We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Oasis surrounded by Venice Beach action!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #18 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ashfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oasis surrounded by Venice Beach action!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arrived early from LAX and front-desk person (Miguel?) made sure I could get into a room ASAP after flying cross-country. He also made sure my room was on the quieter side of the building, which was a good move (overlooking 17th.) So two thumbs up! Daily housekeeping was always courteous and thorough, promptly tidying the generous sized room and modern bath. On this stay, the WiFi was a bit spotty in the room. The Erwin is between the main drag (Pacific) and the beach, so LOTS of activity all the time, plus there's a popular bar on the rooftop. For street parking, I used Mildred Ave and it was free & convenient. For morning caffeine, I'd walk up to Westminster for a cup at Groundwork Coffee then continue up to Santa Monica Pier. Overall, a comfortable, clean oasis in the cultural mixing pot of Venice Beach!

Room Tip: Middle floors on 17th are probably the quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Erwin during your visit to California. We’re happy to hear our superstar team member, Miguel, was able to take such good care of you after a long flight. We’re excited to announce that we have upgraded our internet provider and our guests will have access to a stronger wifi connection at the end of this month. It was an absolute pleasure having you and we hope you’ll come back and visit us again!

Wishing you all the best until then,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    363
    105
    35
    35
See reviews for
207
405
77
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night in late August 2013, I was referred to this hotel through a hotwire booking.

I would like to say that this hotel was fantastic, easily one of the best value-for-money spots on the Venice Beach strip if you're looking for a 4-star hotel.

The hotel rooms are very modern and extremely clean, I was surprised by how clean the rooms were to the point that they look brand new. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.

The hotel features a rooftop patio bar which is apparently one of the best places to go on the strip. Some locals were waiting outside for their reservations and were telling us how great the place is, unfortunately we did not make it up there! The view must have been great though as it overlooks the beach from 7 stories up.

I have no complaints about this hotel, it met and exceeded my expectations and the price was right.

I strongly recommend staying here if you are in the Venice Beach area and are looking for something a little more exciting than a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. Our rooftop bar truly is a Venice Beach gem that is not only a local favorite but also a must visit for any Venice Beach visitor. You’ll have to come back and experience the rooftop next time you’re in Venice! We truly appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon.

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A fab little hotel- From being greeted at the front door with a grand welcome before you hit reservations ,you know the staff have good training and your stay here is going to be great !
The place is very clean and all staff greet you and always tell you there names and reassure they can be called on should you need any assistance. The room we stayed in is great size and has fab views of the sea and has good size balcony with tables and chairs to enjoy a Wine or two

In short there's are no negative points about this property!

Room Tip: Book room on top floor (EG)room no 621
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We’re delighted to hear you had such a great time during your stay at Hotel Erwin! We pride ourselves on making sure every guest feels like a VIP from the moment they step through our doors to when we’re wishing them farewell. We’re happy to hear you took advantage of the awesome balcony found in each of our rooms and caught a sunset while enjoying a glass of wine. That’s a perfect activity for a perfect Venice Beach day! We hope you’ll come back and visit us again next time you’re in town.

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

With great service of course, in every aspect.
We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend and there were TONS of people every where in Venice. The hotel itself was busy too, especially the High Rooftop Lounge, buzzing with locals and visitors. The hotel lobby is ALWAYS full of people, luckily we don't have to wait for the one-and-only lift to go to our room, we took the 'hotel-guests-only' stair access to go to our room.

There was a couple hiccups in our first room:
1) Our room #301 was right next to the stair-well, and the first night we tried to go to bed, the wall next to our bed was rattling loudly. We were shocked at first when soon figured out it's from people running up and down the stair-well. We tried to ignore it and go to sleep as we're tired from 6-hr driving from Sac to LA, however it was just too loud to ignore.

2) On the first night, when we came back from dinner, we noticed a very 'weird odor/smell' in the room. We could not pin-point where it came from though. The strongest smell came from the little fridge, and so we suspect it might have come from it.

3) When we're ready for bedtime, we turned over the comforter and there's a big brown stain on the white comforter.

With all these 3 issues, and it's 1am at night, we went down to lobby to see what can be done. The guy at the reception was very quick to address the issues and promptly search for another room for us without further question. He was rather apologetic and very courteous at the same time. Kudos to the guy and great customer service. :) We moved to the new room by ourselves, and the good news is the room-change was done swiftly. We crashed once we moved to the new room as we were super tired.

The High Rooftop Lounge is a great place to chill and enjoy the sunset, just like everyone has mentioned. Do let the lady maitre d' know that you're a hotel guest, so that they can prioritize your table booking, good for busy hours at the lounge.

I hope Hotel Erwin will keep up the good work, and take note on the little hiccups. Cheers! x

Room Tip: Stay away from the stair-well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for spending Labor Day Weekend with us! Venice Beach is always a great little getaway every time a three day weekend rolls around! Thank you for pointing out the shortfalls and I’ll surely pass your comments along to the appropriate departments for correction. We are happy to hear that our front desk team was able to swiftly correct the problem and put you in a room where you got the rest and relaxation you deserve after such a long drive! We hope you’ll come back and stay with us and thank you again for your business.

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a simple and clean hotel, basically the only HOTEL in Venice. There are a couple hostels and a couple super cheapy, dump motels, but this is the ONLY hotel in Venice.
The roof top bar is called HIGH, mostly because it has this fabulous view of the entire coastline and is on the roof top. I think it is the eighth floor :)
Great little restaurant downstairs for breakfast.
The room was clean and very comfortable and quiet. The furnishings are very modern. I really loved the bath products. The hotel staff is very nice.

Room Tip: Top floor, corner rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
On behalf of the entire team, I’d like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and for staying with us! We couldn’t agree more with all the kind things you said! High Rooftop Lounge has one of the best views in Los Angeles and we’re so lucky to have such a great hang out spot on our rooftop! We hope you’ll come back and stay with us next time you find yourself in Venice Beach.

All the Best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We thoroughly our few days at Hotel Erwin. For us, being out at Venice Beach rather than downtown LA was much nicer - the location of Hotel Erwin means you can walk to bars and restaurants and run on the beach in the morning.

The front desk was quite pushy about us buying an upgrade when we arrived... which we refused... to be then given a free upgrade anyway. The 'apartment' style room was really great, so that worked out well for us. But by pushing the upgrade to begin with we were left feeling like they were trying to con us a bit...

The hotel itself was great - clean, well fitted out room, v snazzy rooftop bar, and scrumptious breakfast options. (The room had a mini kitchen too so you could choose to self cater.) The staff were really helpful with the random queries we had.

Room Tip: Our apartment could have slept 4 people with room to spare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GorillaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks so much for choosing to spend your holiday at Hotel Erwin! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your suite and all the other great amenities we offer. Venice Beach has so many different things to do and see and definitely no shortage of bars within walking distance! We hope your journey home was comfortable and that we’ll see you again in the future!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Erwin and first want to say that their staff is really exceptional. In particular, Andre, one of the Valets truly went out of his way to make us feel taken care of and always with a smile. We had a nice view from our room facing southwest, our room was always cleaned to perfection each day and the bed was surprisingly comfortable and the thread count was nice. There's a small fridge in the room and a coffee maker and the room had recently been "refreshed". Even though we were just one floor down from one of the most popular lounges in Venice ("High") we never really heard the rooftop activities and when you closed the balcony door, you really didn't hear a peep. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing southwest get the early morning sun, while rooms facing northwest get to see the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We’re delighted to hear you had a great time with us! We’re very lucky to have team members such as Andre who really go out of their way to make guests feel special. Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Erwin and we can’t wait for you to come back!

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#11 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#50 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#59 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,414 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Property: Hotel Erwin
Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing