We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great deal for San Pedro cruise passengers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Ranked #18 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Chose this hotel in order to take advantage of their package that allows you to park your car for free if you stay the night before your cruise departs from the San Pedro cruise terminal. (And it includes free shuttle to and from the cruise terminal.) First impressions: staff at bell desk and front desk are very nice. Pleasant, friendly, competent, professional. Also, the marina location is very picturesque and should make you feel like you're on vacation even if you're not. Other impressions: some things are a little rough around the edges. Carpet in the hallways looks like it's due for replacement; holes in the dust ruffle on the bed; bottom of the bath tub appeared to be permanently stained a queasy shade of grey; wallpaper under the window has seen better days; and most irritating complaint is the self-closing doors on the guest rooms slam shut very loudly -- maybe when your own door slams shut you don't really care, but when the doors on seven other rooms slam shut after you've gone to bed, you DO care. But the stuff that matters most was fine, including a clean room; good bed, sheets and pillows; ample hot water and all-around an efficiently run hotel. Had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. The food was better at breakfast than it was at dinner, but service was better at dinner than it was at breakfast. In both cases, the servers were friendly, including the bar tender. (And the bar area is a comfortable place for solo travelers -- including those of us women who don't always feel at ease going to the bar alone). Bottom line: it's a DoubleTree! And the cookies are great!!

Room Tip: Many rooms are extremely far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RightOnTheCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is not a plush as most Hiltons although the price is in line with If you want a good quiet place to stay with good food and pleasant surroundings this is good. This is an older facility however one thing that impressed me was the cleanliness of the rooms and outside swimming pool. The only complaint I have is that it costs $11.95 per day for the internet. Considering all I would definitely stay here again. Beds were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stay at this hotel several times a year. It is on the waterfront with a beautiful view. The staff are always friendly and the complimentary cookies are delicious. There is no freeway/highway traffic since it sits on a peninsula. If you are on vacation and would like to relax, this is the best place to stay. There are several local attractions which the hotel provides a free shuttle too. The beds are comfortable and clean. Restaurant and bar located in the main floor and the menu prices are reasonable. The beach is a short 15 minute walk. I've stayed at other less expensive hotels in the area, but they do not compare. If you want to have a good night sleep, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The location is excellent...the staff are courteous and helpful...the lobby is nice but the rooms are in need of some refurbishing...our bathroom sink has a large crack across ....the desk chair is frayed...carpeting tired....ditto for the carpeting in the halls...food is just average..Hilton is depending too much on location....time to address the defrayed maintenance....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashi_poudyal2, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel has great ocean, bay views. The staff is below average. The food is below just okay. You have to go through a very poor neighborhood to get to it, which was scary. I booked two rooms ocean view rooms for family. They were just okay. There seemed to be many weddings that weekend. Our rooms were not ready at check-in. It was almost 1-1/2 hours before they were ready. Very inconvientient. Small bathrooms with no complimentary shower items, however a sign said they were there.

Room Tip: Select a top floor so you aren't bothered with noise from rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crownpacificgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashi_poudyal2, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are truly sorry that you found the staff to be below average and quality of food just ok. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with the staff members here as part of ongoing training in order to continue to elevate our service level and overall quality. Occasionally we may have some guests who depart later than scheduled departure time which creates some challenges for us getting the requested room types ready in time for our arriving guests such as you. I hope you will not judge by this isolated incident and give us an opportunity to serve you in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for the 4th time in the Double Tree hotel. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean but a bit "over-used". Breakfast was great but need to be payed extra. There is a restaurant and a bar. Clothes can be washed in the laundry. Beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask a room far from elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the DoubleTree San Pedro and were overjoyed with the room. We had to wait a while to check in, along with other guests, but it was well worth the wait.
The room was clean and comfortable and had a spectacular view of the marina. Our room, on the second floor, was about 25 feet from the sailboats that were tied up there. When the sun went down it was equally stunning.
I recommend the Doubletree San Pedro to anyone looking for a quiet, homey room.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smokinboles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,211 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 355 in Los Angeles
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Address: 2800 Via Cabrillo Marina, Los Angeles, CA 90731-7223 (Formerly Marina Hotel Port of Los Angeles/San Pedro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#74 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $144 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Pedro
Doubletree Los Angeles
Los Angeles Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing