We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Service and Attention in this Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #14 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service and Attention in this Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great boutique hotel to stay in - they offered amazing, attentive service and had an amazing rooftop lounge with great views of Venice Beach and the city. Definitely recommend going at sunset .

Staff were very accommodating, gave us a free suite upgrade, and made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review and we’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We do our best to make sure every guest’s experience with us is fun and memorable. We hope you had a safe journey home and please come back and visit us again.

Until next time,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    387
    111
    37
    36
See reviews for
232
439
84
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Two Brits just back from a whirlwind break to New York, Vegas and LA. Hotel Erwin is a great place to stay, the very best location for Venice Beach. We stayed in a standard room which was big, really well designed/thought out and exceptionally clean. The food was the best we had on the trip and we had eaten in some great places; the breakfast was fantastic. We also popped in to the associated Larry's restaurant for lunch which was great too.
The roof top lounge really is as good as people say, watching the sunset on our last night was perfect. We didn't book and it did get busy up there later on, but we were lucky and got great seating and table service. The drinks aren't cheap, but we've been travelling to the USA for years now and its the same picture everywhere. It's a short ride from LAX, but right on the beach and not far from Santa Monica and all the shops. We didn't have any trouble with noise or only having one lift. All the staff were always smiling, relaxed and helpful; special thanks for extra pancakes on my birthday and to Aldo for sorting us out with a later check out time.

Room Tip: if you can, go for the ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonloveday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks a million for the awesome review! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and a belated happy birthday! Hotel Erwin’s location is truly special as it’s so close to the beach, boardwalk and so many restaurants and shops. You don’t need to go very far however for a good meal as Barlo is located conveniently in the lobby. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Erwin and we hope to see you again soon!
Cheers,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have recently celebrated a birthday at the hotel's rooftop. Coordinating the event was an absolute pleasure with the proffesional advice and committed service of the hotel's rep Michal Swardlow. The party was an absolute success with the best played music by a DJ that made us all move, the drinks kept on comming, appatizers were delicious and the overall ambiance with a front and elevated view to the sunset was beyond words. We were 10 couples and had our own lounge area, designated to our party. Not a single person left the party without telling me what a great time they had. I will return to Hotel Erwin's party zone very, very soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meital N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for spending your birthday with us and we are so happy to hear what a great success it was! Our Catering Manager, Michal, is truly one of the best in the business. High Rooftop Lounge really does have a certain ambiance that is second to none. From the DJ’s down to the food and drinks, you really can’t go wrong! We can’t wait for you to come back but until then we’ll keep the tunes bumping and the drinks flowing!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week during my last business trip. Office is in Santa Monica, so this location was nice and close. The hotel is beautiful, modern and the top (6th) floor was newly renovated. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Great views of the beach with a large patio off of the room.

There's a great rooftop bar here as well, great service and they even give you warm blankets at night.. lovely. However lovely this bar is, it's also a pain point for me. Staying on the floor directly below the rooftop was not lovely.. you hear everyone walking above you as the walkway is directly above your ceiling. Every night I heard something roll across the walkway above, like a garbage can.

I also wish the hotel was more green.. and I didn't think I'd really ever be one to say this. These days, I did find it odd that the towels were swapped out every day.

When I come back, I'd stay here as long as I can be on one of the other floors.

Room Tip: stay away from 6th floor rooms unless you want to hear every single movement of the rooftop bar abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanderz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Amanderz,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stay. We’ve passed your comments onto our housekeeping team and it was definitely noted! We will absolutely focus on keeping the walkway above the sixth floor as quiet as possible as to not disturb our guests below. Regarding the towels, we do give our guests the option to reuse their towels or have them refreshed by our housekeeping team but you are absolutely correct! Being green and eco-friendly is incredibly important nowadays so we will be implementing more green friendly policies in the months to come! Next time you are on the west side, please feel free to reach out to me directly at aseyfried@hotelerwin.com and I’d be happy to help you plan your stay. Again, thanks so much for the review and the kind comments and we’ll see you soon!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

a group of 7 of us girls stayed here this past weekend for a bachelorette party, and we were very pleased with the hotel! The front desk staff was amazing. They made check in a breeze, and even when we were running late for check out, they told us it was not a problem and let us have extra time. They were also quick to help with our bike rental recommendations. The roof top restaurant was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Sara,
We are so happy to hear you chose to have your last fling before the ring with us here at Hotel Erwin! We hope it was a memorable weekend for all! It seems like you guys got to experience the best of the best of Venice via your bike excursion and visit to High Rooftop. The chic lounge vibe coupled with the amazing view and even better drinks makes it a perfect girl’s weekend get-a-way spot! We hope to see you again soon and best of luck with the upcoming wedding!
All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I love this hotel! I visited for the first time with a colleague. The customer service is really superb which is hard to find these days - Miguel and Monique are great!

In addition, great cafe, amazing rooftop bar, close to everything in Venice.

Cute surfer vibe to the place, too! Will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin_TexasJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the awesome review and I will pass the message on to Monique and Miguel about how great they are! We’re really lucky to have them on the team. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Wishing you all the best from Venice to Texas,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

First I have to say that the venue, the "High Rooftop Lounge" has The Most Amazing view you have ever seen, even on a cloudy day!!!! We had a company Cocktail Party for about 50 people to celebrate our Company's 25th Anniversary and the beginning of summer and I couldn't have picked a better venue. I had less than a week to plan the party and Michal Swerdlow, the catering manager, was so easy to work with and in no time at all, we put the party together with good food, drinks, time frame and a good time was had by all. The staff was super friendly and very efficient. It was a bit overcast that afternoon but the view was beautiful, 360 degrees of it.

If you are coming into town and want to see what our California coast really looks like, this is a great spot, with the beach less than a block away, shopping and the best people watching you have ever seen!!! Food, drink, hospitality and all you could ask is right here at Hotel Erwin!!!

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We couldn’t agree more with every bit of your review! The view at High really is second to none and Michal is the queen of making it happen! She truly cares about every one of her clients and goes out of her way to make sure the event is running as smoothly as possible. She is a true professional! We are so happy you got to enjoy the food, drinks and most importantly the company of your coworkers. We like to think that company parties are always a little more fun at High Rooftop given the killer view, the great service and the diverse menu selections. Congratulations on CBC’s 25th anniversary and thank you for taking the time to write that kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#12 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#63 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#50 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Property: Hotel Erwin
Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing