We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at the Hotel Erwin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #10 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the Hotel Erwin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel has fun eclectic decor much like Venice Beach. My room was not ocean view and looked at a parking lot but beyond that was lots of interesting structures and graffiti art. There are many homeless on the beachfront but I was not nervous about them. All in all a great location close enough to walk to some fun shopping and the 2 piers. I was there for Mother's Day with my family. highly recommend the Getty Center. Check out what is happening there on Saturday night.
I was on the 3rd floor which is only one flight of stairs from the lobby so easy to do and not use the elevator.
Did not appreciate the cost of the parking, $30 per night, as I imagine most people drive there. good internet. very comfortable beds. Loved the rooftop, just be prepared if you are over 40 that this whole area is full of young people and just go anyway.

Room Tip: wouldn't worry about the ocean view if you don't spend much time in your room, just a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyD465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We’re so happy to hear that you spent Mother’s Day with us and that you enjoyed your stay. There’s something for everyone in Venice Beach and there’s never a dull moment! We hope you’ll stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Venice.

Wishing you and your family the very best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    396
    115
    38
    36
See reviews for
245
455
86
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was my third stay at the Hotel Erwin. All of my stays were for work trips and I told myself I wouldn't stay at this hotel again after my second visit. However, my manager wanted to stay here so I had no choice. I was pleased though that my third stay was much better than my previous one.

I arrived in the late evening and was very happy that the check-in process was fast since I was tired. The staff was friendly and issued me room 507, which had a partial ocean view. The room was no different than the types I had stayed in before. The decor was funky with bright colors and the room had minimal amenities.

I noticed that there was no bottled water so I called to have some sent. I couldn't remember if the water was complimentary from my past stays but the person on the phone didn't mention a cost so I figured it was. It turns out it was not since I later saw the charge on my credit card statement. I don't mind paying for bottled water, though it is complimentary at most hotels. It just would have been nice if the person on the phone had mentioned the cost upfront.

I stayed for just one night and had a much better sleep this time around since there was no noise from the pipes to wake me up. Check-out was also fast and the valet attendants were quick in bringing my car around. The only thing that can be improved was that I never received an email copy of my bill though it had been supposedly sent.

Overall, the Hotel Erwin still isn't my first choice but I won't be as unwilling to stay there anymore for future work trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LC411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we’re so happy to hear your most recent stay was better than the last. We do apologize for the confusion about the water. Should you still need a copy of your bill, feel free to email me at aseyfried@hotelerwin.com and I’d be happy to help. We thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I always like to stay at a nice hotel for the last few nights of a vacation. So hotel Erwin looked like a good option. Its location is great, and the staff were nice. The room however was average. I paid extra for a "premium ocean view". My first room had only a view of the neighboring car park. After complaining that this was not what I paid for I was given a new room which did have a small ocean view if you went outside and looked right.

I did see they do have rooms which directly overlook the ocean, but apparently these are ocean suites. To call my room a 'premium ocean view' was a stretch of the imagination. It would better be described and an ocean view or partial ocean view.

To make things worse, I was charged for mini bar items I never used on checkout. It took a bit of arguing to fix the problem.

Room Tip: I would avoid paying for ocean views. In my experience you will not get value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shamway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for being our guest. We do apologize that the view from your room was not what you expected but we do hope that the rest of your stay was pleasant and relaxing. The next time your travels bring you to Venice Beach, please feel free to directly reach out to aseyfried@hotelerwin.com and we’ll be sure to set you up with a great room.
All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Cool hotel, in a great location, right on Venice beach. Rooms were large and beds very comfortable. Most staff were very friendly and helpful, although we booked a city tour with reception and just sheer lack of communication between staff resulted in a bit of a mess up which was very annoying as our time is LA was limited. The hotel does provide a car service which was great as we were a group if 5 and getting taxis was a hassle. Drivers were always friendly and helpful recommending bars and places to see. Rooftop bar was lovely, great views of the beach. id recommend reserving a table if you want to sit down. All thought we experienced a few hiccups I thought the hotel was great for 5 young (ish) travellers and would stay again. Oh and the blueberry pancakes for breakfast are a must! Incredible. :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blairokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to try the blueberry pancakes! They are absolutely delicious! We do apologize about the inconvenience you experienced regarding your city tour. Again, thank you so much for being our guest and we hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marfa, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have stayed here twice, 18 months apart. I loved it the first time and even more this time. Under new (since first visit) general manager Scott Gold, you can see that the Erwin is really on the move. The suites are huge (and I believe all rooms have a balcony) and this is where you really get value. The Erwin just stands out for character, location and staff. Really really special staff.

I travel regularly for work and pleasure and these are the most helpful, genuinely friendly, approachable, kind -- REAL staff I've known. We had one bump and you'd think the entire hotel (seriously) made it their number one job to ensure that there were no more. They did nice (and fun) things to let us know they were thinking of us!

Get this: The general manager took a turn at the doors for a bit when things were crowded, and I thought he was a valet/doorman. Scott was totally down to earth, didn't act all "I'm the GM," and we ended up talking for a long time, sharing our impressions, learning about his plans, etc. It made us feel quite special. Plus he was genuinely attentive. Not looking at his watch, showing worry about something he was supposed to be doing -- all false charm. Nope. Like talking with your close friend who is top notch and has a sense of humor. Very impressed.

I kept waiting for some bored going-through-the-motions person to appear, from housekeeping to front desk to rooftop bar (breathtaking) to first floor bar/restaurant (the BEST food and staff) to valet to...and was disappointed (lol) not to find one.

You need to come with the right attitude as well: This is a fun place with whimsy and character -- more like a W -- in the best beach location, at a great price for what you get (you'd pay WAY more for the rooms elsewhere and not even get the beach, lemme tell ya). The rooftop bar has spectactular views. If you want stuffy, zero decibel, old school hotel curtains and chairs? Not the Erwin. Be open to fun and you will have it.

Nuff said. Thanks Scott, Ryan, Janna, Mike, Michael, and on an on.

Room Tip: I've stayed here twice and made it a vacation (6+ nights). First time, partial oceanview suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Jacobs_Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! Unlike a lot of big box hotels, we take immense pride in providing unpretentious, genuine customer service and treating every guest that walks through our doors like VIP’s. We truly appreciate having you as a guest and our sincerest thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Venice Beach.

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
654 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

What would Venice Beach be without the historic Hotel Erwin----and for Us--
The High Bar--a rooftop F&B viewing phenomena!! 360 degrees of the famed
Venice beach area and Venice beach pier--overlooking the open Pacific ocean.
Staff was very accommodating and because We were early---had the best of the
best seating area for full panoramic viewing. Our lunch was excellent----pulled
pork sandwiches, crab rolls, cheese platter--excellent margaritas-and for very
good value. Blankets wraps available upon request---and great background
music.
Overall---outstanding experience. When in this location of L.A.---this Hotel bar
is a must!
No--We did not have time to enjoy the other amenities of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this awesome review about High Rooftop Lounge. We just revamped our menu for the summer so we’re absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed the food! Thank you for visiting the rooftop and we hope you’ll be back again to catch another beautiful sunset!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Not your typical hotel...funky, beach vibe just like the Venice location.

Room decor is beachy and quirky. We upgraded to the suite and what was considered "not an ocean view" had a lovely balcony with pretty much a view of the whole darn thing...plus the mountains of Malibu.

The staff is awesome here...gave us everything we needed and then some.

Eclectic mix of guests...take that as you will. Surfers, partiers, couples, families. Everyone was pretty respectful.

I was concerned about being too much in the fray of Venice, but the hotel is tucked back just enough so that you can join the boardwalk madness or head toward the calm of the canals or Abbot Kinney.

Room Tip: Ask for the Malibu view...no upcharge and you really see a lot of ocean. It's not right in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you so much for being our guest and taking the time to show us some love! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing vacation. We hope to see you again!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#70 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#42 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Property: Hotel Erwin
Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing