We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #12 of 357 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hi, i spent 3 days here around Thanksgivings day. Had a great time visiting Venice Beach for the 1st time after not being there over 18 years ago and also not flying since then. Got a great surprise finding out Medical Marijuana is legal there and everywhere i could smell its lovely aroma, just awesome! Everyone seems mellow, even the homeless werent drunk or rowdy and thats for a reason. I went with the 'room tip' and ended up in rm 631 in the corner away from everything noisy, absolutely peaceful and clean with a great view of the beach and city. I'm a camper so i didn't know the packed mini bar wasnt free?? omg, anyway, it was worth it for me! And rode my rented bike AT NIGHT from Venice Boardwalk to Santa Monica Boardwalk. 98% of the Staff was very friendly and accommodating! Enjoyed both the rooftop, restaurant and island bar. I even got my 'Groove On' with a Hottie Aussie staying there half my age:)! The place was full of Cubs trying to make this Cougar purr!

Room Tip: Room 631 is away from everything noisy but close to stairs or elevator and great view of city &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaliFlower53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for the awesome review! It seems like you had a really memorable trip! Our hotel is right in the center of all the Venice Beach action so we’re happy to hear you were able to explore via bicycle AND get your groove on with a hottie cub. We hope you’ll come back and pay us a visit next time you’re in the neighborhood!

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

We didn't stay here but we were told to go and experience the rooftop bar – and we're glad we did. The views are stunning, even better as the sun goes down. I'd recommend booking a table in advance to avoid disappointment.

The hotel seemed pretty good too, nice relaxed atmosphere.

Definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dtandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much for stopping by our gorgeous rooftop. The views are second to none and on a clear day you can even see all the way to Catalina Island! We look forward to having you back!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great Hotel in Venice. Great view from the sky lounge at the roof top. Very good service. A special thanx to Miguel, who made it possible to check the weight of our suitcases. Perfect place to go to Santa Monica or Malibu by bike. We'll be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much that you’ll be coming back! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback and we’ll pass the kind words onto Miguel. He's absolutely fantastic at what he does and we're very lucky to have him on the team. We’ll see you soon!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Booked via their website

Checkin: Friendly, all fine
Checkout: Friendly, all fine

Location: Venice beach. Pot smokers, veterans, poor people, nice people, young ones, healhty people. Vibrant and interesting location. Hotel is very close to the action,
--> very good location. For everything you want to do.

Rooms: Nice rooms, nothing special, all fine

Overall: Good place, fair pricing, good service, cool location. Give them a try

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay. You’re absolutely right about Venice Beach being eclectic! There’s never a dull moment and the boardwalk has some of the best people watching you’ll find in California! We hope you had a lovely journey home. We’ll see you soon!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very hip boutique hotel on Venice Beach. Views of the Pacific Ocean and the city. Can't wait to return. Walk to the Venice Beach boardwalk, grab a seat and a drink, and watch the fun. Or you can sit on the balcon of your room and just listen to the waves. It's that close. Love this place.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GvilleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We’re delighted to hear you had a great Erwin Experience! We’re conveniently located just 200 feet from the ocean so hearing the waves from your balcony is a fabulous perk our rooms offer! Thank you so much for staying with us and we can’t wait for you to come back!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This summer, my wife and I holidayed in California and Hawaii. My wife’s birthday fell during the Californian leg of our holiday, and I wanted to surprise her with a “trip within a trip” as part of her present. She’s always liked Venice Beach, just outside Los Angeles, so it was a natural place for us to stay.

I found Hotel Erwin on the internet. I knew its great location one street back from the Boardwalk from previous visits to Venice, and upon asking a few Californian friends for their thoughts, I received positive feedback of its quality. So I made a reservation, and kept it a secret from my wife until her birthday eve.

Having battled through heavy traffic on the 405 driving up from Laguna, we arrived in Venice late Saturday morning, and headed directly to the Erwin. The valet was typically American with his natural friendliness and efficiency. Check-in was seamless, although there was a little confusion about who was actually looking after us – both staff members thought the other was, when in fact neither was! That aside, everything was perfect on arrival, and we quickly felt de-stressed after our frustrating 2-hour journey.

We were shown an option of two rooms, and we chose the larger suite with the lesser view, over the smaller room with the beach view. We really appreciated being given this choice, something rarely afforded to high-season hotel guests, in my experience. The suite was beautifully decorated in ironic retro style that perfectly suited our own personal taste.

After a day enjoying the sights of Venice, including lunch at the fabulous Bank of Venice Public House (beneath the light bulbs of the famous VENICE sign), an obligatory visit to the famous basketball courts, skate bowl and “Muscle Beach” gym, a meander along the canals and back along the beautiful behemoth of a beach, stopping off for some fine local beer at the recommended On The Waterfront Cafe beside the Boardwalk, we returned to the Erwin to find a complementary “birthday platter” in our room. This included two pairs of quirky, wayfarer-style sunglasses, a bottle of sparkling wine, and some chocolate-covered strawberries. My wife was thrilled at this gesture – and I was equally pleased that the staff had spotted the discreet birthday reference I’d buried deep inside an earlier email. Husband points and hotel points in the bag!

Before arriving, a friend had suggested I reserve a table at the Erwin’s famous rooftop bar for sunset cocktails, and I’m so glad we did. We were given the best view in (or rather “on”) the house, with front row seats overlooking the Pacific, towards the brunt orange setting sun. The cocktails were lovely, the fleece blankets were a necessary luxury, and the service couldn’t have been any better. The staff also knew we were celebrating my wife’s birthday, and on arrival we were greeted with complementary glasses of bubbly. More hotel points.

The evening continued in this rich pattern of quality. We dined at the fantastic American tapas restaurant Superba on Rose Street. Lots of small dishes, all unique, diverse and gorgeous. Unfortunately, the open kitchen and bar-style dining brought to our attention a few of the owner-chef’s questionable habits – like his fondness for picking his teeth before sprinkling salt over a dish of food, and repeatedly rubbing his face before massaging ingredients between his fingers. That aside, it was a great meal.

On Sunday morning we breakfasted at the Erwin’s own diner, Barlo. I arrived ahead of my wife and mentioned to the server that it was her birthday. She offered to present my wife with a surprise cakey treat, which I thought was a lovely idea. When my wife joined me she told our server that she wanted a gluten and wheat free breakfast, so the quick thinking server – having not yet surprised my wife with her cakey treat – spontaneously changed it for a beautiful fruit platter. More hotel points.

After breakfast we checked-out with heavy hearts. My wife loved her birthday surprise, and our stay at Hotel Erwin played a huge part in the whole experience. Both husband and hotel earned a significant number of points for their combined efforts.

Room Tip: Ask to be shown options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timrhutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your amazing Erwin Experience with us! We’re so happy to hear we made your wife’s birthday so special. Every guest that walks through our lobby doors is a V.I.P. to us and we strive to make their stay the very best it can be! Thank you again for allowing us to be part of your special celebration. We can’t wait for you to come back for a visit!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The Erwin has a friendly staff, clean rooms and a great location right on the beach. My suite had a fireplace which was a nice touch. I'm deducting one star because the TV only had about 12 channels and most of them were not HD which was disappointing for an otherwise stellar, trendy hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Slifkasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the cozy fireplace in your room! Thank you so much for the feedback regarding our channel selection. Our team continually strives to provide the very best for our guests so we’ll definitely look into that. Thank you again for being our guest and we look forward to your return.

All the best,
Hotel Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#10 of 357 in Los Angeles
810 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,027 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#13 of 357 in Los Angeles
1,238 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 357 in Los Angeles
2,137 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#109 of 357 in Los Angeles
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $310 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erwin 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing