We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good thing they plan to renovate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Ranked #28 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We have stayed here several times before departing on cruises. They have a decent park and sail package. Check the price for parking at the Cruise Terminal, they aren't much more and then you don't have to wait for the shuttle upon your return. The rooms are interesting and have lots of character. The beds are comfortable and the space is clean. The overall appearance is deteriorating, though. It does look like they have plans to remodel. The breakfast was horrible! I opened the microwave and it looked like something exploded inside. Gross! The surrounding area is questionable, but does offer lots of last minute conveniences before departing on your cruise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KniteRiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 738 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

I booked through Expedia, and I won't do that again. I probably would have done just as well direct.

The room was clean and spacious. The area that you are in is not good. There are a LOT of homeless and fairly disreputable people.

The breakfast left a lot to be desired, but I am a foodie.

Room Tip: We had a nice view of the harbor, so the front of the building was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Wow. What a terrible experience with this hotel. The General Manager, Edison, had a terrible attitude when dealing with a very simple cancellation. If the general manager has this type of attitude and personality I can only imagine what his hotel is like. Stay away from this one.
I didn't even stay there and after cancelling the reservation 10 days in advance it still cost me $250.00. After being called a liar by Edison I just want this experience to go away.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
9  Thank jeff l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Cancelled my reservation 20 days in advance with the front desk and told everything was done. Got an email 3 weeks later saying that I no-showed and they charged me. When I called them to nicely talk about it the general manager Addison was rude, could hardly speak english and would not even think about taking care of it the right way or even compromising. I have never dealt with such a jerk in my life. I am sure the hotel is ok, but would not recommend it because the staff were horrible.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cory k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel was recommended by our travel agent as a good place to stay on the night before our cruise out of Los Angeles (San Pedro). She was right: it was about a mile from the cruise terminal. Our room looked like one you would find in a top notch hotel in the 1880s. It was elegant and huge, with windows on two sides, and what looked like antique furniture.

The deal we were offered was one night's stay, breakfast, a shuttle to and from the cruise ship terminal and free secure parking for fourteen days, all for just $172. This is an excellent deal, considering that just parking at the terminal would have been $168. This hotel has found a good niche for itself, and we hope that it will continue to prosper from cruisers who choose to stay there.

Room Tip: If you are leaving your car during a cruise, try to park in the upper parkade, right next to the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alibilly2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We recently spent a pre-cruise night at this hotel in San Pedro and what a pleasant surprise it was. Very friendly staff and the hotel is very clean and nice. Breakfast was included along with a very spacious room. Close to the Gaffey Street Diner and several other restaurants. Not far from the cruise terminal and offers covered parking if you want to leave your car there. Shuttle to the pier is available from them for free and is right at one of the red trolley stops.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Hank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I've used this hotel several times for our cruise ship vacation. Stayed night before the cruise and we found it to be very comfortable, clean and located close to the cruise terminal. They do have a shuttle service but it's only a 3 min cab ride. About 20 min bus ride to down town Long Beach. A handful of restaurants near by, including couple of drug stores. As for the bad reviews I read here, I didn't see anything that concerned me. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a good clean affordable place and not expecting a miracle. This is not a five star hotel and their rates set at par. Btw, not a whole lot to do around the neighborhood unless you are willing to drive or cab. Ps. I think they used to a part of Holiday Inn chain and I would say their rooms were better than the average H.I. room set up.

Room Tip: Pool view is the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tommy72A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#41 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,186 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harbor
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Harbor
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
#189 of 355 in Los Angeles
292 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites

Address: 111 S Gaffey St, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90731-2429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $125 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites is a newly remodeled boutique hotel that features the most spacious guest rooms in San Pedro with all new guest room furnishings - located just six blocks from the The World Cruise Center, the gateway for Princess, Norwegian and Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines. Cruise passenger guests appreciate our Complimentary Shuttle Service to the San Pedro World Cruise Center. This 4-story Victorian hotel offers 60 guest rooms including 12 suites with convenient proximity to the Long Beach Convention Center, USS Iowa Battleship & Museum, Cabrillo Beach & Marina, Trump National Golf Club and fine local restaurants. The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites features a complimentary Breakfast Buffet, Outdoor Swimming Pool & Spa, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet Access, Business Center, Fitness Center and more!This boutique hotel features 3000 sq ft of meeting & event space with flexibility to accommodate events for 10 to 200 people. High speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. The beautifully remodeled San Pedro Ballroom and meeting rooms offer the perfect setting for wedding receptions, social celebrations, family reunions, business and corporate seminars & meetings. Business travelers will appreciate our proximity to the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) and Long Beach Airport (LGB). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pedro Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing