We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice inside, area not so much”
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #11 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for business about a month ago and the people were very accommodating. They were a preferred hotel by my company and when I checked in they had upgraded my room. The room itself was quite nice, it was a 1 bedroom with a large living room and dining nook. The only thing I didn't like was that the area itself was not that nice. It was late summer/early fall so there wasn't much going on at the boardwalk area except for smelly homeless people. The wireless at the hotel worked great though and I certainly would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind review. We’re happy we met your business needs but hopefully you’ll come back, next time for pleasure! The boardwalk and the entire city of Venice for that matter come alive during the summer! We can’t wait for your return.

Until then,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Erwin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the hotel but we were mainly there to celebrate and host a friend's birthday party at High Lounge and it couldn't have been more perfect..The weather was gorgeous, the views are amazing, the food was delicious, the cocktails were to die for and the DJ set the right mood. It took very little effort on my part to plan this party because I had it catered through the hotel. The catering staff were very professional and everything went very smoothly and exceeded my expectations. Regarding the hotel stay, the staff were extremely nice (they knew we were there to celebrate a birthday and sent us up a complimentary bottle of wine). The rooms are clean and the location is perfect.. right off the strand. I live in Los Angeles and don't know why I've never been here. Definitely one of my new favorite spots.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynLA_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing those awesome photos! We’re happy to hear you and your guests had a fabulous time on the rooftop and that the DJ kept the good vibes flowing. We like to make event planning as seamless as possible for our guests and our catering team is full of superstars. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Erwin and we’ll see you next time!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We took my parents to Los Angeles and were so confused about where to stay. Last trip my husband and I stayed in Downtown LA. But this time we got a great deal at Hotel Erwin in Venice Beach. It was a beautiful hotel. Right next to the beach. They gave us a FREE upgrade on both of our rooms. The rooms are trendy and modern with comfortable beds. We walked around during the day and at night we headed up to the rooftop bar. We were two minutes away from Santa Monica. And we were very close to Universal Studios, Walk of Fame and Beverly Hills and Tar Pits. It was wonderful to visit busy LA in the day time and retreat to Venice at night. My husband and I ran in the mornings and passed Muscle Beach and found the beautiful Venice Canals. All in all it was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was super friendly and the valet guys were awesome! We all had a wonderful time! Thank you Hotel Erwin!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeronicaTowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We’re so happy to hear you and your entire family enjoyed your experience with us! Venice Beach is a destination for all ages and you never run out of things to do! The Venice Canals are a hidden gem and make for great running paths. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope you’ll come back for a visit.

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a few days off work and wanted to spend a few days in Venice. I have been coming to venice for twenty years, but always just day trips. We wanted to experience the whole area. A friend of ours suggested Hotel Erwin.

We started our stay at "High" the rooftop patio at the hotel. The view was gorgeous and the service was great.

The hotel staff was very helpful with advising where to go for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We ate each morning at "Barlo" the hotel restaurant. It was so good we had dinner there one night as well. The burger was great and had some nice craft beers as well. Not at all too pricey! My girlfriend and I split the poutine and enjoyed it so much we ordered another one. She had a cucumber gin drink which she loved and mentioned they were not shy with the gin. We also went to Larry's bar beside the hotel. Good food there too and an awesome bartender!! We went to go have a couple drinks and had to have a few more because are bartender was so fun.

We were very happy with the service provided. Starting with the front desk, then the cleanliness of the room, the service at High, the suggestions made by staff and the valet guys! This was a great little vacation!!

If we stay in Venice again it will be at Hotel Erwin



  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MackS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

What a kind review! Thank you for sharing your Erwin Experience with us! Hotel Erwin is truly a one-stop shop when on a Venice Beach adventure. Breakfast at Barlo is one of the best in the area and the poutine during dinner simply can’t be beat. We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, but visited the roof terrace at sunset to enjoy a cold beer and the brilliant view from the comfortable seats - not to mention some interesting people watching amongst the trendy clientele. Not cheap, but we didn't object at all to 'paying for the (brilliant) view'

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank damaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for stopping by High Rooftop Lounge! There’s really nothing better than relaxing on the rooftop during a warm afternoon. While our prices are comparable to LA prices, what really sets us apart is the gorgeous view. We hope you had a safe journey back home and that you’ll stop by the next time your travels take you to Venice.

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My room was clean. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. The only reason why I didn't give it 4-star is due to the location of the hotel. While being next to the boardwalk is convenient, don't even attempt to walk at night. Lots of homeless around. Many of them were staggering around intoxicated at night, yelling at each other or themselves. I tried to keep as quiet as possible as I walked bye so I wouldn't catch their attention.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We truly appreciate your valuable feedback and we’re happy you enjoyed your time with us. While there can be a number of interesting characters around Venice Beach, we take our guests safety seriously and ensure that you are in good hands during your stay at the hotel. We hope you’ll come back and pay us a visit!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Loved this place. Great place in Venice, the location was perfect. Staff were really friendly and the rooftop terrace was to die for, especially at sunset. Food and drinks were a little pricier than the rest of venice, but the view and the staff made up for it.

Rooms were great, and one of my favourite things about it was the balcony and access to fresh air. So many hotels have their windows frozen shut!

Some reviews mentioned issues with the noise from the roof, if you were the floor underneath? We didn't have this problem at all, though I'm sure if we did that the staff wouldn't have hesitated to change us. They were super-nice.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juicyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin during your visit to Venice Beach! We take pride in the fact that our staff truly go above and beyond and we’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!

Until next time,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 352 in Los Angeles
783 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,891 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,585 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $308 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erwin 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing