We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay before cruise out of San Pedro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Ranked #29 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here one night before our cruise.

Pluses,

Free transport to the cruise terminal in the morning, hot complimentary breakfast, large, clean rooms, nice hotel once you are inside
.
Minuses

The surrounding area! (dirty, smelly, unsavory)
No bar or dining in hotel. The space is there, but not occupied.( A real shame, as we had to get food from a takeaway and liquor/wine from the corner store and drink and eat dinner in our rooms. 2 middle aged couples, partying away like college kids on the cheap, eating/drinking in our rooms! We would have preferred a nice meal and drinks in the hotel bar/restaurant.)

Someone could make money if they leased the bar and restaurant in this hotel!!!

The staff told us of a restaurant near by for dinner, however, it was closed the night we were there. There are various take away places. (hamburgers, tacos, Hawaiian BBQ, Asian noodles)

The hotel is on a very busy street off the freeway, if you want a quiet room, request a room in the back.

I would stay here again, as the hotel is clean and nice (on the inside) and the free transport to the pier is great! I only wish we didn't need to venture outside to get food and drink!

Room Tip: Get a room in the back for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SFOF/A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your input from your stay with us. We are meeting with the city council to bring improvement to San Pedro in order to further improve our guests' experience in this port town. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and newly renovated guest rooms, and we are excited for the near-future opportunities that await for filling our restaurant and bar space! Look forward to your next visit in sunny SoCal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 738 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Accomodations at this hotel is very comfortable and clean and spacious. The free breakfast was better than expected with lots to choose from. Parking is free and a shuttle is provided for transportation to the cruise center. Very good value for the money. The front desk staff, however, seemed to be undertrained in basic knowledge of the surrounding area, customer service. It was frustrating when every question asked was answered with 'I don't know' or 'We don't have maps of the area' or 'I'll do that later'. and it was never done. It was also odd that they charged you for the whole stay as soon as you checked in and never give you a receipt unless you asked.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Sunny-waters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your sincere feedback. We are continually training our staff to provide concierge service regarding the local area and we are excited to welcome aboard newly hired staff to familiarize them with all that San Pedro has to offer! Our cruise guests do appreciate the full breakfast, spacious rooms and complimentary shuttle service and we are glad you expressed this as well! Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This Hotel did not look as I expected when I eventually found it being within a busy town as opposed to the advertising which looked as though it was within it's own grounds. The hotel was very pleasant on entry and the room was also good. Felt a little threatened at walking out after dark to eat but overall a good place to stay propr to cruising.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are working with the city to improve our guests experience and provide more opportunities to enjoy the many sites around San Pedro. Our recently elected Council Member is as passionate as we are about our town and we take pride in being a representative of San Pedro's fine establishments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Loved this hotel. Loved the decor. Will stay there again. Felt comfortable with walking around the hotel. Breakfast was hot and fresh. Very friendly staff. Convient to restuarants and shopping. Will recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Love your feedback! We are continually inspired by reviews like yours and find deep reward in them. Welcome back during your next visit to LA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nicely updated older hotel. Room was spacious and the bed was quite comfortable. Staff was friendly. No restaurant onsite, but there is a continental-type breakfast included in the price in the morning (nothing fancy). Parking available. Free shuttle to cruise ships.

Room Tip: An inside room away from the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenlorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you! We're continually striving to improve our guests' experience, whether it is the complimentary breakfast served in the mornings or any of the fine amenities offered at the hotel. To the surprise of many guests, the hotel was actually one of the more recently built in San Pedro, with construction completed in 1986 -- the authentic Victorian style architecture often makes the building appear much older than it actually is, which has even attracted film crews to shoot movie scenes on-site! Diversions aside, we are soon planning to have an operating restaurant and look forward to the spirit it will bring here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were looking for a hotel convenient to the Port of Los Angeles prior to a cruise. This hotel, which is just a few blocks away was close, had very helpful staff, from the desk attendant to the shuttle driver. The problems were few, mainly with traffic noise (ask for a room facing the back of the property), and getting into the parking lot/deck from the street. We have said we would return the next time we cruise from Los Angeles.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are proud to be a cruise hotel serving the World Cruise Terminal because of our proximity and guest services & amenities. We are working on ways to combat the traffic noise and will implement solutions to meet guests' needs. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next cruise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Staff are very professional. Hotel, room, and surrounding areas are very well kept. Accommodation were excellent. This hotel is highly recommended and will use this hotel again when visiting San Pedro

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. It appears you enjoyed our swimming pool as well! We take pride in our guest service and appreciate your acknowledgment of this. Looking forward to your next visit to San Pedro!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#43 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,186 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harbor
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Harbor
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
#188 of 355 in Los Angeles
292 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites

Address: 111 S Gaffey St, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90731-2429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $126 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites is a newly remodeled boutique hotel that features the most spacious guest rooms in San Pedro with all new guest room furnishings - located just six blocks from the The World Cruise Center, the gateway for Princess, Norwegian and Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines. Cruise passenger guests appreciate our Complimentary Shuttle Service to the San Pedro World Cruise Center. This 4-story Victorian hotel offers 60 guest rooms including 12 suites with convenient proximity to the Long Beach Convention Center, USS Iowa Battleship & Museum, Cabrillo Beach & Marina, Trump National Golf Club and fine local restaurants. The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites features a complimentary Breakfast Buffet, Outdoor Swimming Pool & Spa, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet Access, Business Center, Fitness Center and more!This boutique hotel features 3000 sq ft of meeting & event space with flexibility to accommodate events for 10 to 200 people. High speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. The beautifully remodeled San Pedro Ballroom and meeting rooms offer the perfect setting for wedding receptions, social celebrations, family reunions, business and corporate seminars & meetings. Business travelers will appreciate our proximity to the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) and Long Beach Airport (LGB). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pedro Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing