooms don't have a safe or refrigerator, and no free wi-fi. What kind of modern hotel lacks these simple conveniences? That stinks. The exorbitant charge for wi-fi per day or to use the computers in the hotel's business center was also a turn-off. As a positive, they offer a free shuttle service back and forth to the cruise port. It's less than a 5 min ride, which makes this hotel extremely convenient for sailing out of LA, though not much else. Much like the hotel itself, the nearby streets and businesses are always empty. I wonder how this city even stays in existence because it seems like there's never anyone around.

Pluses: quiet, clean, 5 min from the cruise port and a free shuttle to take you there. Negatives: no fridge or safe in room, no free wi-fi. If you expect an decent hotel in an LA suburb, you'll be fine. The Crowne Plaza is perfectly fine place to stay, and I'd stay here again. It's comfortable, clean, and the rate we got on Priceline was more than reasonable (As always, check Priceline first!). If you're looking for a short stay prior to a cruise out of LA, this is a great option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the port!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is my second stay and second review of this hotel. We booked the park and sail package that includes parking for 10 days and breakfast. We traveled with a large family; we had five rooms booked at this hotel. We stayed pre cruise, we live in Orange County is it easier to book a pre stay, this way we don’t have to scrabble morning of the trip. The age ranges were 85-5 years old. We booked an ADA room for my Grandfather who is in a wheelchair.
We were booked on the Disney Wonder for a Pixar Cruise; we got to know many of our fellow cruisers via the DIS Boards. I read many of them post about how they booked through Priceline, Expedia, or other sites. They had the same story, I should have booked direct, and it would have cost me less. I compared pricing with someone who booked on Priceline, It cost me $30 less to book the park and sail package, versus purchasing everything separately. Another ended up paying the same as me. I think it silly that people fear booking direct. I dislike third party bookings.
We used the Gym, the equipment was older but in good shape. The pool was clean and did not overly reek of Chlorine as most hotel pools do.
The rooms are very clean, they have flat screens TV’s. They have free WiFi which is the BEST! I love that most hotels are going that route now. The breakfast was what you would usually expect from a hotel. They had fruit, yogurt, dry cereal, juices, sausage, assorted muffins, breads and pastries. They also had a made to order omelet bar.
We used the Shuttle to the port, since grandpa is in wheel chair he needs a shuttle with a lift, this hotel has one which is another reason I book here. Make sure to let them know so you can schedule your time.
Also if you don’t want to leave the hotel for dinner, I would recommend Buono’s Pizza, they deliver to the hotel for free. The prices are reasonable and the entrée’s feed two people, they have very large portions. The Calzones feed two!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear lubrew,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Excellent hotel! We stayed here for 1 night before a cruise. We arrived early- around 10AM. We were able to check in and go on up to our room. Wonderful room! Clean and spacious! Great breakfast- nice buffet with lots of choices. Very close to cruise terminal- free shuttle! We highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kansas534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
241 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked through Priceline and saved quite a bit so the lack of a "beautiful" ocean view was a trade off. We still had a very nice and very clean room. The staff was very helpful in prompt in getting our luggage to and from our room. The shuttle to the port was very timely and stress free. Our cruise boarding time was changed from noon to 2;30 PM and they were very understanding and did not force us out by noon nor charge us a late checkout fee (we left a little after 1pm).
Before arriving I called the hotel with a few questions...all were answered except one regarding the restaurant menu and pricing. I was impressed they took my name and # and later that day the restaurant manager did call me back and answered my questions. She told me to drop by and meet her even if I chose to dine elsewhere. I did and she it was a real pleasure to simply chat while waiting for a cup of hot tea. I did peak at the menu and the pricing and selections seamed reasonable.
My cousin picked me up at the airport and they let us park for a few hours out front without a fee. They also knew the area and made suggestions as to points of interest and alternate dining options elsewhere.
For a pre-cruise stay this is a great location...and there are several wonderful attractions nearby (Iowa battleship, LAFD fireboat, Maritime Museum, Port shops, Art galleries, etc.).The business office was very useful keeping in touch with those at home prior to departure as well as printing needed documents and such.
They did lack a microwave and refrigerator, but for a short stay we did not miss it. The lobby did have complementry chilled water as well as HOT herbal tea.
For a pre-cruise or after cruise stay the location and service are great. I would stay there again and possibly add another day as the port area does have much to offer and most within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryG668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We won this room on Priceline. I think I'm going to stop booking through Priceline because every time I do I get a room next to the elevator or vending machines and the view is of the parking lot. We couldn't see much out our window due to the dirt on the outside. And besides, the view was the parking lot. The bed was excellent and we appreciated that. Our temperature control didn't work so it was very, very cold in our room. It was also during a cold snap in Long Beach (about 30 outside) so we froze in our room. The hotel is a bit tired and needs some freshening up, in my opinion. The check in staff was very nice and helpful when asked about places to eat. Our coffee pot was missing its filter, so we couldn't make coffee. The room also didn't have a refrigerator which was frustrating because I have RA medicine that needs to be kept cold. We had to improvise with the ice bucket. We stayed here for a pre-cruise night and I'm not sure if we'll stay here again. The bed was wonderful and that really made up for the so-so of the rest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear EricaLyn,

Thanks so much for reviewing our hotel. I appreciate your compliments on the level of service provided by our hotel. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. However, we are sorry to hear you found our room accommodations and amenities less than satisfactory. We have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future and provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a basic hotel, nothing wrong with the accommodations, the room was clean, check in and staff were friendly and helpful. The shuttle to the cruise port was great. The only thing we found that was disappointing was the food in the restaurant, pretty bad. Go to the little Mexican joint close by mush better.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Harbor
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Harbor
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
#188 of 351 in Los Angeles
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
Harbor
All Star Inn
All Star Inn
#187 of 351 in Los Angeles
33 reviews
Harbor
Pacific Inn and Suites
Pacific Inn and Suites
#230 of 351 in Los Angeles
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Address: 601 S Palos Verdes St, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90731-3329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Gem of San Pedro! In this Los Angeles seaport town, you can enjoy cultural attractions, thriving businesses and a great coastal climate year-round. Recently renovated in cool hues with pops of color, our property is the place to stay! At the Crowne Plaza(R) Los Angeles Harbor hotel you are near the Port of Los Angeles, USS IOWA Battleship and Long Beach Convention Center. With almost 17,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, our hotel is a great location for business and social events. We also have a Business Center, dedicated Crowne Meetings Director and Daily Meeting Debriefs, making us "The Place to Meet." Our hotel is within minutes of the Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach Convention Center, Terrace Theater, cruise and ferry terminals, historic Fort MacArthur and the HMS Queen Mary. You can play a round of golf at the nearby Trump National Golf Club or hop a ferry to Catalina Island for the day or weekend visit to Crafted at POLA. For a relaxing evening, spend time at the San Pedro Gateway, watch the dancing waters and light show of the Fanfare Fountain. Masters of the art of hospitality, our friendly staff will make sure your stay is excellent. You can start your day with a Guaranteed Wake-Up Call and enjoy our outdoor pool with peak-a-boo views of the harbor, fitness center and Blu Restaurant and Lounge. Make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles
Los Angeles Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing