We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to cruise ships, price for parking varies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Ranked #30 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here overnight before boarding a cruise ship. They are in the process of remodeling so probably not presenting their hotel at its best. They rooms were comfortable but the bed pillows were very small (half normal size). Bed was comfortable. Staff was nice. They had a nice continental breakfast with fresh waffles you made yourself and quite a few other choices. Free shuttle to and from the dock, but a cab was only an 8.75 fare. Parking may or may not be free if you book through their website. They charge for parking posted in the lobby as 12.00 a day. Cruise lot is 15.00 a day. If you are going to park there get the rate well-established in advance as we had some issues with a different price quote after we arrived. But the staff was helpful and all was fixed to my satisfaction.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mskyyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 723 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed here for one night before leaving on a cruise. Our room was recently refurbished and was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is undergoing renovations so the bar was not open, but when the manager saw that we had bought some wine, he invited us to enjoy it in the breakfast area, where he unpacked wine glasses for us and had a corkscrew waiting on the table. The next morning, he had chair put on the terrace so we could enjoy some sunny weather before leaving on our cruise. The hotel has free wifi and a free shuttle to the port. We walked around the area and found a unique wine shop - Off the Vine and had a great lunch at the San Pedro Diner, feeling quite safe in the area. I would choose this hotel to stay at if leaving on another cruise from the San Pedro port.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dt_Wo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

On my stay in early October 2012, the hotel was still in the midst of renovation. Based on my room, the free breakfast, helpful staff, & free shuttle to the San Pedro pier, this could have been rated higher, if not for the daytime racket from the renovations. The 3rd floor corridors & rooms appear to be completed, but the 4th floor corridors looked like a disaster area, but the rooms were still very nice. The dining area was near completion & breakfast was decent. The pool area looked good. Apparently there will be no bar, on the restaurant when all is completed. It's an older area & about 1/2 mile to the water & attractions. Don't waste your time or money on a "Harbor View". It's a long way away & more like a street view with maybe some harbor lights at night. I'd definitely stay again, but after renovations are completed. Call the hotel & ask before booking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davesondeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! It was amazing value (I booked directly through their web site, it was actually cheaper than the travel sites), the interior is gorgeous (antiques!), the room was absolutely perfect and was made up brilliantly every day (fresh towels!), the free breakfast was great, the undercover parking is free, it's only a minute from the freeway, there are plenty of restaurants nearby (check out Jasmine Hana across the street... amazing fried rice!) and the rooms are very soundproof. I know, because they were cleaning the carpet in the hall and I had no idea until I opened the door and heard the roar of the fans drying the carpet. And hey, they actually clean their carpet!

I stayed here with my parents during the last leg of our 4 week trip across the US, and after staying in some pretty disappointing (and stinky) hotels, this really was the perfect end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

While this hotel isn't really convenient to Hollywood or Santa Monica pier (where we spent much of time) the drive isn't bad (anywhere from 30-60 minutes depending on traffic and route). It's more convenient for those taking cruises from the San Pedro area. The hotel itself was superb. Rooms were spacious and clean, beds were comfortable, wifi worked well, pool and hot tub were a nice size, and continental free breakfast was better than most. Staff was excellent! The hot tub was more like very warm bath water and we were told it was turned up as high as possible by the front desk. It was still enjoyable. I appreciated that no one came out to close everything down as we got back late each night (10 or so) and enjoyed winding down. Breakfast was a nice surprise with danishes, mini muffins, bread and english muffins for toast, milk, juice, cereal, hard boiled eggs, waffles, sausage and yogurt. It's available later than most until 10 a.m. which was convenient since we weren't in a hurry to get going each day. We even arrived late one morning at about 9:50 hoping to grab a couple of things before time was up and the staff was so kind to ask if there was anything we would like that had already been put away! Something I've never seen before that I liked was the fact that you had to have a room key to access the floors with rooms (swipe the card in the elevator before it would allow you to go to those floors). I thought that was a very nice security feature.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the street. I enjoy activity so I liked the view. It wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blabink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is very clean, and the rooms are very large, bathrooms newly renovated.
We stayed here as it was centrally located, and it was our first trip to California and wanted to explore. It is just beside the freeway--an easy 30 minute drive downtown L.A., 15 minute drive from Long BEach, and centrally located between the northern & southern beaches.

We pretty much only stayed at the hotel for sleeping, as we packed our bags for the day when we left each day to explore. Beds were comfortable, rooms large and spacious, nice renovated bathroom,... Breakfast was also very good, the orange juice tasted as if it was freshly squeezed, and the waffles were also very good!

If im being picky, my only complaint is that the pressure in the shower was weak...

Would definitely stay here again, as prices are very good, and it has everything I am looking for in a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaD627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I thought this wouldn't work out--but I was so wrong--never, I mean never judge book by its cover--The hotel is situated at the end of the 110 Freeway at the Port of Los Angeles--it has antiques in the lobby, in its hallways and in its rooms--Real plants so they practice being "green"--The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms have been newly renovated--I firmly believe that given the opportunity it can become a hotel most of us won't be able to afford in a few years--So I am going to enjoy it while I can--

it's the small things that make this a nice place to stay--The staff is outstanding in customer service--Every request, and I mean every request was immediately met--It they could accommodate--and in most cases they were able to do so--

Breakfast every morning is outstanding--there is something for everyone--And the products are quality and recognizable--Thomas' and Tropicana rather than generic products--Real eating utensils and not paper products-- Real cloth tablecloths not plastic--

Now the drawbacks--

It can get noisy with the traffic at night and early mornings so ask for a room away from the front--And they need to get bottled water dispensers for their guests-- And they need to get their Fitness Center up and running--but hey, Best Western Redondo (Where I usually stay) needs to do the same--other than that these I had no complaints whatsoever--

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street it can get noisy during rush hours due the hotel's location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank worldtraveler858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Harbor
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Harbor
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
#192 of 353 in Los Angeles
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#38 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites

Address: 111 S Gaffey St, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $123 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites is a newly remodeled boutique hotel that features the most spacious guest rooms in San Pedro with all new guest room furnishings - located just six blocks from the The World Cruise Center, the gateway for Princess, Norwegian and Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines. Cruise passenger guests appreciate our Complimentary Shuttle Service to the San Pedro World Cruise Center. This 4-story Victorian hotel offers 60 guest rooms including 12 suites with convenient proximity to the Long Beach Convention Center, USS Iowa Battleship & Museum, Cabrillo Beach & Marina, Trump National Golf Club and fine local restaurants. The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites features a complimentary Breakfast Buffet, Outdoor Swimming Pool & Spa, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet Access, Business Center, Fitness Center and more!This boutique hotel features 3000 sq ft of meeting & event space with flexibility to accommodate events for 10 to 200 people. High speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. The beautifully remodeled San Pedro Ballroom and meeting rooms offer the perfect setting for wedding receptions, social celebrations, family reunions, business and corporate seminars & meetings. Business travelers will appreciate our proximity to the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) and Long Beach Airport (LGB). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pedro Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing