We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not Perfect, But Exceeded Expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Ranked #24 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not Perfect, But Exceeded Expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights at this property and was pleasantly surprised. Yes, it could use a refresh, but it was a great value for the money and the service was great. There was a technical glitch that meant I didn't get a wake up call. Luckily, I had a backup plan with my cell phone. When I reported the lack of a call to the front desk, they immediately offered a free full breakfast. Parking is tight and it can be a bit of a walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    302
    175
    86
    42
See reviews for
267
341
54
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there recently for work. The place has seen better days and need an overhaul. The furniture in the room sub is showing wear as is the scuffed up hallways. The first room we were given had not been completely cleaned, the sink looked like someone had just finished shaving. The sound proofing between rooms could also be improved. The food was good not great.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rexmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Michingan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Doubletree prior to our cruise and were very pleased with our choice. Unfotunately, the cab driver from LAX had no idea where it was but, he finally found it. The hotel is nice, nothing special but, the restaurant was way above what we expected for a tourist hotel. Food was excellent and Crazy Chuck (his words, not ours) was the best waiter ever! Convenient shuttle service to the ship the follwing day was our main reason for selecting it and, we'd stay there again if we have another cruise from San Pedro.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StxSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The Doubletree looks like maintenance has been deferred In the four years since I stayed here last before a cruise. Although the rooms and public areas were clean, the carpets were stained and very worn. The room's walls and toilets were scuffed and showed minimal patching and very low cost repairs, and some electric outlets either didn't work or were switched off with the wall switch. Some graffiti was seen on the hotel's entrance sign.

The staff was uniformly friendly but clearly unmanaged. Waiters and bartenders stood around chatting with each other. In general the staff members appeared not to be empowered to be able to comply with even simple requests from guests. Guests needed to check for hours for only the Bellman to appear to make a reservation for the hotel's free shuttle, and even an housekeeper seemed not to be allowed to let a guest into their room when their key card stopped working.

With some repairs and refurbishment and a good dose for management, this could be a fantastic hotel in a spectacular location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikecbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This could be a great property with a deep cleaning and some new soft goods. Great marina location. Great staff. Bed and bedding were fine. But the furniture in our room (245) was tired. The chair is in desperate need of cleaning. The carpet throughout the hotel should be cleaned or replaced. It is ok, but at DoubleTree prices I expect better.
Hotel restaurant is ok if you are too tired to go elsewhere. Rex's at the corner of 22nd and Pacific is far better for breakfast or lunch. Think in downtown San Pedro is another good local restaraunt.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewStarDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the DoubleTree the night before our Mexican Riviera cruise. We found the hotel to be extremely convenient to the port and the marina area was very nice for an evening stroll. The hotel has a free shuttle service to the port and also to local areas of interest. The restaurant prepared good food and the staff was helpful answering questions. It was a pleasant place to stay and the room was large and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived later - 10ish and we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite! We have never been upgraded and were shocked that we were given the room. It was very large- decorated nicely - needed a tree for some greenery.. loved the shower and the very large bathroom. Best feature- the window seat overlooking the marina. We did do the cruise and park option- Chris who handled the van and the luggage (who I felt so sorry for as the luggage only got heavier on the way back) was so helpful and nice. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and being its on the harbor the view is very nice. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Harbor
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Hotel Normandie
#23 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Address: 2800 Via Cabrillo Marina, Los Angeles, CA 90731 (Formerly Marina Hotel Port of Los Angeles/San Pedro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#75 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Pedro
Doubletree Los Angeles
Los Angeles Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing