We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate rooms but had some other issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Ranked #35 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Immaculate rooms but had some other issues”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The neighborhood was a little rundown and had some homeless were near the hotel. Also, reservation was not available upon check-in. Had to pull up my computer and call BW to straighten out. Wanted to grab something quick to go for breakfast but warm breakfast was not ready when I came down and there were no paper plates only hard plates and silverware, so I went to a drive thru. Had some problems with wi-fi and I'm a techie, but I decided to give up after a few tries. Overall the staff was friendly and the rooms were immaculate but the other items could not overcome some of the negatives.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Hector V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback about our guest rooms and suites. We have increased the bandwidth of our WiFi network to accommodate the continual increase in hotel occupancy. We are working with the city council to improve the neighborhood and have observed an improvement so far. Thank you again and we will use this input to continually improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    259
    93
    20
    21
See reviews for
214
272
34
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, BC
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It has been several months since we stayed here, so we thought we would write a review. The hotel was in a great location, and offered free shuttle to our cruise ship which was a bonus. They also offered complimentary breakfast, which we thought was great. A short walk away where a free stores and of course drug stores where we could purchase beverages for our cruise the next day. The room was very comfortable and I would definitely recommend it. The staff was excellent and the room clean. No need to spend a lot more money for the little time you stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimmieddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are very proud of our guest services and complimentary breakfast buffet! Our hotel shuttle transports guests to the World Cruise Terminal on cruise departure dates via a short 3-minute drive. Hope to see you again for your next cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here in June before it was a Best Western. We found this hotel because we were looking for something affordable and centrally located between the LA Convention Center/Disneyland. This hotel is close to the freeway and almost equal distance between things we wanted to see. It is a bit of a drive to EITHER LA or Anaheim but close to the beaches and perfect for what we were looking for.

Good, easy parking, lots of spots in the garage. A couple of stores/places to eat nearby. Rite Aid down the street was helpful for a few things.

The lobby is really nice looking and the breakfast area is spacious. Good breakfast- waffles, hardboiled eggs, sausage, bagels, toast, oatmeal, cereal. Orange juice and coffee. They don't want you taking food back to your room (which was a bummer).

The room was awesome- very large with a big comfy bed, a couch, a couple of chairs and plenty of room for everything. The room was nice and clean. My FAVORITE thing about this hotel was the "clean remote" (picture uploaded)- a remote control for the TV especially designed to be easily cleaned and sanitized. Our room was pretty quiet although we shared an interior door with another room and we could hear them in the morning.

Pool was small but nice (unheated, I think?) and privately located in a cute little patio area . We utilize the hot tub several times (closes at 10pm I believe). Only problem we had with the pool was that it was hard to find!! We knew you could access it from our floor but there were no signs to tell us where to go.

Overall- we would absolutely stay here again when visiting the LA area. It was a GREAT value for the price we paid and were more than satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rkomenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you thank you thank you! We are continually improving our guest services and amenities, and truly appreciate such kind feedback -- a deeply rewarding feeling! Our location is perfect for easy access to all parts of LA - north, south, east and west to the beach.. See you next time you visit San Pedro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed the weekend here with my boyfriend was kind of worried but when we arrived it was actually quite nice. The staff was nice and efficient and the room was actually spacious and clean. They just remodeled it so good turn out

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are proud of our newly remodeled rooms - the newest and most spacious rooms in San Pedro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A clean, comfortable hotel which offers the basics. A typical Best Western, cheap toiletries and breakfast food items. Staff were very nice and accommodating. Our party of 12 stayed for 3 nights and as we are a predominently asian mix we preffered to eat at least one meal in our room. This did not appease the owner (an asian) who scolded us for asking for the use of a tray. She stated that they preferred that residents eat in their dining area which is a contradiction as they offer Pizza Delivery direct to your room on their key cards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We will use this to further improve our services to accommodate our guests' needs. Along with our recent renovation, we will be upgrading the toiletries and amenities featured in all of our guest rooms and suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at the San Pedro Inn and Suites (apparently now a Best Western?) for a wedding event in July of 2013. I really have no major complaints. The staff was very friendly; they went out of their way to accommodate the needs of the wedding party. The room was clean, modern, and quite spacious. I never had a problem finding parking among the garages. Complementary breakfast is okay, no better or worse than what you would expect at similar hotels (waffle machine, cereals, yogurt, pastries, eggs, sausage). The pool is a bit on the small end-- not something you'd want to do extensive laps in. The tv service was not great, but who cares about that. Wi-fi service was okay-- a bit slow at times, but still acceptable.

Room Tip: There is a garage off of Gaffey, as well as a slightly smaller one off of 1st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peanut293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are continually improving our amenities and guest services to meet and exceed our guest expectations as well as our own. We are looking forward to upgrading our services as we prepare for the busy cruise season ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent 6 nights at San Pedro Inn and Suites (which is now a Best Western Hotel). The hotel has a nice updated charm with comfortable amenities. First of all, it was nice to have the breakfast option each day (breakfast, wi-fi and parking are all included in the price). Eggs, sausage, waffles and continential options are all we needed to start our day. We found the hotel is a great location - you can walk to the Starbucks, a short drive to the grocery store and very convenient to get to the freeway (101 Harbor which connects to many other freeways). We used this as our home base as we travelled up to San Marino and down to Anaheim, it was great.

There are restaurant options as well as a short drive over to Cabrillo Beach. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Select a room away from Gaffey Street. Our room was 203 (in the Pool house) and be aware that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tayloryen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed our continental breakfast buffet -- it covers all parts of the food pyramid indeed! That is wonderful how you took advantage of our convenient location to see various parts of Los Angeles -- we hope more of our guests realize this convenience! Come visit again in sunny San Pedro for your next SoCal trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Harbor
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#45 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,101 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Address: 111 S Gaffey St, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites is a newly remodeled boutique hotel that features the most spacious guest rooms in San Pedro with all new guest room furnishings - located just six blocks from the The World Cruise Center, the gateway for Princess, Norwegian and Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines. Cruise passenger guests appreciate our Complimentary Shuttle Service to the San Pedro World Cruise Center. This 4-story Victorian hotel offers 60 guest rooms including 12 suites with convenient proximity to the Long Beach Convention Center, USS Iowa Battleship & Museum, Cabrillo Beach & Marina, Trump National Golf Club and fine local restaurants. The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites features a complimentary Breakfast Buffet, Outdoor Swimming Pool & Spa, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet Access, Business Center, Fitness Center and more!This boutique hotel features 3000 sq ft of meeting & event space with flexibility to accommodate events for 10 to 200 people. High speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. The beautifully remodeled San Pedro Ballroom and meeting rooms offer the perfect setting for wedding receptions, social celebrations, family reunions, business and corporate seminars & meetings. Business travelers will appreciate our proximity to the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) and Long Beach Airport (LGB). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pedro Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing