We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese Sushi”
Review of Chiba Restaurant

Chiba Restaurant
Ranked #292 of 9,954 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North San Fernando Valley
Cerritos, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Sushi”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Whenever we drive up towards Burbank, we always have to stop by Chiba. Wasting that extra gallons of gas is well, well worth it for some great Japanese Sushi. Their Dynamite is a must have for those who like scallops, unlike my weird friend that was with me. Mostly every Sushi is fresh and well executed, but their Spicy Tuna Salad is a must try. Place is usually packed, and parking is non existent, haaa life is full of challenges, nothing is perfect.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacksonlii714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Ever”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was clearly the best Japanese food I have ever had. Fresh, incredibly tasty. Superior service, second to NONE. Even the Saki was the best I have ever had (cold). I would definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChilliShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, ME
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Sushi and Best Sushi Value”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Chiba is run by a second generation owner whose father sent him to Japan to learn the craft. This place once catered to the Japanese community in the Valley. Now, it's a totally Latino neighborhood but Chiba lovers still come in droves. You'll probably not see a more diverse group of sushi lovers. Chiba expanded about a decade ago and lost a little of its intimacy but it has not lost any of its fabulous quality. Once you come here you may make it your sushi bar forever.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Propasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFV
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed October 7, 2008

hands down the BEST FRESHEST AMAZING sushi...
will not be dissapointed..
everything is greattt...
Albacore is a MUST have!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank YumYum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“My favorite japanese restaurant - the quality of fish is IMO, always above average, and decently priced. And it's the...”
Reviewed July 2, 2008

My favorite japanese restaurant - the quality of fish is IMO, always above average, and decently priced. And it's the only place of I know that serves butter-yaki!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiba Restaurant also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Chiba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing