We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Erwin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cadillac Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marina del Rey Marriott(Marina del Rey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jamaica Bay Inn(Marina del Rey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel(Marina del Rey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kinney(Marina del Rey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sea Shore Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,423)
Filter reviews
1,423 results
Traveler rating
771
446
126
41
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
446
126
41
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvenice beachocean viewsanta monicamuscle beachstay in veniceabbot kinneyperfect locationboutique hotelvalet parkingvalet servicebabbobalconyskatehipcaliforniaminibar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
737 - 742 of 1,423 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We purchased one night at the Hotel Erwin at a charity auction. A night in Venice, CA would be a hoot for two Orange County types.

Understand the town of Venice is the ultimate funky beach community. Spotty, good properties next to run down properties. Definately marches to it's own drummer. This is what makes it so interesting. A local t-shirt reads "Venice...where Art meets Crime".

The Hotel Irwin sits in the middle of this funkyness. The hotel itself (I believe a converted Best Western) has been upgraded and stylized. Joie de Vivre seems to do this type of upgrade and it seems to work. We had a balcony room with a side ocean view. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel right in the middle of the action.

There was a rooftop bar that was pretty cool, but we ran out of time before getting a chance to try it out.

If you plan to brave Venice, I would recommend a stay at this unique hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaFunTravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

We hope you and your guests enjoyed the change of scenery from Orange County to Venice Beach a fun and eclectic experience. Venice Beach truly does march to its own beat but that’s what makes it so special. People of all walks of life are welcomed to its pretty beaches and lively scene. Hotel Erwin is the perfect home base for a day of Venice Beach exploration and we’re happy to hear you found your time worthwhile. We hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon and don’t forget to stop by the rooftop next time!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been going to this hotel since they opened (in fact I've been going to this same location for over 30 years) The staff, rooms, food and location is 2nd to none on Venice Beach. They have a rooftop bar that overlooks the ocean and if you go, make reservations to see the sunset while you have a cocktail. I have been there twice this year and planning another visit for Novemeber. Give it a try, you'll be hooked

Room Tip: Ocean view is always great as the view is beautiful
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joetcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

We are truly honored that you’ve chosen Hotel Erwin time and time again after so many years. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your return in November!

Wishing you all the best until then,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arrived early from LAX and front-desk person (Miguel?) made sure I could get into a room ASAP after flying cross-country. He also made sure my room was on the quieter side of the building, which was a good move (overlooking 17th.) So two thumbs up! Daily housekeeping was always courteous and thorough, promptly tidying the generous sized room and modern bath. On this stay, the WiFi was a bit spotty in the room. The Erwin is between the main drag (Pacific) and the beach, so LOTS of activity all the time, plus there's a popular bar on the rooftop. For street parking, I used Mildred Ave and it was free & convenient. For morning caffeine, I'd walk up to Westminster for a cup at Groundwork Coffee then continue up to Santa Monica Pier. Overall, a comfortable, clean oasis in the cultural mixing pot of Venice Beach!

Room Tip: Middle floors on 17th are probably the quietest!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Erwin during your visit to California. We’re happy to hear our superstar team member, Miguel, was able to take such good care of you after a long flight. We’re excited to announce that we have upgraded our internet provider and our guests will have access to a stronger wifi connection at the end of this month. It was an absolute pleasure having you and we hope you’ll come back and visit us again!

Wishing you all the best until then,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night in late August 2013, I was referred to this hotel through a hotwire booking.

I would like to say that this hotel was fantastic, easily one of the best value-for-money spots on the Venice Beach strip if you're looking for a 4-star hotel.

The hotel rooms are very modern and extremely clean, I was surprised by how clean the rooms were to the point that they look brand new. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.

The hotel features a rooftop patio bar which is apparently one of the best places to go on the strip. Some locals were waiting outside for their reservations and were telling us how great the place is, unfortunately we did not make it up there! The view must have been great though as it overlooks the beach from 7 stories up.

I have no complaints about this hotel, it met and exceeded my expectations and the price was right.

I strongly recommend staying here if you are in the Venice Beach area and are looking for something a little more exciting than a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for such a kind review. Our rooftop bar truly is a Venice Beach gem that is not only a local favorite but also a must visit for any Venice Beach visitor. You’ll have to come back and experience the rooftop next time you’re in Venice! We truly appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon.

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A fab little hotel- From being greeted at the front door with a grand welcome before you hit reservations ,you know the staff have good training and your stay here is going to be great !
The place is very clean and all staff greet you and always tell you there names and reassure they can be called on should you need any assistance. The room we stayed in is great size and has fab views of the sea and has good size balcony with tables and chairs to enjoy a Wine or two

In short there's are no negative points about this property!

Room Tip: Book room on top floor (EG)room no 621
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

We’re delighted to hear you had such a great time during your stay at Hotel Erwin! We pride ourselves on making sure every guest feels like a VIP from the moment they step through our doors to when we’re wishing them farewell. We’re happy to hear you took advantage of the awesome balcony found in each of our rooms and caught a sunset while enjoying a glass of wine. That’s a perfect activity for a perfect Venice Beach day! We hope you’ll come back and visit us again next time you’re in town.

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews